« PředchozíPokračovat »
CLOE, JAMES H.--County treasurer. Was born in Clark county, Kentucky, February 2, 1827, and in 1831 was taken by his parents to Vermillion county, Illinois, where he was principally raised. From the age of seventeen until twenty-four he was employed in a pork-packing establishment, and during the last few years he was compelled to make a trip each year to New Orleans to attend to the unloading of pork that was shipped, as was then customary, in flat-boats. It was during these trips that he conceived the idea that in his present occupation he was circumscribed and that he was competent to manage for himself instead of devoting the best period of his life to building up the fortunes of others, and with the promptness characteristic of the man, he made a prospective tour in Iowa in company with his brother, in 1851, and entered land in Marion county, and in 1852 came to make it his home, and his means at this time were invested in thirty-six head of calves, and after they matured, were fattened and driven to Burlington, and were the second lot of cattle fattened in Marion county and sent to the eastern market. From that time until about 1873 he followed stock-buying. Since that period he has devoted his farm, comprising 360 acres, to raising Short-Horns, and he has the largest herd of thorough-breds, embracing strains of the best families, in the county. In 1879 he was elected county treasurer, an office he has filled to the entire satisfaction of those with whom he has had business relations. He has been married three times; first to Elizabeth Keenan, in 1852; she was born in Vermillion county, Illinois. She died in 1856, leaving one daughter, Charlotte N. (now Mrs. James Rice). His second marriage occurred in 1860 to Miss Thursa Conrey; she was a native of Edgar county, Illinois. Mrs. C. died in 1874, leaving seven children: Frank, Amanda, Eddie, James H., John, Sylvia and Bertha. His third wife was Miss Elizabeth McKern, born in Henry county, Iowa. By this marriage they have one son, Ancil.
COLLINS, A, W.-President of the Knoxville National Bank. Was born in Richland county, Ohio, in October, 1821, and was raised on a farm until nineteen years of age. In 1841 he went to Muskingum county and for four years was engaged in the manufacture of stone-ware, thence to Newcastle, Coshocton county, and was engaged in selling goods until 1852, when he removed to Knoxville, which has been his home for twenty-eight years as one of its principal business men and most successful financiers. He was one of the organizers of the Knoxville National Bank and was chosen vice-president, and two or three years later became its president. As a business man he has been straightforward in his dealings and as a citizen he is public-spirited, ever identified with the best interests and substantial progress of the city. But few men have a better private record, or have achieved a better financial record. He has never sought or held a public office, nor is he a candidate for popularity or public fame. He is plain and unassuming in manner, social and obliging as a neighbor, and warm-hearted as a friend, and in character as well as in purse he is one of the substantial men of the county. He has been twice married; first to Miss Susan C. Olive, in 1844; she was born in Ohio. She died leaving five children: Chester L., Mina E., Emina J., David O. and Susan M. He married for his second wife Miss Sarah Lewis, of Madison county, Ohio. By this union they have three children: Wilson L., Bertha L. and Prudence N.
COLLINS, D. O.-Attorney. Of the legal fraternity of Marion county the subject of this sketch stands among the most promising. He was born
in Knoxville November 1, 1854. When four years of age he accompanied his father to Zanesville, Ohio, where he resided two years, after which he returned to this county, where he has since made his home, his father, A. W. Collins, being among the early settlers of the county. He received the full benefit of the Knoxville schools, his boyhood days being spent princi pally in Knoxville. In 1871 a serious misfortune befel him by which he was deprived of his right arm. On the twenty-fifth of May of that year he was out in pursuit of game, on horseback; by an unlooked for more ment of the animal, the gun was discharged, which caused the above result. In the autumn of 1871 he entered the Iowa Wesleyan University at Mt. Pleasant, graduating in January, 1876. In the autumn of 1876 he commenced his law studies in the office of Stone & Ayers, Knoxville, and was admitted to the bar at the January term, 1878, passing a very creditable examination. He immediately engaged in the practice of his profession, and has attained considerable celebrity throughout Marion and adjoining counties. In April, 1878, Miss Vic Thompson, a native of Evanston. Illinois, became his wife. Their union has been blessed by one son, Ward O. He is a member of the I. O. O. F.
COLLINS, C. C.-Bridge-builder. Was born in Richland county, Ohio, on the 24th day of January, 1849, and while very young came with his parents to Marion county, Iowa. He early formed a taste for the trade of carpenter, and has followed it from youth as an avocation. For the past three years and a half he has devoted the principal part of his time to bridge building, and has had charge of all work in this line in the county during this period, and at the present time is constructing the bridge over the Des Moines River. He thoroughly understands his business and has made it a success. He married Miss Jennie Savage, a native of Massachusetts. in 1875. They have two children: Ada, aged four years, and Nellie, aged eighteen months.
COLLINS, S. L.-Farmer, Sec. 6, P. O. Knoxville. Among those who. for twenty-eight years, have been identified with the interests of Marion county is the subject of this sketch. He was born in Richland county, Ohio on the 12th of December, 1830. His early life was spent on a farm. His education was received in the common schools, supplemented by one term in the high school of Bellville, Ohio. When eighteen years of age he removed to Coshocton county, Ohio, and commenced his mercantile experience as clerk in the store of Collins & Lee, with whom he remained until 1850. Then, in company with his brother, A. W. Collins, came to Iowa on a visit and prospecting tour. They landed at Keokuk. Here ther separated, the brother going west and he north to Muscatine and thence to Tipton, Cedar county, where two of his brothers-in-law resided. remained here one year, working on a farm at fifty cents per day splitting rails, making fence and breaking prairie. During the harvest season he was afflicted with rheumatism, which unfitted him for work, and in September following returned to Ohio (this was in the year 1851, remembered by the old settlers as the year of high water), and remained during the winter, and in 1852 returned to Iowa in company with his brother, A. W. Collins, and settled in Knoxville and engaged in the mercantile business with his brother A. W., who furnished $500 capital to offset the experience and time of his brother; the balance of capital was hired of A. W. Collins. They did a large business and were well known throughout the county. In May, 1856, they opened a branch store in Gosport in company with Allen
Pearson, the relation continuing for eighteen months, netting four thousand dollars. At this time Mr. Collins disposed of his interest in the Knoxville store, still retaining an interest in the Gosport branch till the winter of 1857-8, when the Gosport store was sold to Burdick & Co., and Mr. Collins again became a partner with his brother, A. W., in Knoxville. This partnership existed about one year, when A. W. Collins sold his interest to Allen Pearson, Mr. S. L. Collins continuing as manager of the firm of Collins & Pearson for two years; at this time Mr. Pearson becoming fearful that the interest of the firm was being jeopardized by the extended credits given customers, was anxious to change their system to a cash basis. To obviate the necessity of forced payments, Mr. Collins proposed purchasing Mr. Pearson's interest; a bargain was inade and Mr. Collins became sole proprietor in January, 1860, and in the settlement of the firm's affairs it was done at a loss of less than twenty-five dollars. Mr. Collins continued in business till the fall of 1865, when he retired, his health having failed him. He is an active member of the M. E. Church, and one of its most liberal contributors as well as staunch supporters. He purchased the farm on which he now resides in 1864, and in character: as well as in purse, may be termed one of the solid men of the county. He has been twice inarried; first, in 1854 to Miss Lavina M. James, a native of Ohio. She died on the 4th day of November, 1860, leaving two children: Clinton A. and Alice E. His second marriage was to Miss Anna M. Thomson on the 4th day of October, 1864. She is a native of Centre county, Pennsylvania. Their family, by this marriage, is six children: Lafayette S., Grant, May, Jane, Hope and Belle.
CONRY, JOHN-One of Marion county's first settlers is the subject of this sketch. He was born in Clermont county, Ohio, June 2, 1811; was there raised to manhood and educated. For a number of years he was a resident of Illinois, and in 1839 came to Henry county, Iowa, where he followed farmning until 1844, when he came to Marion county, where he has since been a resident, being closely indentified with its growth and general development. He married in Illinois, in 1830, Miss Nancy Lowery, by which union he has had twelve children, two of whom died in infancy: William P., Percilla J., Thersa A., Frances M., Mary E., Edward, Nancy M., John W., Abraham F., James L.
COOPER, J. M.-Sec. 6, P. O. Knoxville. Was born in Jefferson county, Ohio, January 4, 1828. His parents were John and Diantha Cooper. He was a resident of Coshocton county, Ohio, in 1854, when Iowa attracted his attention and that year he came to the State, locating in Marion county. For ten years he was engaged in freighting goods from Keokuk to Knoxville, after which he engaged in agricultural pursuits. In 1852 Miss Mary L. Jackson of Ohio became his wife. They have had six children, four of whom are living: Harry C., Wm. M. (deputy postmaster at Knoxville), J. P. and Mattie E. They lost two: Edward A. and Henry B. On the eighth of August, 1863, he enlisted in company A, Thirty-third Iowa volunteer infantry and was mustered in as first sergeant. At the end of six months was promoted to second lieutenant, and the autumn of 1863 to first lieutenant. Was at the engagements of Helena, Arkansas, Jenkins' Ferry, Spanish Fort and others. Was honorably discharged July 17, 1865, at New Orleans. His farın consists of fifty acres adjoining the corpration; has an orchard of 170 apple trees. He is nun bered among the enterprising and honorable citizens of the county.
COOPER, WILLIAM M.-Deputy postmaster, Knoxville. Of the exemplary and promising young men of Knoxville, there is no more popularly known than the subject of this biography. He was born in Knoxville township March 29, 1858, and is a son of Lieutenant J. M. Cooper, one of the pioneers of the county. Wm. M. was raised to manhood in the township, receiving full benefits of the Knoxville graded school. 1875 his genial "phiz" has been gazed upon by thousands through the delivery apertures of the post-office, and when he says "nothing," Pinkerton's full company, backed by the Knoxville police force, equipped with iron-clad search warrants, could not scare up any mail for the expectant enquirer. On the thirteenth of November, 1880, Miss Mollie F. Dana, an estimable young lady, daughter of James and Permelia Dana, of Knoxville, became his wife.
CORNELL, NORMAN R.-Physician and surgeon. The oldest prac ticing physician in Knoxville is Norman R. Cornell, who settled here in 1850. He was born in Steuben county, New York, on the eleventh day of September, 1824. He was raised on a farm, and his time divided between attending school and assisting his father. Having early made choice of the practice of medicine as a profession, he commenced reading with Dr. W.H. Thomas as preceptor. When seventeen years of age went to Kentucky, He pursued his medical studies at the Geneva Medical College, New York, graduated in 1848, and commenced practicing in Ohio, Kentucky. In 1850 he came to Iowa and settled in Marion county, where he has since practiced. His practice at that time extended not only through Marion county, but his rides extended into Warren, Lucas, Monroe and Mahaska. During the war he was appointed assistant surgeon of the Twenty-third Iows infantry, and the following January was appointed, by Governor Stone, surgeon of the Fortieth Iowa Infantry, serving until the regiment was mustered out in 1865. The last year he served as brigade-surgeon. His experience in the army increased his reputation, particularly as a surgeon. Of late years he has made a specialty of the eye and ear in connection with a general practice. He was married in 1847, to Miss Mary F. Timmons, & native of Ohio county, Kentucky. Their family circle consists of seven children: Corwin W. (a graduate of Rush Medical College, and associated with his father in the practice of medicine), Lindley P. (a practicing physician of Pleasantville, Iowa), B. (now Mrs. C. M. Whitemore), Landon H., Annie C., Mary R. and Don D.
CRAVENS, JAMES H.-Farmer, Sec. 31, P. O. Knoxville. Was born in Randolph county, Indiana, January 25, 1825, and lived there until 1853, when he moved to Iowa, locating in Mahaska county, where he resided s few years and then came to this county and engaged in farming, in which he has been very successful and has gained a fair competency. Mr. C. has been identified with the interests of Marion county for some twenty-five years, and properly constitutes a part of her history. He has passed through many difficulties and hardships incident to the settlement of new countries. By pursuing a straightforward and upright course has gained considerable property, and secured the esteem and respect of all who know him. By the aid of a faithful and industrious wife has successfully brought up a large family, respected by the community in which they live. Mr. C. was married February 20, 1847, to Miss Louisa Seegar, of Logan county, Ohio. They have eight children: Amos M., Joseph, Francis M., Edwin A., James A., Eliza Jane. John E. and Jay S.
CRADDICK, W. W.--Postmaster. Was born in Owen county, Indiana, on the eleventh day of November, 1836, and lived there until eight years of age and accompained his parents to Hendricks county, in the same State, where they lived three years, and in 1848 came to this county which has since been his home. He engaged in the drug business and followed this business for sometime. He enlisted in the Thirty-thi:d Iowa infantry during the late war and served in the capacity of hospital warden. After his discharge from the United States service he returned to his home. In 1868 became connected with the post-office as deputy, and two years later was appointed postmaster, a position he still retains. Politically he is a stalwart Republican, and has served as chairman of the county central committee for six years. He has been twice married; first, to Miss Jane Hickman, in 1857; she was born in Muncie, Indiana. She died in 1876, leaving two children: Mary Belle and May. His second marriage was to Mrs. Sue E. Fetrow, of Chicago, Illinois. By this union they have one child, Bertie. Mrs. Craddick has one son by a former marriage, Thomas Fetrow, aged seven years.
CRADDICK, J. W.-No man within the boundaries of Marion county is more popularly known than Father Craddick. He was born in Bourbon, Kentucky, October 24, 1812. His parents, John and Sarah, were natives of West Virginia. The family, when J. W. was in his tenth year, emigrated to Owen county, Indiana, where they were engaged in agricultural pursuits, and the subject of this sketch was raised to manhood, educated and learned the trade of blacksmithing. On the thirtieth of April, 1835, Miss Kazia A. Woods became his wife. She is a native of Tennessee, daughter of William and Kazia Woods, born September 16, 1813. In 1849 Mr. Craddick left the Hoosier State, and on the twentieth of October located at Red Rock, Marion county, where he sojourned until the spring of 1850, when be removed to Pleasantville, opened a blacksmith shop and resided until 1860 when he took up his abode in Knoxville. During his residence he has been closely identified with the building interests of the town, giving most of his attention to carpenter work. Mr. and Mrs. Craddick encountered all the drawbacks of the pioneer, which were current when they came to this county, and can look back with complacency, knowing that they took an active part in its development. They raised a family of nine children: W. W. (postmaster, Knoxville), Lonisa (wife of M. Moore), Fannie (wife of C. Scoles), America (wife of L. Tucker), Mattie (wife of Win. Young), Woodford, Mattie (wife of W. Myers), Samuel M. and Jessie F. (wife of P. K. Bonebrake). Mr. and Mrs. Craddick are members of the Presbyterian Church. Politically, Mr. Craddick, in the days of Whigs, united with that party, and his sympathies have been with the Republican party since its organization.
CROUCH, B. F.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec: 28, P. O. Knoxville. Was born in Mason county, Virginia, November 20, 1849. His parents, William and Emily, were among the early settlers of that State. B. F. was there raised until he attained the age of seven years, when his family removed to Iowa, locating in Marion county. In 1871 Miss Sarah Everett, of Marion county, a lady of refined tastes and domestic habits, became his wife. Their union has been blessed by two children: Harry A. and Enmett E. Has farm of 100 acres will compare favorably with any in the township. He makes stock raising and feeding a speciality and does in this particular branch a thriving trade.