Obrázky stránek


John Lowry..
Reuben S. Lowry..

4 28

Out of twelve candidates for justice of the peace Benjaman Spillman received twenty-one votes, being a plurality, and out of ten candidates for constable Andrew McGruder received nineteen votes, which was a plurality.


The voters were as follows: Noah Whitlatch, Conrad Walters, G. W. Clark, Taylor Overton, Robert Willis, John Camplain, Jasper Koons, John G. McGregor, Benj. Sherwood, David Sweem, Silas R. Brown, David Dorham, Stanford Doud, Jeremiah Gullian, John Greenman, John R. Welch, Eli Wickersham, E. B. Ryor, John Stewart, Nelson Hill, George Henry, Martin Neel, Wm. Carlysle, John B. Hamilton, Michael Levington, John Conrey, Jobo B. White, Nelson D. Mount, George E. Jewett, Joseph Drouil. lard. Thirty voters in all.

The votes were cast as follows:

[merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors]
[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

John Conrey was elected justice of the peace and David T. Sweem was chosen constable.


The following were the voters: Thomas Stevenson, George Gillaspy, Alexander Turner, Henry Lott, S. V. Hughes, Josiah Fain, J. S. West, Samuel Morgan, David Ray, David Tice, M. S. Morris, A. Prouty, Joel Worth, J. H. Mikesell, Ely Hall, T. A. Morgan, Allen Tice, Simon Drouillard, Charles Harp, J. Q. Buffington, Thomas Pollock, William Miler, Samuel Richardson, James Stevenson, D. Kygers, George Tilson, George Stevenson, Edward Drouillard, A. Starts, James Miler, Andrew Stevenson, Robert Russell, A. S. Cayton, Robert Stevenson, James Chesnut, Freeman Willson, Thomas Black, Mordecai Yearns, C. B. Cannon, William Cannon, Lewis M, Pearce, J. J. Willett, George Billups, E. C. Stevenson, R. R. Billups, Samuel M. Cooley, Reuben Mathews, James Price; forty-eight votes in all.

These votes were distributed among the candidates as follows:


S. W. Buffington...
R. M. Billups.
B. Bowman
David Durham.
Conrad Walters.
Wm. Welch ...
Thomas Black.

30 27 18

6 10 13 21


George Gillaspy...
J. M. Walters
T. C. Pane

17 30 1


John Bras....
Samuel Morgan
Stanford Dogd.



Claiborn Hall.
A. Buffington..

18 25

[blocks in formation]

Simon Drouillard was elected justice of the peace, notwithstanding the fact that he had ten competitors; and out of a list of thirteen candidates James Watts received eight votes, which was a plurality.


The names of the voters are as follows: John George, James Willis, John George, Jr., George W. Copron, John J. Mudjet, A sa Koons, James M. Deweese, Alfred Vertrees, Alexander Elder, John W. Alley, Ose Ma. thews, Isaac B. Power, James Deaton, James Colwell, Wm. C. Pane, Levi Bainbridge, Wilson Stanley, Daniel Allman, Jacob C. Brown, Joshua Lind. say, William Cayton, Warren Mathews, Ose Mathews, Jr., Granville Hendricks, Simpson Mathews, William J. Buffington, Hormer Mathews, S. W. Buffington, Samuel Bariner, David Galland, Joseph Rohly, Garret Harsin, John Layton, Thomas Mitchell, John Harsin, R. G. Hamil. ton, Williain Buffington, Jacob Ilar, S. P. Parsons, William Welch, Walker Finley, William George, Benjamin Bowman; forty-three votes in all, distributed among the candidates as follows:

[merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][subsumed]
[blocks in formation]

Wm. C. Pane was elected justice of the peace in this precinct, receiving twenty-one rotes; Elias Williams was elected constable.

In summing up, the following were the successful candidates elected to fill the several county offices:

Commissioners-Conrad Walters, William Welch, David Durham.
Commissioners' Clerk-Stanford Doud.
Probate Judge-Francis A. Barker.
SherifJames M. Walters.
Treasurer-David T. Durham.
Recorder-Renben Lowry.
Surveyor- Tunc B. Power.
Assessor - Criven T. Clark.
Coroner- Wellington Nossaman.

To sum up the whole result the vote cast was as follows:
Knoxville precinct
English precinct
Cedar precinct
Red Rock precinct
Lake Prairie precinct

28 38 30 48 43

Total ....


The officers named above, chosen at the election on the first Monday in September, held their places till the next regular election, which occurred in August, 1846. One exception should be made, Stanford Doud, who was elected commissioners' clerk, did not quality, and Lysander W. Babbitt was appointed in his stead.


[ocr errors]

The county commissioners held their first meeting at the newly selected county seat, September 12, 1845. Prior to this time, in August, Joseph Robinson, of Scott county, and James Montgomery, of Wapello county, two of the commissioners appointed by the Legislature to select a location for the seat of justice met at the honse of Wilson Stanley and proceeded to visit various places in the county, which were suggested as proper locations for the connty seat. They finally agreed upon the northwest quarter of section 7, township 75, range 19, the present site of Knoxville; the report embodying their decision was dated August 25, 1845. The commissioners could not definitely make the location which they had chosen, as that part of the county had not yet been surveyed; the township south, No. 74, had been surveyed however, and they could tell very nearly the location of the quarter of the section which they had designated. The locating commissioners gave the newly selected town the name of Knoxville, which was acceptable to all save Mr. Babbitt who during the next session of the Legislature succeeded in having the name changed to Osceola. When the action was made known, many people in the county were very indignant. A peti. tion was immediately circulated asking the Legislature to restore the former name. A bill was introduced and passed, repealing the name of Osceola, but owing to an oversight the name of Knoxville was not restored. Then for a time the county seat of Marion county had no name at at all. Some time after the matter was fixed by the passage of still another bill restoring the name of Knoxville.


The board of county commissioners met on the 12th of September 1845 at the newly selected site of Knoxville. The house in which the first official business of the board was transacted, was a very primitive sort of a structure. It was constructed of lind poles, was about siteen feet square, was covered with clap-boards, and a square hole cut out of one of the sides, without sash or glass served for a window. The building was located on what is now block 33, and was part of a claim belonging to L. C. Conrey.

« PředchozíPokračovat »