Victorian Poetry: An Annotated Anthology

Přední strana obálky
Francis O'Gorman
Wiley, 18. 6. 2004 - Počet stran: 736
Victorian Poetry: An Annotated Anthology is a fully annotated and illustrated collection of Victorian poetry.

  • Features a generous selection of work by all the major figures of the age, including Matthew Arnold, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Robert Browning, Alfred Tennyson, and Oscar Wilde
  • Presents several long poems in their entirety, such as Arnold’s ‘Empedocles on Etna’, Clough’s Amours de Voyage, Meredith’s Modern Love and Tennyson’s In Memoriam AHH
  • Each poet is introduced by a biographical headnote
  • Each poem is introduced by a headnote giving publication details, biographical facts, contextual material, and other information
  • The poems themselves are all fully annotated
  • Extensive introductory material enables readers to read across the volume chronologically, thematically, or by individual author
  • Features twelve black and white illustrations of images referred to in or relevant to the poetry

Další vydání - Zobrazit všechny

O autorovi (2004)

Francis O’Gorman is Senior Lecturer in Victorian Literature at the University of Leeds, a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society, and a Companion of the Guild of St George. He has written widely on the Victorian period, including the books John Ruskin (1999) and Late Ruskin: New Contexts (2001) and is the editor of The Victorian Novel (Blackwell Publishing, 2002).

Bibliografické údaje