Obrázky stránek

Samuel Clutter and wife, E. O. Towne and wife and Benjamin Eastman, were the original members of the organization. The society in 1862 bought of the M. E. Church a building and repaired it, which they have since occupied. The original cost of the house with repairs amounted to over $1,000. Reverends Wm. Elliott, O. L. Chittenden, John G. Craven, S. E. Rice and A. W. Sutton have been pastors in times past.

The present members number about forty. This church was formed from persons leaving the First Baptist Church on account of a difference of opinion on three important things: 1st. This church is opposed to slavery; 2d. It opposed selling and use of ardent spirits; 3d. It opposed secret societies. First Presbyterian-The First Presbyterian Church of Pella was organized August ninth, 1869, with the following named persons as members: A. F. Smith, Lucy N. Smith, Clara O. Vanderley, Mary T. Morgan, Elizabeth Smith, John K. Voorhees, E. H. Voorhees, Eugenia B. Voorhees, Wm. D. Voorhees, Sallie E. B. Voorhees.

A church building was erected in 1872. It is a frame structure and cost about $3,000. The building was dedicated to the worship of Almighty God during the winter of 1872-3 by the Rev. John Fisher, who was the first pastor. There is now a membership of about thirty, but the society has no pastor, and no regular religious services.

Methodist Episcopal-This church was organized May 21, 1855, by Rev. J. Brooks, who was then presiding elder of the district.

G. T. Clark, W. L. Baston, R. G. Hamilton, J. B. Hamilton, J. F. Woodside, Horace Strickland and John Greenwood were the first members.


The first church was built in 1857 and was sold for debt in 1862. 1865 a second church was erected, which was found to be too small, and a larger one was erected in 1867. The contractor failed to do the work according to agreement and the house was sold in 1870, and the proceeds were applied to payment of debts and repairing the old building. The church has had some eighteen different pastors, and the present membership is between eighty and ninety.

A flourishing Sunday-school is managed by this church, which has about. one hundred and fifty pupils. The present superintendent is D. S. Huber. A new parsonage has recently been built at a cost of $950.

First Dutch Reformed-As at present organized, this religious society dates its origin from the year 1857.

A church known as the Christian Church was organized by the Holland colony in 1847, and the First Dutch Reformed is an outgrowth of that. The first members were Hendrick Peter Scholte, Isaac Overkamp, G. H. Overkamp, J. F. LeCocq, A. J. Betten, J. Smeenk, A. Wigny, J. Rietveld. In 1871 a large brick church building was erected at a cost of $25,000, which was dedicated in June, 1872. The dedicatory ceremonies were conducted by Revs. E. Winter, H. Vankley, H. G. Kley and K. B. Wesland. Rev. P. J. Oggel was pastor from 1860 to 1866, since which time Rev. Egbert Winter has been pastor.

The present membership numbers three hundred. The Sunday-school, which is under the management of K. van Stigt, numbers about two hundred.

At first, in 1848, this society used a small frame building on the west side of the square for holding meetings. In 1850 a small brick church was erected. This becoming too small for the use of the society, a frame church which had been erected some years previous and which was then vacant

was purchased; in this last named building the congregation worshiped until 1871, when the present large and commodious building was erected. Second Dutch Reformed-This church was organized in comparatively recent times. A brick church edifice was erected in 1867, at a cost of $4,000. The church building was dedicated by Rev. Abraham Thompson, who was the first pastor. Mr. Thompson was succeeded by Rev. H. R. Schermerhorn.

There is a membership of eighty-five.

The Sunday-school in connection with this church is in charge of P. H. Bousquet. There are in the school twenty-five teachers and two hundred fifty pupils.

Third Dutch Reformed-The following named persons composed the first membership of this church: D. van Lank, T. Veenschoten, A. de Wild, J. de Wild, W. de Hartog, William Buker, Jacob van Boekel, John van Boekel.

A frame church building was erected in 1870 at a cost of $5,000, which was dedicated the same year.

Revs. C. Zubli and H. Weiland were the former pastors. Rev. Francis Rederus is the present pastor. The church has a membership of about two hundred.

The pastor is superintendent of the Sunday-school.

Holland Presbyterian-This church organization was formed but very recently, the date of organization being June 10, 1880.

The congregation worships in a building which was erected some years ago by the Fourth Dutch Reformed Church at a cost of $3,000.

Rev. John Isaac Fles is the present pastor; the membership numbers eighty.

The Sunday-school numbers about one hundred and twenty-five pupils. The church was originally known as the Fourth Reformed Church.


Pella Lodge No. 55, A. F. & A. M.-This society was organized in 1852. The lodge room is in Fisher's Hall; the membership numbers sixtyfive. The following are the officers at present: E. R. Cassatt, W. M.; T. J. Welch, S. W.; W. D. Forsythe, J. W.; R. H. Lacy, Sec.; W. Fisher, Treas.; F. M. Sexton, S. D.; C. W. Wilson, J. D.; J. R. Johnson, tyler.

Cox's Light Infantry Band-Pella has the reputation of having the best brass band in the State. The persons composing the band are fine looking men and are under a good state of discipline. They are well equipped with the best instruments and uniforms the country affords and present a very imposing appearance. The following compose the band: E. R. Cassatt, president; J. M. Cox, drum major; Geo. P. Sheelsey, leader, E flat cornet; Henry Verhey, ass't leader, solo alto; A. H. Betzer, E flat cornet; F. M. Sexton, E flat cornet; Sypko Sypkens, B flat cornet; Fred Cory, B flat cornet; W. M. Fowler, B flat cornet; F. W. Stallard, B flat cornet; W. M. Blattner, E flat clarionet; Chas. Blattner, A flat clarionet; Lewis Gregory, B flat clarionet; Jost De Buin, E flat piccolo; C. S. Cotton, solo alto; Arie De Vos, first alto; B. H. Van Spanckeren, alto; Henry Lobrecht, first tenor; W. B. Neyenesch, second tenor; W. Kruger,

baritone; John Lobrecht, first tuba; Wm. Verhey, second tuba; T. W. Cox, snare drummer; Walter Riddle, bass drummer. The band was organized in August, 1879.

Company F, 3d, I. N. G.-This company of militia was organized in April, 1878, and uniformed the following August. There are stated times for target practice and drill. The company is equipped with regulation uniforms and armed with Springfield breech-loading rifles. The rank and file number 63 men. The officers are as follows: J. M. Cox, captain: W. H. Barker, first lieutenant; George Ross, second lieutenant; Isaac Griffith, first sergeant; G. M. Hall, second sergeant; John Drum, third sergeant; W. M. Raney, fourth sergeant; John Forest, fifth sergeant.


The Weekblad-This paper is printed in the Dutch language and being one of the few papers which the Hollanders can read, published in America, has a very large circulation. It was established by Henry Hospers, January 1st, 1860. July 1st, 1871, it was bought by H. Neyeneschi, who is the present editor and proprietor.

When published by Hospers it was a five column paper. At present it is a nine column paper, being the largest paper in the Holland language printed in the United States, and having the largest circulation of any Hol land paper in this county, having subscribers at present from San Francisco to Massachusetts, embracing nearly all the States and Territories in the United States. Largest circulation of any paper in this county.

The following editorial clipped from a recent number of the Weekblad will be of intense interest to the general reader, inasmuch as it affords an example of the Dutch language, and at the same time is an exemplification of the Dutch idea of finance:

"Het bedrag ann goud, dat bij het begin der christelijke jaartelling op de wereld voorhanden was, wordt berokend te hebben bedragen vier hondred zeven en tweutig millioen dollars; toed Amerika ontdekt werd was het verminderd tot op zeven en vijftig millioen; na deze gebeurtenis vermeerderde hetzelve weder langzaam, zoodat het in het jaar 1600 weder eene hoeveelheid van honderd en vijf millioen dollars aan waarde bereikt had; in het jaar 1700 was het aangegroeid tot drie honderd een en vijftig millioen; in 1800 tot duizend honderd vijf en twintig millioen; en 1853 tot drie duizend millioen dollars; en op den tegenwoordigen tijd denkt inen dat er eene waarde van acht duizend millioen dollars aan goud op de wereld voorhanden is, hetwelk in dien het gesmolten werd eene klomp zou vormen van 29 kubieke voeten. Van dit bedrag wordt berekend, dat zes duizend millioen bestaat in gemunt geld, een duizend millioen in horlogien, en het overige in allerhande soorten van artikelen voor gebruik en voor sieraad."

The Pella Blade The Blade was established in the winter of 1864-5, by Mr. C. S. Wilson, since well known to the newspaper fraternity of the State. In politics, under Mr. Wilson's management, the Blade was radically Republican, but it appears not to have met that degree of success which its proprietor anticipated. After about one year the office was sold and removed to Waterloo, in Black Hawk county. Shortly after its removal the Blade was renewed again at Pella, by R. Crosby, who was soon joined by J. H. Betzer as a partner. In December, 1867, Crosby sold his interest in the office to H. G. Curtis, who, in about two years, sold to A. T.

Betzer, the proprietors then being J. H. and A. T. Betzer. In the spring of 1871 J. M. Cox became interested in the paper, and the firm name became Betzer Brothers & Cox. In October, 1872, Mr. Cox retired from the business, leaving Betzer Bros. as proprietors. In a few weeks they associated with themselves Mr. W. S. Alexander, under the firm name of Betzer Brothers & Alexander, in a few months, however, giving place to the new firm of Cox & Betzer, composed of J. M. Cox and A. T. Betzer. Thus the firm continued until the spring of 1875, when Mr. Cox sold his interest to Mr. T. C. Masteller, who, with Mr. A. T. Betzer, continued the publication of the paper as T. C. Masteller & Co., until the summer of 1876, when A. T. Betzer became the sole proprietor. During all these changes the Blade was a Republican paper, but in July, 1879, Mr. Betzer sold the office to H. Neyenesch and S. S. King, who immediately changed it to a conservative Democratic paper, and thus it continues down to the close of our report.


The Visitor.-About the first of November, 1879, A. H. Betzer, for a number of years foreman in the office of the Weekly Pella Blade, purchased a Peerless job press, with a complete outfit for doing all kinds of job work. Many Republicans spoke to him about starting a paper, and on Christmas he mentioned the subject to his present partner, Mr. Geo. P. Sheesley, a former student and graduate of the Central University. Sheesley seemed to think the paper could be made a success, and made an appointment with Mr. Betzer to talk the matter over. In a very short time the material for a complete newspaper office was purchased, together with a more complete job outfit, and on February 23d, 1881, the first number of The Weekly Visitor appeared. Below we give the more important part of the salutatory as published in the first issue, which explains the aim of the publishers: "The man of science reads scientific works; the theologist reads learned commentaries and original Greek and Hebrew; the politician reads messages and state papers; the financier reads treasurer's documents and Wall Street doings; the farmer reads agricultural works; everybody reads newspapers. * * The purity of the press may be taken as a certain index of the morals of the people. The inorals of any nation or age may be known by their literature. Licentious literature of any period unmistakably stamps the people of that period as licentious and libertine. Leaving out of the question all other classes of American literature as not proper to connection, it must be admitted that the American press is somewhat below the ideal standard of purity. Taking advantage of the freedom vouchsafed them, many of our journals stoop to means entirely unsuited to their mission. It is the province of the newspaper to deal fairly and truthfully in all things, to give the news unbiased by prejudice, to deliver opinions honestly, and to preserve purity of language, discarding coarseness, profanity and vulgarity. It is with the resolution to maintain this standard of purity that we present to the reading public the first number of The Weekly Visitor."



The paper is well supported by the reading public and business men of the place, and the business of the office is constantly increasing, and may now be considered one of the permanent enterprises of Pella. They have one of the finest and best lighted rooms of any office in the State, and one of the best stocked offices. The material is all new, of the very best, and is considered by the owners one of the best offices in the State of Iowa.

[ocr errors]


Amsterdam is situated near the Des Moines River, at the upper end of a small lake, from which the township took its name.

It was laid out by H. P. Scholte, in May, 1818. It is situated on section 20, township 76, range 18.

The town received its name from the Dutch metropolis of Europe, but has never resembled that metropolis in anything except its name, as it never showed any signs of growth or prosperity, and now exists only on paper.


This town was laid out by a firm named Kline, Vandemyer & Co., in 1860. It was located on section 23, township 77, range 18. It never had any existence only on paper, and even that is traditionary.


KKERMAN, JOHN, JR.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 10, P. 0.

A 'Pella. Was born in 1857, and is a native of Marion county.

boyhood days were spent on the farm, and in March, 1880, he began farming for himself. Owns 80 acres of rich farm land. On the twenty-sixth day of March, 1880, Miss Maggie Monster became his wife. She was born on the sixth of December, 1860, and is also a native of this county.

ALLEN, GEO.-A practicing physician of Pella. Was born in Carroll county, Ohio, February 23, 1833, and raised in his native State. He made choice of medicine as a profession, and commenced preparing himself for its active duties; but impaired health led him into other pursuits, and in 1864 he came to this State and settled in Fairfield, Jefferson county. After a residence of two and one-half years he changed his place of residence to Birmingham, Van Buren county, and in 1872 came to this county. Engaged in the practice of his profession, in which he has been very successful. Dr. Allen is one whom nature has wonderfully favored in the healing art; he exercises good judgment, and is particularly careful to administer those remedies which he knows will not injure, rather than experiment with the theories of others. He has built up a large and remunerative practice, and he is ever ready, regardless of weather or distance, to render immediate assistance to the sick and suffering. His cabinet of specimens of his own operations would be a credit to any physician of our larger cities, and the success that has attended them is a flattering testimonial of his skill. He married Miss Miriam Stewart in 1851. She was born in Carroll county, Ohio, March 22, 1833. Their family consists of three children: William L., A. C. and Laura W. William L. is a graduate of the Central University, and is preparing himself for the practice of medicine. ANDERSON, R. S.--Dealer in groceries and provisions. Was born on the thirtieth of July, 1803, in Washington, Washington county, Pennsyl vania, and resided there until twelve years of age, receiving the benefits of a common school education. About that time his father moved on a farm, and R. S. spent seven years in the rural districts. Then engaged as clerk in a general merchandise store for ten years, when he emigrated to Florence, same county, resumed the same business, and ten years later removed to Pittsburgh. Was there employed in the grocery and provision business for five

« PředchozíPokračovat »