Obrázky stránek

News of the Dioceses. (Continued from page 254.)

of the city. The sum of $25,000 was secured in a short time and Mr. L. S. Baumgardner donated a lot of 60 feet frontage, valued at $4,000; the starter of the rectory fund gave liberally; others followed; Mr. W. S. Daley (since deceased) offering to add one-tenth to what should be otherwise raised. The architects are Messrs. Cram, Goodhue & Ferguson, of Boston, Mass., and the plans include a parish house and rectory as well as church. The building is Perpendicular Gothic, of dark-gray limestone, trimmed with lighter buff stone. The interior is in the natural stone, and terra-cotta brick; the woodwork of dark oak. The church from west to east, exclusive of chancel, is 113 feet, and the total width of nave and aisles 52 feet. The entire floor is built of concrete, with all aisles laid in mosaic. To the left and north is the entrance vestibule, treated as a low wing, and on the right and south is the baptistery and entrance from porte-cochère, over which is carried the tower, 98 feet high. The transept, to be added later, will be 70 feet from north to south, and the chancel about 35 feet deep. The nave is 60 feet high; total seating capacity 1,125; estimated cost when completed, $100,000. The land value of the property is estimated at $15,000.

At the service of benediction the vested procession numbered seventy-five people, consisting of choir, vestry, the Bishops of Ohio and Kansas City, and other clergy. The music, under conduct of Mr. C. H. Thompson, choirmaster, and Miss Willing, organist, was inspiring. Bishop Leonard's sermon was on the superior glory of the "latter house," from Hag. ii. 9. Bishop Atwill made a brief reminiscent address and preached in the afternoon, as he did also at Trinity in the evening. The offerings were liberal. The day marked a great advance in the history and work of the

Church in that section.

New Buildings and Improvements. The New York archdeaconry mission called St. Simeon's, Melrose, has, with the approval of the bishop coadjutor, archdeaconry trustees and Standing Committee, been recently incorporated and organized as a parish under the

name of St. Simeon's church. The Rev. Ralph Jarvis Walker, who has been the missionary-in-charge for some years, was elected rector, and Messrs. Robert A. Tighe and Herbert Martin, churchwardens. This new parish still occupies rented quarters, but it has a choice building site presented by Mr. A. Newbold Morris and Mr. Wm. Waldorf Astor, at Sheridan avenue and Onehundred and sixty-fourth and Onehundred-and-sixty-fifth streets, and it has also an assured building fund which will go far toward the construction of the new church edifice already planned.

A piece of property has been purchased adjoining that upon which St. Philip's (colored) church, Brooklyn, L. I., stands, and it is now felt that the plot, about 80 by 120, is large enough for the plant it is intended to erect.

The rector of the Church of the Holy Innocents, Albany, N. Y., the Rev. A. S. Ashley, recently urged upon his congregation the necessity of a parish house for carrying on the growing work of the church. He based his belief upon the possibility of erecting such a building upon the fact that during the past two years the parish had shown progress in every sort of activity. communicants had increased, as had the contributions for diocesan and general missions, and a mortgage of $1,500 on the rectory had been paid.

The new parish house of St. Mark's church, Buffalo (Western New York), the Rev. N. W. Stanton, rector, was recently opened by Bishop Walker. Mr. Alfred H. White, the chairman of the

Chapel in the Crypt of St. James's Church, Hammondsport, N. Y.

building committee, stated that the building cost but $1,700, on which there remains a debt of $600. It is a frame structure, 56 by 24 feet, and gives accommodations for Sundayschool purposes and assemblies in the large room on the first floor and a kitchen, pantry and good-sized diningroom on the upper floor. A chapel has recently been constructed in the crypt of St. James's church, Hammondsport. The front of the altar, the reredos and the screen work on both sides are portions of the walnut Communion rail of Holy Trinity, Brooklyn, which the Rev. Dr. S. D. McConnell presented to the Rev. F. W. Burge, of Hammondsport, when the chancel was remodelled. This woodwork is only loaned to St. James's, the chapel being so arranged as to be complete without it.

The plan for the enlargement of the Chapel of St. Peter's, Clifton, N. J. (diocese of Newark), has been made to provide a Sunday-school and guild room for the growing mission. The opening of the church-restored after the fire at Pompton was fixed for Feb. 11. The bishop asked the Sunday-school children of the diocese for one cent per week in Advent for the church approaching completion at Millington, and so far $350 have been received. St. James's, Newark, is completed and The new rectory of whom the parish gives abundant signs occupied by the Rev. Mr. Bate, under of new life.

The parish rooms of St. Paul's church, Boston, Mass., are now accessible from Tremont street. The large store which has leased the rear of the church property has built an arcade by means of which the rooms may be reached at all times. The mission at Mansfield, the Rev. James L. Tryon in charge, has been enabled to pay the whole cost of a lot valued at $1,000 and to reserve a small balance toward a building fund. At Attleboro, the Rev. Mr. Tryon has been influential in erecting a substantial chapel. The debt on this building, which amounted to some $2,000, was by a single effort reduced one-half, townsmen of almost all the Churches coming to the aid of the mission. At Lawrence, a building has

recently been opened which will be used as a church and parish house for the present work in the southern section of this manufacturing city. An altar and cross have been given by Mrs. A. H. Avery to be placed in the future church. The services in this mission house, which is dedicated to St. Augustine, will be in charge of the clergy of Grace church, Lawrence.

of St.

Jan. 27.

The parish house The number of John's church, Ashton, R. I., was dedicated The old building has been completely renovated and so extended as to make it a practically new structure. The cost was $4,300. It is of one story, with high basement, which contains a club room for men. The main floor comprises a hall and ample stage; two large workrooms and a kitchen extend the length of the building and open

from the hall; on opposite sides of the entrance corridor are a library and a club room. The rector, the Rev. William Pressey, to whose efforts the building is largely due, presided at the dedicatory service, when addresses were made by the Rev. Lester Bradner, Jr., Ph.D., and Colonel William Goddard.


The foundations have been completed for the summer chapel at Fortune's Rocks, Me., and the work on the superstructure has been begun. It is expected that the chapel will be ready for use this coming summer.

The new chapel and parish house of Trinity church, Pittsburg, Penn., was formally set apart and opened to the public on St. Paul's Day, which has been marked by many important events in the parish's history. Preceded by the vested choir, Bishops Whitehead and Scarborough and the parish clergy entered the chapel; where, after the benediction of the new baptismal font and altar, shortened Evening Prayer was said by the rector's assistant, the Rev. L. W. Shey, the lessons being read by the rector, the Rev. Dr. A. W. Arundel, who assumed charge of the parish in 1891. After addresses by Bishop Whitehead and the Bishop of New Jersey, the choir, the clergy and congregation passed from room to room in the parish house, where suitable hymns were sung and prayers said. At the public reception in the evening brief addresses were made by the bishops present, the Rev. E. H. Ward, the Rev. Dr. S. E. Young, of the Second Presbyterian urch, the Rev. R. W. Patton, Judge Buffington, president of Kingsley House, and Mr. W. A. Cornelius, president of the Local Assembly of the Brotherhood and the senior warden, Mr. S. C. McCandless. In closing the meeting, the rector thanked those whose co-operation had made the buildings possible, and said the real meaning of the parish house was a desire to share in meeting in Pittsburg the deeper sense of social responsibility brought about by the larger conception of Christian discipleship. The new chapel, which seats 200, has an altar, reredos, communion rail the gift of Mr. H. Lee Mason, stands at and lecturn of oak; and a marble font, the entrance. The parish house in its three stories and basement contains a gymnasium, Sunday-school rooms, rector's study and accommodations for the many parish organizations. The entire cost of the buildings was about $70,000.

A fund has been started for a rectory for the House of Prayer, Branchtown, Philadelphia, which was begun by Bishop Morris in 1858, when he was an assistant-minister at St. Luke's church, Germantown. By reason of the trolley facilities, building operations in the neighborhood are being planned.

The fund for the new church at South Evanston, Ill. (diocese of Chicago), is progressing steadily. Offerings on Christmas Day amounted to $631, and a member of the committee in charge has received nearly $1,000 more in cash and pledges. An effort is being made to raise $10,000 by Easter Day, and building certificates, payable in ten semi-an

nual instalments, are being issued to the parishioners. Ground was broken for the new Church of the Advent on Humboldt Boulevard, Chicago, early in December. The church will be of brick, and will probably be finished by June 1.

The Bishop of Indianapolis recently announced that Mr. George McCulloch, a vestryman of Grace church, Muncie, Ind., had offered to build a new church and such other buildings as were necessary for parish purposes in memory of his mother and wife, who had recently died. Muncie is a city of 30,000 people and has a steady growth. The Church has never been properly represented in the community, having only a small frame building, though the parish has for years been one of the most faithful in the diocese. The bishop explained that the proposed buildings would

[blocks in formation]

The Church of the Holy Communion, once one of the strongest churches in St. Louis, Mo., is now in the midst of a tenement population. Under the present rector, the Rev. Charles F. Blaisdell, and his curate, the Rev. L. R. Vercoe, the spiritual and social activities of the parish were never more vigorous, and the necessity of a parish house has become evident. A lot has been purchased adjoining the church, and $14,000 is already in hand or pledged. The entire plant will probably cost $20,000.

The general missionary of the district of Salina, who has been in charge of the parish at Goodland, reports that $1,200 has been raised for a rectory. Goodland is a fast growing town, being a division point of the Rock Island Railroad. The Rev. P. A. Brunner entered upon his duties as resident priest early in February. At Wakeeney a new church has been built under the direction of the Rev. J. H. Lee, of the diocese of Kansas, who comes each month to serve there. The chancel has been furnished and everything is entirely paid for. The congregation as yet has no pews. At Concordia a valuable lot as a site for the church and rectory has been purchased.

Bids have been advertised for building an eight-roomed stone rectory for St. Mark's parish, Anaconda, Mont. St. Luke's mission, Billings, under the Rev. J. J. Bowker, is making splendid progress. Two years ago a $4,000 rectory was built, and at present a brick church to cost approximately $10,000 is well under way.

Late in September fire badly damaged the frame church at Enid, Okla. With the insurance money and some $50 additional the property has been restored, and in the repairs much improved. At Chickasha, I. T., under the Rev. C. W. Cook, an excellent rectory has recently been bought, enlarged, improved and paid for. At Muskogee, the largest town in Indian Territory, a new church, valued with its lot at $13,000, has been opened for service. The building takes the place of the little chapel built in 1894, and was much needed in the great growth of this important parish. The church is of white stone and shingles, with large chancel, vestry and choir rooms, and will seat 300 people. The Rev. A. B. Perry is the rector. At Tulsa, I. T., a rapidly growing town in the oil and gas fields, there is a new church, seating 200, built of stone and brick veneer, with open roof and large chancel. This economically constructed church reflects credit on the ministerin-charge, the Rev. R. D. Baldwin, and his assisting committee. This is a new mission practically opened up within the year.

Gifts to St. Paul's, Muskegon, Mich. St. Paul's, Muskegon, has received as a thank-offering from a parishioner a marble and mosaic altar with altar steps and sanctuary floor in marble, designed by Mr. Frederick Lamb, and executed by Messrs. J. & R. Lamb. Cararra and the finest grades of Vermont marbles were used in the altar and altar steps, while the altar front has three panels of mosaic work with rich backgrounds of Venetian gold. Services of consecration were held on Sunday, Jan. 28, Bishop Gillespie preaching in the morning and the Rev. Dr. McCorthe mick, bishop coadjutor-elect, in The first offerings laid on evening. the new altar by the congregation were for missions, and amounted to nearly

[ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][merged small]

Bishop Woodcock's First Year
in Kentucky.

On the Fourth Sunday after Epiphany Bishop Woodcock completed his first year of service in the diocese of Kentucky. On that day he preached his anniversary sermon at Christ church cathedral, Louisville, to a large congregation. He spoke very touchingly of the

generous welcome which from the first had been given him by the people of the

state, and of the liberal response they had made to his appeals for service and for funds to carry on the work of the In a few words of response Church. Dean Craik said if the bishop had found a willing people it was because in him they had found a willing leader, a man who had never. asked his people to do a thing unless he had taken the first step to lead them.

The Work of Grace Church,
New York City.

Grace church, New York, shows that the The just-published Year Book of parish contributions for the year amounted to no less than $160,080.13, parochial objects, and $74,660.75 to "exof which $84,019.24 were devoted to ternal objects," most of them not so very external, for the larger part of this sum was applied to various missionary enterprises within the diocese; $34,216.83, the largest item, went to the School for Deaconesses; $6,100 to Bishop Greer's Church Extension Fund; $3,124.65 to hospitals. For domestic missions the parish gave $6,711, and for foreign missions $1,343.47. There was contributed to the Armstrong Memorial in Hawaii $7,012.98, and to Dr. Woodward's hospital in Gankin $2,500. The special reports of the twelve depart

ments into which the work of the parish is divided show a remarkably varied and efficient activity, especially among the Italians. The directly religious statistics of the parish may seem a little surprising. In Grace church there were 43 baptisms during the year; in Grace chapel there were 114; but then there were 122 marriages in Grace church and only 54 in Grace chapel. In Grace church there were 28 confirmations; in In the chantry SunGrace chapel, 77. day-school there were 12 teachers and 60 pupils; in Grace chapel, 63 teachers and 846 pupils; in Grace church there were 46 burials; in Grace chapel, 84.

"The Outlook for Religion in America," Discussed by the Rhode Island Churchmen's Club.


At the meeting of the Churchmen's Club, at the Eloise, Providence, on Feb. 6, the president, Professor Wilfred H. Munro, presiding, the Rev. Dr. Elwood Worcester, of Emmanuel church, Boston, Mass., described the difficulties the Church at the present day confronts in the short portion of the year people now spend in the city; in the changing conditions of the city's population, which often cause a wealthy neighborhood to become a poor one; and the secularization of Sunday in the summer colonies. Whatever weaknesses the Church has are fully realized. by the clergy, and they are removed, not by criticism, but by united work. The Church of the future will be one of workers. Religion is in no danger among a progressive people. Humanity requires it. The Rev. Samuel McComb, as the next speaker, outlined as the discouraging features the alienation of the working and of the intellectual classes. He saw encouragement, however, in the simplification of doctrine, the increased attention to historical theology, and the increased irenic force which is drawing religious bodies into federation. Bishop McVickar closed with a forcible presentation of the outlook for religion as unquestionably ight, with very few grounds for discouragement.

Consecration of St. Paul's Church,
Watertown, N. Y.

The Bishop of Central New York consecrated St. Paul's church, Watertown, on the Feast of the Conversion of St. Paul. The instrument of donation was presented by the senior warden, Mr. James L. Newton, and the sentence of consecration was read by the rector of the parish, the Rev. E. W. Saphore. The Bishop of Central Pennsylvania preached from St. Luke ix. 32, and a number of clergymen took part in the services. St. Paul's, which is the second oldest parish in the city, was orIts ganized as Grace church in 1868. first rector was the Rev. John A. Staunton. Under the Rev. John T. Nichols, who served the parish from 1888 until 1891, the old church was sold and a site acquired on which the present building was erected. When the present rector assumed charge of the parish in 1901, he found it burdened with a debt of $10,000. This has been removed, and in addition the church has been redecorated and carpeted.

The Church of the Ascension, Philadelphia, Penn., Consecrated. Bishop Whitaker consecrated the Church of the Ascension on Thursday read the request for consecration. The morning, Feb. 8. Mr. Francis S. Keese Rev. G. Woolsey Hodge, who has been rector since November, 1880, preached the sermon, in which he reviewed the history of the parish, and pointed out the growth which had been made under his ministry.

Fiftieth Anniversary of St. Matthias's Church, Philadelphia, Penn. The Church of St. Matthias celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of its organization on Sunday, Feb. 4. The rector, the Rev. C. Rowland Hill, preached in the morning outlining the

history of the parish, which was organ-
ized by a number of prominent Church
people on Feb. 4, 1856, on Bush Hill.
The congregation went to Spring Gar-
den Institute in 1858; the chapel was
opened in 1859. The late Rev. Richard
N. Thomas held the first service in the

church on March 21, 1873. During the
last three years, under Mr. Hill's rec-
torship, $8,000 has been raised for im-
provements in addition to all expenses.
The. official
will be
Easter Day. Bishop Talbot preached in
the evening.


The New Principal of the National
Cathedral School.

The Bishop of Washington and the trustees of the National Cathedral School for Girls have appointed as principal of the school Mrs. Barbour Walker, in succession to Miss Bangs and Miss Whiton, who will terminate their connection with the school in June of this

Mrs. Walker is year. a native of Georgia, and her people have long been prominent in public life in that state and in South Carolina. She is the widow of an officer in the United States Army, and a sister-in-law of General Schuyler Crosby. She was a teacher in the Salt Lake diocesan school for girls, and for two years at the head of the great Church school for girls at Topeka, Kan. Mrs. Walker has been a student for eight years in the Teachers College, Columbia University. She holds the degrees of A.B. and M.A., and is now a candidate for a doctorate in Philosophy in Columbia. From Miss Grace Dodge, of New York, from the dean of the Teachers College, from President Butler, from the Bishop of Kansas, from the Church authorities at Salt Lake, and from others, she brings the highest testimonials as to her qualities as a Christian, a woman, and an educator. She will be assisted by her daughter, who has taken high honors at Barnard College.

[ocr errors]

The Woman's Auxiliary.

On Tuesday, Jan. 30, the Auxiliary of the archdeaconry of Scranton (Central Pennsylvania), held its winter session in St. Luke's church, Scranton, with the largest attendance of any meeting of the Auxiliary held in that part of the diocese. The reports from the various parishes and missions showed that the women's missionary work is in a prosperous condition and that an unusually large number of branches are actively engaged in this work. At the afternoon meeting, Bishop Talbot spoke of the important work of the Auxiliary in the diocese; Mrs. C. W. Kaji, for twenty-five years a resident of Japan, was dressed in Japanese costume and spoke of "Life in Japan.' The Rev. Arthur Sherman, of Hankow, China, told of the great awakening in China, and the opportunity for aggressive missionary work.

[ocr errors]

The February meeting of the Chicago branch was observed as "Bishop's Day,' the address of the morning being by Bishop Anderson, who spoke particularly of the return of the Sisters of St. Mary to the mission house next to the cathedral, and said that more funds were needed to carry on the work of charity and instruction which they are doing. The offering of the morning, an unusually generous one, was given to this work. Especial stress was laid upon the new plans for increased work in the northern deanery of the diocese. The bishop stated that a systematic canvass of

[ocr errors]

church, and the Church of the Atone-

Notes of the Girls' Friendly Society and

the Daughters of the King.

On Wednesday evening, Jan. 31, a chapter of the Girls' Friendly Society was established at the Chapel of the Atonement, in the Bronx, New York City, the work of preparation to that end having been done by Miss Sheffield and Deaconess De Leon. Archdeacon Nelson read the service, assisted by Mr. J. H. Falconer, Jr., lay-reader, presented badges, on behalf of the Society, to the twenty-five new members, and delivered an appropriate address.

The branch of the G. F. S. of Calvary
church, Germantown, Penn., kept its
twenty-fifth anniversary on Sunday
evening, Jan. 21, the rector, the Rev. Dr.
J. De Wolf' Perry, preaching the sermon.
of the city branches present.
There were representatives from many

At the annual Members' Conference of the G. F. S. in Colorado, recently held at Wolfe Hall, Denver, a ial feature was the prize essay contest. The subject assigned was "Money: Its Fourfold Aspects-Earning, Spending, Saving, and Giving," and the prize was awarded to Miss Gertrude Lee, of St. Mark's branch, Denver. There are 14 branches of the G. F. S. in Colorado, 5 being dormant for lack of branch secretaries. The last reports from active branches showed 94 Associates, and 322 members, but over 500 may properly be reckoned, including those in the branches at present without heads. The Grace church branch at Colorado Springs, during the week before Christmas, served a supper at a low price every evening at the parish house, which is situated near the business centre of the city. This was an experiment in social service, the design being to afford a pleasant resting-place, with hot meal, to the clerks in shops, obliged to work until late. The library and reading room of the parish were thrown open, and many availed themselves of the opportunity. Though there was a slight deficit, it was an advantage to have the church presented as a social agent, trying to fill a definite need, and aiming at no financial profit.


The annual meeting of the supporters of the Bell Winter and Summer Homes for Children, managed by the Washington branches of the Daughters of the King, was held at Ascension pro-cathedral, Jan. 30, when reports were made by the various officers showing progress in every direction, and income adequate for support, though not for needed enlargements of the buildings. Speeches in earnest commendation of the object and management of this admirable charity for the care of friendless, delicate, and poor children, were made by the Rev. J. H. W. Blake, and Messrs. A. A. Birney and W. H. Singleton, treasurer of the diocese of Washington.

The tenth annual Local Assembly of the Daughters of the King in Florida was held in St. Luke's cathedral, Orlando, on Jan. 26. The Bishop of Southern Florida celebrated the Holy Eucharist, assisted by the Rev. Dwight Cameron. Bishop Gray, in his annual "charge," spoke especially of the great example given by St. Paul, who so closely followed in the steps of the Saviour. and urged that as true Daughters they should imitate the great apostle's zeal, earnestness and devotion. Reports for

meeting from officers and chapters, as
well as an address which had been sent
by Miss Ryerson.

At the mid-winter meeting of the Ch.cago Local Assembly of the Daughters of the King, held recently at St. John's church, Irving Park, Ill., the afternoon address by Mr. J. H. Smale, of the Brotherhood of St. Andrew, was followed by an account of the Holy Land, given by Mrs. Kilbourne, one of the diocesan ex-presidents of the society.


The Presiding Bishop has received and accepted from the Bishop of Ohio his resignation of the charge of the American Churches on the continent of Europe, and has assigned said charge to the Rt. Rev. Henry C. Potter, D.D., LL.D., Bishop of New York.

The Bishop of Washington and the trustees of the Cathedral Foundation have invited the following experts to assist them in drawing up a programme for the selection of suitable designs for the Washington cathedral: Mr. Daniel McKim, of New York; Sir Caspar PurH. Burnham, of Chicago; Mr. Charles F. don Clarke, of the Metropolitan Museum; Professor Charles H. Moore, of Harvard University, and Mr. Bernard R. Green, of Washington, who superintended the building of the Library of All have accepted, expressCongress. ing great interest in the project, and all attended a preliminary meeting at the Bishop's House in Washington on Feb. 12, except Mr. Burnham, who is in Europe just now, but has the questions at issue under consideration for report and conference on his return.

The Rt. Rev. Albion W. Knight, D.D., Bishop of Cuba, having been assigned by the Presiding Bishop to take part in the consecration of the Rev. Dr. McCormick, Bishop Coadjutor-elect of Western Michigan, plans to remain in the United States until March 17. He is prepared to accept invitations to speak on Sundays or week days on behalf of the important and growing work of his missionary district. He may be addressed at the Church Missions House, 281 Fourth avenue, New York.

The Bishop of Minnesota, exercising the authority vested in him by the canons of the diocese, has changed the date of the diocesan council, so that it The will be held May 31 and June 1. place-Gethsemane church, Minneapolis -remains unchanged.

The Bishop of New York was elected President of the Pilgrims of the United States at the annual meeting of the executive committee held at the Lawyers' Club, New York, Feb. 9.

At a meeting of the General Church Club of the Borough of the Bronx, New York, held on Wednesday evening, Feb. 7, Bishop Greer outlined his plans for a new club house. This club house will be erected on Fulton avenue and Onehundred-and-seventy-first street, and ground will be broken in a week's time. The building will cost $250,000, of which sum $200,000 has been raised.

With the walls carried up part way and covered with a temporary roof so that the structure may be completed without interfering with the services, the workmen are setting the interior stone lining of the Washington Memorial church at Valley Forge, in anticipation of its opening, on the afternoon of Feb. 22, when the Bishop of Virginia will preach the sermon.

towns in that section where the the past year were read at the business by the Rev. Joseph N. Blanchard, D.D.. Church is not now represented is being made by the Rev. F. E. Brandt, with a view to opening up new missions as soon as possible, and it is hoped that a general missionary may soon be placed in charge. Bishop Horner, of Asheville, also made a brief address. The Lent Study Classes to be held on Friday mornings at the Church Club rooms, were announced. Papers on "The Church in the Middle Ages" are to be supplied by writers from the Epiphany, St. Mark's, Trinity, St. Peter's, Grace

anniversary of Bishop Williams's death, Wednesday, Feb. 7, being the seventh the hymn "Rock of Ages" was sung in the chapel of the Berkeley Divinity School at Evening Prayer, as it was sung at his funeral. The sermon was

of the class of 1874, now in charge of St. Peter's church, Morristown, N. J.. who preaching from the text, "Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect." made an eloquent allusion to the simplicity and strength of Bishop Williams's life.

The highest praise was given by the Chicago papers to the labor play, "The Three Gifts," written by Miss Florence Converse, of the staff of THE CHURCHMAN, and presented at Hull House, Chi

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small]

The Rev. W. E. Bentley, rector of the Church of the Ascension, Greenpoint, Brooklyn, L. I., has been devoting considerable attention to providing the crowded north end of Brooklyn with privileges which have not hitherto been as accessible. Believing in the helpful influence of the classical drama, he has trained certain of his parishioners to present with great credit a number of plays. Beginning Jan. 29, for three or four evenings and a school children's matinee, "Julius Cæsar" was given to crowded audiences at the parish hall.


The Bishop of New Hampshire, with his wife and daughter, will shortly leave for Richmond, Va., where the bishop will seek rest and freedom from care for a time.

The Rev. William H. Falkner was in


stituted as rector of St. Paul's church, Louisville, Ky., on Friday, Feb. 2. addition to the clergy of the city there were present the Rev. James Craik Morris, of Memphis, Tenn., the Rev. Mr. Bamforth, of Jeffersonville, and the Rev. Mr. McCracken,, of New Albany, Ind. Bishop Woodcock delivered an inspiring sermon on the relation of the priest to his people, and of people to

their rector.

The Rev. A. E. Whatham, who has for the past year been doing effective work at St. Peter's church, Louisville, Ky., on Wednesday, Feb. 7, was instituted as rector of that parish.

The Rev. Henry Martyn Saville, who has been in charge of St. Mark's, Dorchester, Mass., for many years, and to whose zeal and activity the development of the field is largely due, was instituted rector of the newly organized parish on the Fifth Sunday after Epiphany, by Archdeacon Babcock.

The Rev. Professor Henry Ferguson, LL.D., Professor of History and Political Science at Trinity College, has been elected rector of St. Paul's School, Concord, N. H.

The Rev. Edgar Campbell, ministerin-charge of Holy Trinity church, Lansdale, Penn., has declined a call to the Church of the Ascension, Gloucester City, N. J.

The Rev. William T. Allan has received a call to St. Luke's parish at Jacksonville, Ala., of which he was rector for four years. He has not yet decided whether or not he will accept.

The Rev. Dr. A. D. Launt, rector of St. David's church, Manayunk, Penn., has been given a leave of absence for six months, with the privilege of extending it to a year, with his full salary while He will not leave until after Sunday, April 29, when he will have completed fifteen years as rector of the - parish.


The Rev. James Grammer, D.D., of Winchester, Va., is temporarily in charge of Grace (R. E. Lee Memorial) church, at Lexington, Va., made vacant by resignation of the Rev. R. J. McBryde, to accept the call to St. George's church, Fredericksburg, Va.

A reception was given Canon McLarney at the Brooklyn Diocesan House on Feb. 8, on the eve of his return to Clonfert cathedral in Ireland. Archdeacon Bryan and the canon made informal addresses and a number of the clergy were in attendance.

The Rev. Medville, McLaughlin, rector of St. Luke's church, Chester, Vt., has been called to the rectorship of the Church of Our Saviour, Middleboro, Mass.

The tenth anniversary of the rectorship of the Rev. William Gardam at St. Luke's church, Ypsilanti, Mich., was marked on Jan. 30 by a largely attended reception in the Church House. Speeches of congratulation were made by the Rev. Dr. Rufus Clark, the Rev. Henry Tatlock, the Rev. Father Frank Kennedy and others, and many letters were read, among them one from Dean Williams, since consecrated Bishop of Michigan.


Clarke, the Rev. G. B., Little River, Fla. Judaschke, the Rev. John H., 509 Scott street, Little Rock, Ark. Massiah, the Rev. J. B., 3,562 Vernon avenue, Chicago, Ill.

Clerical Changes.

The Rev. Wesley W. Barnes, of Nebraska, has been appointed junior curate at St. Peter's, Chicago, Ill., for six months, while he is completing his studies at the Western Theological Seminary. The staff at St. Peter's now consists of three clergy a dea



The Rev. Hugh Birckhead has accepted the rectorship of St. George's church, New York City, to succeed the Rev. Dr. William S. Rainsford.

The Rev. P. A. Brunner, formerly of Star Prairie, Wis. (diocese of Milwaukee), has accepted the appointment of the Bishop of Salina as priest-in-charge of St. Paul's, Goodland, Kan.

The Rev. Robert G. Evans, of Port Henry, N. Y. (diocese of Albany), will, on March 1, become assistant to the rector of Trinity parish, Bayonne, N. J. (diocese of Newark).

The Rev. D. G. Gunn, D.D., has resigned as missionary of St. Agnes's mission, Morrilton, and has been transferred to the diocese of Arkansas.

The Rev. Wilbur S. Leete, for ten years rector of St. Andrew's, Emporia, Kan., has accepted an appointment as priest-in-charge of St. Paul's, Durant,


The Rev. J. Hollister Lynch, D.D., has resigned the charge of Trinity church, Ottumwa, Ia., to become rector of the Church of the Redeemer, St. Louis, Mo. Dr. Lynch has served as a member of the Standing Committee of Iowa, for many years, and as a delegate to the General Convention.

The Rev. S. P. McGlohon, after four years of devoted service as rector of Christ church, Tuscaloosa, Ala., on Feb. 15 became rector of the Church of the Holy Comforter, Gadsden, Ala., with charge of missions at Alabama City and Attala, and also of the missionary work developing along the line of the railroad, especially at Guntersville and Boaz.

The Rev. Enoch M. Thompson has resigned the position of assistant-minister in St. Paul's parish, Washington, D. C., which he has held for over seven years. He continues in charge of the cathedral mission of the Nativity on Capitol Hill, and will also serve temporarily as curate at the pro-cathedral. The notice of Mr. Thompson's resignation given in these columns last week did not state correctly his future work.

The Rev. John I. Yellott, Jr., has been appointed Archdeacon of Cumberland, in the diocese of Maryland, to succeed the Rev. Edward M. Jefferys, the appointment to take effect March 1. The newly-appointed archdeacon is the rector of St. Mark's parish, Frederick and Washington counties.



On the Fifth Sunday after Epiphany, at St. Michael's cathedral, Boisé, Mr. D. H. Jones was ordained deacon. Presenter, the Ven. S. J. Jennings, Archdeacon of Nampa. Preacher, the Very Rev. E. S. Hinks, dean of the cathedral. Mr. Jones has been in charge of the work at Christ church mission, Boisé, for the past two years, and will continue to officiate at that place.


On Sunday, Feb. 4, in Grace cathedral, Davenport, the bishop of the diocese advanced to the priesthood the. Rev. C. S. Morrison, B.A., and the Rev. W. P. Williams, B.A. They were presented by the Rev. E. H. Rudd, S.T.D., and the Rev. W. D. Williams, D.D., respectively. The Rev. Dr. Rudd was the preacher.


In the oratory of Seabury Divinity School, Faribault, Thursday, Feb. 8, the Bishop of Minnesota, Dr. Edsall, ordained to the diaconate Mr. Simeon Mills Hayes. The candidate was presented by the warden of the school, the Rev. George H. Davis, D.D., and the Rev. Professor William P. Ten Broeck preached the sermon. Mr. Hayes will his continue studies at Seabury till June, and is also in charge of the neighboring parish at Northfield.



In the death of the Rev. Theodore I. Holcombe, one of the older clergy of the diocese of Newark has been removed. He died Feb. 4, having just passed his seventy-fourth birthday. He was graduated from Nashotah in 1858, and most of his ministry was spent in the West. His last parish was in Milburn, N. J., some ten years ago. He was deeply interested in provision for the aged clergy. The funeral service, in the chapel at West Point on Feb. 8, was attended by Bishop Lines, Archdeacon Thomas, the Rev. Mr. Van Ingen and the Rev. Mr. Travers, Chaplain of the Post. Mr. Holcombe died at West Point and his body rests in the cemetery there. Among his writings will be remembered the life of our great missionary, Dr. Breck.

REV. REYNOLD MARVIN KIRBY, S.T.D. The Rev. Dr. R. M. Kirby, who died suddenly at his home in Potsdam, N. Y., on Feb. 5, was born sixty-two years ago at Brownville, N. Y. He was a grandson of General Jacob Brown, and a son of Edmund Kirby, U.S.A. He was educated at Hobart College and the General Theological Seminary, and

was ordained to the diaconate in 1869 by Bishop Coxe, who, in the year fol


lowing, advanced him to the priesthood. His first charge was at Christ church, Albion, N. Y., which he left in 1871 to become assistant in St. Mark's church, Salt Lake City. A few years later he was elected Bishop of Utah, but declined the election. Twenty-four years ago he became rector of Trinity church, Potsdam, where he has filled one of the longest and most fruitful pastorates in the diocese of Albany. Since 1897 he has been Archdeacon of Ogdensburg. He was well a priest, godly and learned; he was a pastor faithful and devoted; he was a man of rarely balanced qualities of mind and heart. With a clearness and directness and decisiveness of judgment, he combined a very tender personal sympathy, which drew him to a warm appreciation of the difficulties and struggles of the mismade sions in his archdeaconry, and him the helper and adviser of the clergy, and the wise adjuster of the problems which constantly occur in the conditions of scattered stations in the great field of the northern counties of the diocese.

The funeral services were conducted in his parish church on Feb. 8, by the Bishop Coadjutor of Albany, the Rev. E. L. Sanford, of Ogdensburg, the Rev. W. C. Prout, secretary of the diocese, and fourteen other clergymen being present. The business in the village was practically suspended; the faculties of the Normal School and the School of Technology were present as well as many friends from distant points. The burial was in Geneva.

The Churchman

Copyright, 1905, by THE CHURCHMAN CO. Entered at New York P. O. as second-class matter. SUBSCRIPTIONS-A year (52 numbers), in advance, $3.50; after 30 days, $4.00. To the clergy, $3.00 in advance. Single copies, 10 cents.

For the convenience of subscribers subscriptions are continued at expiration unless otherwise ordered.

POSTAGE is prepaid by the publishers for all subscriptions in the United States, Hawaiian Islands, Philippine Islands, Guam, Porto Rico, Tutuila, Samoa, Shanghai, Canal Zone, Cuba, Canada, and Mexico. For all other countries in the Postal Union add $1.56 for postage. The domestic postage on this copy if remailed is 2 cents. CHANGE OF ADDRESS-Notice should be given one week before the change is made, and both the old and the new address should be given.

REMITTANCES should be made by draft on New York, money order, or express order. Cash should be sent only in registered letters.

The Churchman Company,

47 Lafayette Place, New York.


Marriage notices, one dollar. Simple death notices free; additional matter, thirty cents a line. Obituary notices, complimentary resolutions, appeals, acknowledgments, and other similar matter, Thirty Cents a Line, nonpareil, or Four Cents a Word, prepaid. No advertisement inserted for less than $1 net.

Advertisements under Appeals, Situations, etc., should be accompanied by satisfactory ref



ELLIS-DOUGLAS.-In Calvary church, Pittsburg, Penn., on Wednesday, Feb. 7, 1906, by the Rev. James H. McIlvaine, D.D., Nellie Woods, second daughter of Samuel B. and Ellen M. Douglas, to Frank A. Ellis, of Denver, Col.

HARRIS-MARKHAM.-On Jan. 30, 1906, in St. James's church, New York, by the Rev. C. B. Smith, D.D., rector emeritus, Helen Taylor, daughter of Frank Chauncey Markham, Esq., to the Rev. Gibson W. Harris.

HINCKS-BISHOP.-On Wednesday, Feb. 7, 1906, at Trinity church, Bridgeport, Conn., by the Rev. Louis N. Booth, rector of the church, Helen Ferris, daughter of Dr. Sydney Bishop, to Robert Stanley Hincks.

MEEKS-SHERMAN.-On Thursday, Feb. 8, 1906, at the residence of the bride, by the Rev. Henry M. Sherman, Mary Benson, daughter of the officiating clergyman, to Joseph Van Derstice Meeks.

ROBBINS-COWL.-At St. George's church, Hanover Square, London, Eng., Tuesday, Feb. 6, 1906, by the Rev. David Anderson, M.A., Mary, daughter of William H. Cowl, of New York, to Lloyd McCullough Robbins, of San Francisco, Cal.



home, 562 Cass avenue, Detroit, Mich., John D. -On Sunday, Jan. 28, 1906, at his Conely, aged 76 years. Interment at Jackson, Mich.

"For they do rest from their labors."

EWING. At her late residence, 1345 Pine street, Philadelphia, Penn., Jan. 31, 1906, Cornelia Lansdale, widow of Maskell C. Ewing, aged 86.

GREGORY.-Entered into life. On Feb. 7, 1906, at Southern Pines, N. C., Mary Belle Wilson, beloved wife of the Rev. Henry T. Gregory.

JONES.-At Stevensville, Penn., on Jan. 30, 1906, Mrs. Arabella Bosworth Jones, widow of Edward Wadsworth Jones, aged 95 years. "Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord."

KIRBY.-Suddenly, on Tuesday, Feb. 6, 1906, the Rev. R. M. Kirby, D.D., rector of Trin

ity church, Potsdam, N. Y.

MCCORMICK.-On Sunday, Feb. 4, 1906, at 5 P.M.. Nora, youngest daughter of the Rev. John N. McCormick, D.D., rector of St. Mark's church, Grand Rapids, and Bishop Coadjutorelect of the diocese of Western Michigan. Burial Feb. 6.

from St. Mark's church, Tuesday,

MOORHOUSE.-Entered life eternal. At Wayne, Penn., Jan. 28, 1906, Annie Craig, daughter of the late William L. Lafferty, M.D., and widow of John L. Moorhouse. Interment at Brownsville, Penn.

"Death is swallowed up in victory."

MORGAN.-In New York City, Feb. 3, 1906, Lucy Phelps Allen, wife of the late Charles Leslie Morgan, and daughter of the late Hon. John Allen and Mary A. Phelps, of Connecticut, in the 58th year of her age. Burial at Saybrook, Conn.

STONEY.-In San Francisco, Feb. 1, 1906, Kate M. Stoney, widow of the late Thomas P. Stoney, a native of New York City, aged 67 years.

WHITAKER.-At Augusta, Ga., on Saturday, Feb. 3, 1906, Cicely M., daughter of C. Henry and the late Emma Antrobus Whitaker. Burial on Tuesday, Feb. 6, at Woodlands Cemetery.

"I will arise, O Christ, when Thou callest me; but here let me rest awhile, for I am weary."

WYATT.-In San Francisco, Cal., Friday night, Feb. 9, 1906, Mary Angelica, widow of the Rev. Christopher B. Wyatt, D.D. Burial at the Church of St. James-the-Less, Philadelphia, Penn.

"Grant her eternal rest, O Lord,

And let light perpetual shine upon her."


Death has turned another leaf, and shut between the pages of "the book of life" the name of Jane E. Walbridge.

Mrs. Walbridge, wife of the Rev. Dr. Henry B. Walbridge, died at her residence, No. 215 Carroll street, Brooklyn, L. I.. on Saturday, Feb. 10, 1906, and was buried in Hillside Cemetery, Plainfield, N. J. The funeral services were held in St. Martin's church, Brooklyn, Father She left two sons, Edward Davis officiating. Bronson, of Hamilton, O., and Robert Hunt Walbridge, who resided with his mother, and Mary Bronson, wife of Theodore E. Leeds, of New York. She was a gem of womanhood among a thousand, a rare original from God's own laboratory.

In a quiet, unobtrusive way she impressed her restful personality on those who came to her in trouble, and from her example they gathered strength to bear their burdens. Her sympathy did not exhaust itself in selected lip phrases. The poor, the weary, and the heavy laden, were helped and encouraged by deeds done for them, and in their behalf, by the untiring gentlewoman now at peace, The struggle of life seemed half won with her as the standard bearer. She forgot self in efforts to rouse the disheartened to renewed endeavors, the sinful to a better life, the fortunate to well doing, and the Christian to acts of charity and love. She believed in humanity and the latent good in the soul of man, and her words of cheer were as sweetly spoken, and the helping hand as freely extended to those who stumbled often, as to those who heeded her gracious admonitions at their first falterings. "Seventy times seven," she would whisper to herself; seventy times seven!

She loved to praise, but had no voice to blame. An unkind word she never uttered, and it troubled her to hear one spoken in her presence. A kindness she never forgot; ingratitude she silently ignored, but hypocrisy awakened her profound contempt. Such sorrow as came

into her life she accepted with quiet resignation, and kept straight on in the path of duty. If she suffered none knew it, save her God. On Him she leaned with an unfaltering trust. To Him, and Him alone, she told her secrets.

Mrs. Walbridge, until within a short time of her death, was active in the work of her church, and in many practical charities, and was particularly influential among the children of the poor. She was a prominent member of the Church Charity Foundation of Brooklyn, the Sheltering Arms Nursery, and of other charitable organizations of that city. She will be missed. by her associates and fellow-workers, for she was wise in council, energetic in action, practical in purpose, patient in difficulties, prudent, sympathetic and sincere.

[blocks in formation]

SPECIALS FOR ST. LUKE'S MEMORIAL HOSPITAL BUILDING FUND, PONCE, PORTO RICO, TO FEB. 1, 1906. Amount previously acknowledged, $14,846.56; Springfield, W. Mass., St. Peter's, Wo. Aux, $3.70; Nashville, Tenn., Advent, Wo. Aux., $5; Monticello, Fla., Christ Church, Wo. Aux., $1; Jacksonville, Fla., St. John's, Wo. Aux., $14; Boston, Mass., Advent S. S., $6.88; San Antonio, W. Tex., St. Mark's S. S., $17.88; St. Louis, Mo., St. Peter's S. S., $8; Middletown, Conn., Holy Trinity S. S., $30.22; Pittsfield, W. Mass., St. Stephen's S. S., $10; Philadelphia, Penn., Emmanuel S. S., $8.16; Bowling Green, Ky., Christ Church S. S., $3.80; St. Louis, Mo., All Saints' S. S., $1.85; Alexandria, Alexandria county, Va., "J. W. H.," $1; Boston, Mass., Advent, $6; Huntington, L. I., St. John's, the Rev. D. B. Ray, $2; Newton (Waban), Mass., Good Shepherd, for bed in memory of Charlie Crain, $5: Indianapolis, Ind., Christ Church, Wo. Aux., $8; Kane, Pittsburgh, St. John's S. S., $2.10; New Lisbon, Albany, S. S., $1.60; Morris, Albany, Zion S. S., $1.40; Chicago, Ill., Christ Church S. S., for hospital for children, $5.66; Lowell, Mass., St. John's S. S., $8; Chicago, Ill., Local Assembly, Daughters of the King, $8; Danver, Mass., Calvary S. S., $3.30; amount forwarded, $15,009.11.

[graphic][merged small]

Amount previously acknowledged, $1,342.95; Dundee, Chicago, St. James's, Wo. Aux., $3.78; New York N. Y., S. O. Howe, $3; Rockville, Montgomery county, Wash., Christ church, the Rev. T. J. Packard, $1; Fort Pierce, S. Fla., the Rev. John Browne, $1; Philadelphia, Penn., Roland S. Morris, $1; Far Rockaway, L. I., St. John's, $61; Concord, N. H., St. Paul's, Wo. Aux., $1.50: Westchester, N. Y., St. Peter's, Wo. Aux., $1; Philadelphia, Penn., Anna P. Stevenson, $10; Yonkers, N. Y., St. Andrew's Memorial, Wo. Aux., $15; Bay City, Tex., St. Mark's S. S., $2.20; Trenton, N. J., "A Friend," $10; John's Island, S. C., St. John's, Wo. Aux, $4.85; Newburyport, Mass., St. Paul's, Miss Lizzie Pearson, 75 cts.: New Brunswick, N. J., Christ Church S. S., $4.41; Philadelphia, Penn., "A Member," Wo. Aux., $50; Astoria, Ore., Grace, the Rev. William S. Short and vestry, $6; Hudson, Albany, N. Y., Christ church, Wo. Aux., $4; Albany, N. Y., St. Peter's, Wo. Aux, $1; Miscellaneous, Porto Rican Church Aid Society, $14.50; Orange, Newark, St. Mark's, $32.75; Miscellaneous, "G. H. T.." $500; Newark, N. J., St. Barnabas's, $16.25; Dallas, Tex, St. Matthew's, Wo. Aux., $8; Mobile, Ala., St. John's, $2.50; total, $15.568.61.

GEORGE C. THOMAS, Treasurer. E. and O. E., Church Missions House, New York, Feb. 9, 1906.

« PředchozíPokračovat »