« PředchozíPokračovat »
Oriental Lodge, No. 16, A. F. & A. M.-Was chartered June 6th, 1855. On the 5th of March, 1856, the lodge books and implements were all destroyed by fire. The present officers for the ensuing year are as follows: J. W. Mitchell, W. M.; Jas. D. Gamble, S. W.; J. B. Cohn, J. W.; O. B. Ayres, treasurer; J. Oppenheimer, secretary; Geo. A. French, S. D.; Theo. Parsons, J. D.; Wm. A. Gamble, S. S.; Jas. H. Cloe, J. S.; Wm. Craig, chaplain; T. J. Wallace, tyler; with 115 members. The lodge is in a flourishing condition, have their own hall well furnished and out of debt, with some surplus on hand.
Tadmor Chapter, No. 18, R. A. M.-Was chartered May 2, 1857. The officers for the ensuing year are as follows: J. W. Mitchell, M. E. H. P.; H. J. Scoles, E. K.; Chas. Kimble, E. S.; O. B. Ayres, treasurer; J. Oppenheimer, secretary; J. D. Gamble, C. of H.; J. N. Davis, R. L.; A. B. Walters, R. A. C.; A. P. Wright, G. M. 3d V.; L. Z. Stump, G. M. 2d V.; A. D. Wetherell, G. M. 1st V.; S. J. Wallace, tyler. The present membership is 35. The first officers of the chapter were: E. D. Cushman, H. P.; N. S. Smith, E. K.; E. Davis, E. S.; D. M. Gunn, C. H.; H. Syster, P. S.; D. Stánfield, R. A. C.; E. E. Cornell, G. M. 3d V.; Jas. Mathews, G. M. 2d V.; John Cummins, G. M. 1st V.; A. D. Wetherell, secretary.
Knoxville Lodge, No. 90, I. O. 0. F.-Chartered March 21, 1856, John Pope, grand master; Wm. Garrett, grand secretary. Charter membersJames Mathews, C. G. Brobst, Hugh Thompson, J. A. Brewer, I. J. Cole. Of these I. J. Cole is dead. James Mathews not now a member, but living in Knoxville, the others are yet members of this Lodge. The first officers were Hugh Thompson, N. G.; J. A. Brewer, V. G.; C. G. Brobst, secretary; I. J. Cole, treasurer. The present officers are W. E. Burns, N. G.; D. Ó. Collins, V. G.; A. B. Brobst, secretary; A. J. Brigg, treasurer. Present membership, 132. Meetings every Tuesday evening.
Knoxville Encampment, No. 87, 1. 0. 0. F.-Chartered October 18, 1876, George Whipple, grand patriarch; Wm. Garrett, grand scribe. Charter members-J. R. Brodrick, Allen Hamrick, W. R. Rigg, J. S. Bellamy, O. J. Kendig, E. F. Sperry, A. B. Brobst, R. G. Gilson. First of ficers were A. Hamrick, C. P.; J. R. Brodrick, H. P.; A. B. Brobst, scribe; O. J. Kendig, treasurer. The present officers are L. W. Crozier, C. P.; A. D. Steele, H. P.; I. Gregg, scribe; A. B. Brobst, treasurer. Membership, forty. Meets first and third Friday night in each month.
Marion Rebekah Degree Lodge, No. 70, I. O. 0. F.-Chartered October 21, 1875, with sixteen members. Is in flourishing condition. Meetings second and fourth Fridays in each month. The order was never in a more flourishing condition in all its branches, finanically and otherwise, than it is at the present time.
Knoxville Collegium, No. 18, V. A. S. Fraternity-Chartered December 23, 1879, with seventeen members. The first officers were C. B. Boydston, rector; G. K. Hart, V. R.; C. H. Baker, speculator; T. F. Gilliland, usher; Robert Baxter, questor; E. H. Jolliffe, scribe. At present the order numbers twenty-two members. Meets first Wednesday in each month, and is officered as follows: T. F. Gilliland, rector; O. J. Kendig, V. R.; L. Ardery, speculator; G. K. Hart, usher; R. Baxter, questor; Duane Gibson.
LDRICH, W. H.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 20, P. O. Knoxville. Was born in Chautauqua county, New York, July 25, 1830, and is a son of Samuel and A. A. Aldrich. When quite young he removed with his parents to Monroe county, of same State, where they resided unti he attained his ninth year, after which they emigrated to Richland county, Ohio, locating on a farm. W. H. was here raised, educated and learned the trades of carpenter and stationery engineering. In 1853 came to Marion county, engaging in farming until February, 1864, when he enlisted in company K, Third Iowa cavalry. Was with General Sturges at Guntown, on the Wilson raid and other notable events; was honorably discharged at the close of the war. During his term in the service he contracted an eye disease, by which he is partially blind. Since then he has divided his time. between farming and carpenter work; he is closely identified with the building interests of the community. His farm consists of 43 acres. the fourth of September, 1853, Miss Charity Smith, daughter Charles and Charity Smith, became his wife. By the union they have seven children: Charles S., John H., Edwin D., Mary E., Willie E., A. A. and Margaret Jane. Himself and family are members of the Pleasant Ridge Christian Church.
AMOS, E. H.--The subject of this sketch was born in Highland county. Ohio, on the 13th day of June, 1826, and was raised there on a farm. After attaining his majority he removed to Wayne county, Indiana, where he lived for fifteen months, and then returned to Highland county, Ohio, and after remaining there two years, came to Jasper county, Iowa, where he purchased land. After remaining a few months he returned to Ohio, and thence to Wayne county, Indiana, where he made his home for one year, then settled permanently for seven years in Jasper county, Iowa, engaged in agricultural pursuits. In March, 1871, he came to Marion county and settled in Knoxville. The following January he purchased the property and opened the hotel that now bears his name. In this occupation he was peculiarly fortunate in securing a large trade and building an enviable reputation and this is attributable to his uniform courtesy and attention to, and care for the comfort of his guests as well as the bountiful provisions made for their wants; his name is the synonym of a good landlord. As a citizens he has been public spirited ever identified with the best interests of the city. As a member of the city council for three years, he served faithfully and well. He married Miss Nancy J. Jones, in 1863; she was born in New York. They have one son, George.
ANDERSON, THOMAS J.-Attorney. Among the prominent legal practioners of Marion county may be mentioned the subject of this sketch. He was born in Fulton county, Illinois, on the fourth day of March, 1837, and resided there until sixteen years of age. In 1853 he came with his parents to Marion county, Iowa. His early life was spent on a farm and his time was divided between farm duties in summer and attending school in winter. When seventeen years of age he purchased his time of his father and spent some years in teaching and attending school. In 1858 he was elected county surveyor, and having made choice of law as a profession, he commenced reading with Hon. J. E. Neal, an attorney of wide reputation. After a thorough preparation he was admitted to the bar in October, 1860, and has practiced continously, excepting when absent in the service of his
country. In the autumn of 1862 he enlisted in the Fortieth Iowa infantry, company A, and was commissioned first lieutenant and afterward promoted to captain and while holding that position resigned on the second day of December, 1864, and returned to Knoxville. Before going into military service Mr. Anderson edited a paper in Knoxville, not however to the neglect of his practice. As a lawyer he has attained well merited success and is highly esteemed by his brother practioners for his ability, energy and courtesy. His career has been both honorable and successful and he enjoys in a high degree the confidence and respect of the community in which he resides. He married Miss Mary A. Rousseau in 1862. She was born in Somerset county, Kentucky, and is a daughter of Dr. J. A. Rousseau, who was one of the first to settle in this county in 1843. His family consists of four children: Eva, Jennie, James R. and Gertie.
ANDREWS, HIRAM-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 25, P. O. Knoxville. Was born in Crawford county, Ohio, September 27, 1830. His parents were Jacob and Ellen. They were natives of Pennsylvania and among the early settlers of Ohio. Hiram was raised in Crawford county and he received the benefits of the common schools, and the high school six months. In early life he followed farming and in his twentieth year he commenced the profession of school teaching, which he followed seven years. In the spring of 1856 he came to Marion county and located; he having been here in 1854, prospecting. He made his debut as a teacher, which he followed principally for seven years during the winter and in the summer followed farming. He first located at Newbern, in Dallas township. In 1865 he removed to his present location and has confined himself to agricultural pursuits. He was married March 11, 1859, to Miss L. Richardson, a native of Ohio. She is a lady possessing those graces of heart that make all who may form her acquaintance friends. Their union has been blessed by two children: Frank and Eva. In the autumn of 1879 Mr. Andrews was elected to the office of assessor of Knoxville township; he acquitted himself of the duties thereof to the entire satisfaction of his constituents. During his sojourn in the county he has been closely identified with the educational interests, being secretary of the school board for the past ten years. On the fifteenth of December, 1879, his residence and a large amount of the household effects were destroyed by fire. He has rebuilt a pleasant home, which is indicative of taste and comfort. His farm consists of 120 acres. Himself and family are members of the Christian Church and among its staunch supporters.
ARDERY, W. A.-Physician and surgeon. Is a native of Nicholas county, Kentucky, and was born on the twenty-fifth day of August, 1820. When young he was taken by his parents to Indiana, where his early life was spent on a farm. He early made choice of the practice of medicine as a profession and commenced reading with Dr. Crawford, of Clarksburg, as preceptor. After a thorough preparation he attended lectures at the Ohio Medical College in Cincinnati, and was graduated in 1844 and commenced the active duties of his profession in Newbern, Bartholemew county, Indiana. On the thirtieth day of September, 1855, he came to Iowa and located in Keokuk county, where he practiced until he came to this county in 1871. In his medical relations he has built up his own reputation by skill and energy and has acquired an extensive practice. He has been twice married; first in 1857 to Miss Mary E. Mitchell, born in Decatur county, Indiana. She died, leaving four children: Lorimer, Edgar, Ion
and Eugene. His second marriage was to Mrs. Mary Wippo, in 1874, whose maiden name was Pitts. She has one daughter, Addie, now Mrs. Clark.
ARDERY BROTHERS-Knoxville, proprietors of livery stable. gar Ardery was born in Decatur county, Indiana, December 26, 1849, where he lived until six years of age, when he came to Keokuk county, Iowa. While there he was engaged in farming and stock-trading for about sixteen years. He then moved to Knoxville and commenced the mercantile business in Columbia, Washington township, where he remained two years, then moved to Knoxville township and commenced farming which he followed six years. He then moved to Knoxville and commenced mercantile business, where he continued until August 15, 1880, when he commenced his present business. He was married to Miss Hattie Floray November 21, 1872, in Elk county, Kansas. Their family consists of four children: Flora, William, Loly and Fannie. EUGENE ARDERY was born May 7, 1859, in Keokuk county, Iowa, where he was raised, and lived until eleven years of age. In 1879 he came to Knoxville and commenced business with his brother.
AYRES, ORLANDO B.-Attorney. One of the self-made men and prominent attorneys of the Sixth congressional district is the subject of this sketch. He was born in Lake county, Ohio, the twenty-sixth of July, 1836. His father, Buenos Ayres, was a native of Massachusetts; his mother, Sarah Osborne, was a native of Connecticut. In infancy the family removed to Hicksville, Defiance county, where they resided until 1850. Then removed to Wisconsin, and in 1851 to Illinois, where he was raised, receiving the benefits of a limited common-school education. In 1861 he commenced reading law in the office of Howe & North at Kewanee, Bureau county, Illinois, and was admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court at Ottawa, in December, 1863. He opened an office at Kewanee and practiced ten months, after which he came to Iowa, locating in Knoxville, where he has since been numbered among the leading counselors of central Iowa. For a number of years he has been associated with ex-Gov. Wm. M. Stone. The firm of Stone & Ayres is well known throughout the Northwest. He is a Master Mason and an Odd Fellow. He was married July 13, 1864, to Miss Anna M. Stone. They have seven children living: Edward C., Helen A., Augusta, William S., George W., O. B., Ransom M.
BAKER, E.-Deputy county treasurer and one of Marion county's
prominent citizens, was born in Highland county, Ohio, on the sixth day of February, 1821, and when eleven years of age removed with his parents to Michigan, where he was raised. He learned the trade of plow and wagon-making in youth, and followed it as an occupation until 1847, then engaged in mercantile pursuits. In 1850 he went to California and spent seven years. In 1857 he returned and settled in Marion county. On his land included in the city is a valuable coal mine of four feet thickness of superior quality. In 1867 he was elected county treasurer and the manner in which he filled the position is evinced by the fact that he was reelected in 1869 and again in 1871, and his official record is without a stain, or suspicion, and as a citizen and official he has the unlimited confidence of all with whom he has had business relations. He was married in 1858 to Miss Sarah R. Wells, a native of Delaware county, Ohio. The have one son, Frank, book-keeper in the Marion County National Bank.
BANKS, JOHN-Farmer and stock-raiser. Sec. 13, P. O. Knoxville.
Was born in the County Westmeath, Ireland, July 4th, 1818. Came to America with his father, William Banks, in 1821, the family locating in New York City, where the subject of this sketch was raised until he attained the age of 16 years, when the family removed to Ohio, where he resided until 1854, when he came to Iowa, locating in Marion county. In 1860 he married Miss S. A. Jordan. They have a family of six children: Clara, Willie, Sarah, John E., James A., Charles H. His farm consists of 200 acres, about all under cultivation. His house will compare favorably with any in the township. He is closely identified with the educational interests of his district, and holds the offices of district treasurer and trustee. BARKER, HON. FRANCIS A.-Deceased. One of Marion county's pioneers, and one of her most worthy and respected citizens. Was born in Dutchess county, New York, on the 2d day of April, 1798. His father When twenty years
was a fariner and at this business the son was raised.
of age he started for what was then the "Far West," and settled in Marietta, Ohio, and engaged in teaching school for some time; then went to McConnelsville, and being an expert in figures and a good penman he found ready employment, and was elected auditor of Morgan county, and resided there until 1829, and then went to Malta and engaged in general merchandise. He also engaged in the manufacture of linseed oil, and afterward in the salt manufacture, doing a large but unsuccessful business, owing to the improvement of the Muskingum River with locks and dams, which broke up nearly all the salt merchants. He then came to Iowa on a prospecting tour, with a view of selecting a home for his family, and after deciding to remove to Iowa he returned to Ohio. In April, 1844, came with his family, landing at Burlington, and went out in the country twenty miles and lived there during the summer, and raised a small crop of corn and vegetables. Late in the fall of that year Mr. Barker went up to the third purchase and şelected a claim near Bellefontaine, now known as the Converse place, giving a saddle in exchange for it. He rented a small cabin in which he moved his family in November, that year. This cabin had puncheon floors, stone fire-place outside, dirt hearth, with places cut out for doors and window. They hung up carpet for a door, and oiled paper and covered the opening for a window, and used a large box for a table with swinging cots fastened to the joists for the children during the winter. Mr. B. made rails to fence in the spring crops, but not being used to farming he had many obstacles to overcome on account of inexperience. The provisions they brought with them were fast disappearing, and he thought best to return to New London and get some corn and buckwheat that he had left and get it milled. He was prevented from returning for a month, owing to the bad roads and swollen. streams, and for five days before he returned the family was compelled to live without bread, on hominy and crab-apple pickles. The neighbors, too, were all out, and no mill nearer than fifty miles. The improvement of his claim was slow, owing to sickness in his family. This sickness resulted in the death of two of his children. In 18- Mr. Barker received the appointment of clerk in the State Legislature. In 1855 he was appointed warden of the State penitentiary at Ft. Madison and held the position two years, and in 1858 returned to this county and settled, once more engaging in farming. During the late war he was deeply interested in the success of the Union army, which so taxed his mind that before hostilities ceased he was struck with paralysis. He sold his farm and removed to Knoxville, where he had