« PředchozíPokračovat »
numbers 225 straight, tall, beautiful trees. His land is well improved and has good substantial buildings. He married Miss Ruth Wilson on the thirteenth day of February, 1859. She is a native of Ohio, born June 19, 1837. Their family consists of seven children: Gregory W., Alice J., Wm. S., Edwin H., Nellie, Jessie and Howard.
REGORY, JOHN-Farmer and mechanic, Sec. 36, P. O. Red Rock. Was born in Gifford county, North Carolina, in 1830. When a small boy removed with his parents to Indiana, living there until grown to manhood. He then came to Iowa in the spring of 1850, locating at Indianola, where for a time was engaged in the cabinet-maker's business. From this place he went to Red Rock, then to Colorado, and returned to Red Rock the same year, resuming his former business and continued to follow this business until 1874, when he moved on to his present farm containing 140 acres of land well improved, with good buildings. Mr. G. is a quiet, unassuming man, as a citizen is highly respected and has been closely identified with the interests of his community. His reputation for honesty and integrity stands unquestioned. He married Miss Elma Ray August 21, 1857. She is a native of New Jersey, a lady of culture and fine domestic habits. The family consists of seven children: Luella M., J. W., Lotta, Julia, Sherman, Libbie and Roy.
OHNSON, P. M.--Physician and surgeon. Born in Highland county, Ohio, February 3d, 1817, and was raised on a farm. He began the study of medicine under Dr. McGaraugh, of Fayette county. He commenced to practice at Port Williams, Clinton county, following it successfully for ten years. He came to Iowa in 1855, locating in Richland, Keokuk county, and from there removed to Poweshiek county, thence to Jasper county, thence to Red Rock, Marion county. He has been married four times; first, to Miss Nancy Lenord, in 1839; second, to Catherine Fitz, in 1852, third, to Miss Elizabeth McCay, in 1854; and fourth, to Isabelle Seaton, in 1860, a native of Pennsylvania. Has had the following children: by the first, four; by the second, three; by the third, none; and the fourth seven. As a practictioner, Dr. Johnson has attained considerable reputation, and he is classed among the leading physicians of the county.
INART, SAMUEL--Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 13, P. O. Mon
roe. Was born in Richland county, Ohio, November 5th, 1846, and removed with his parents to Iowa, where he has been reared to manhood and educated. He owns 211 acres of land, well improved. As a farmer he is a success. His lands are principally underlaid with the best of coal. This of itself is worth thousands. He married Miss Sarah C. Harris December 18th, 1856. She is the daughter of Mrs. Francis Harris. They have six children: Alfred E., Ann E., Ida B., James F., John A., William A.
L E GRAND, J.W.-Farmer and stock-dealer, Sec. 24, P.O. Monroe. Was born in Sangamon county, Illinois, January 9th, 1846, and removed with his parents to Appanoose county, Iowa, in the fall of 1855, and was raised on a farm. Froin this county he moved to Marion county, locating in Red Rock township, where he has since made his home. He commenced life in very meager circumstances, and now owns 260 acres of land, well improved. His stately residence is one of the finest in the township, being built of the best material and of a very substantial character. He married Miss Martha Carr on the 7th day of March, 1867. She is a native of
Marion county. Their family consists of seven children, Mary J., Sarah E., Elvira B., John W., Nellie, James F., Newton.
MARSHALL, GEORGE-Coal operator, Sec. 13, P. O. Monroe. Was
born in Scotland, June 4, 1836. At the age of seventeen years he came to the United States, landing in New York City in 1854. From this place he came to Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin, thence to the Rocky Mountains where he engaged in prospecting and mining in Colorado. In 1863 he returned to Iowa and settled in Monroe, Jasper county, engaged in mining coal and for a tine was very sccessful. Selling out his interest in this he moved on his present farm, at the same time opening a coal bank which he has operated since that time. Mr. M. has had many ups and downs in life. but, as a rule, has been fairly successful in most of his enterprises. His farm is nearly all underlaid with coal of a very superior quality. On the twentyseventh of October, 1864, he married Miss Lyda M. Pendroy, a daughter of Jaines Pendroy, Esq. The family consists of eight children: Robert J., Mary S., George B., Emma G., Betsy R., Thomas E., Meek W. and J. B. H. MULLINS, G. L.-Farmer, stock-raiser and dealer, Sec. 23, P. O. Red Rock. Was born in Graves county, Kentucky, May 4, 1823. Came to Iowa with his parents in the fall of 1846, and engaged in agricultural parsuits with good success. In 1856 he went to Kansas, remaining four years. Moved back to Marion county in the fall of 1859, settling on the farm he now occupies which contains 240 acres of land well improved, with good buildings. He is one of the leading stock-feeders of his neighborhood. He married Miss Nancy Corson in February 1856, a native of Logan county, Ohio. By this union they have eleven children: Lora M., Edward, Ida Delbert, Mary B., Sherman, Willie, Thomas, Pleasant, Martin and Mintie
REED, MRS. S.-Sec. 20, P. O. Red Rock. Widow of John Reed. Was
born in Delaware county, Ohio. October 19, 1826, where she was raised and married John Reed, November 12, 1848. They moved to Iows in 1854 and settled in Marion county on a farm, which business she followed until his death, which occurred November 10, 1868, by accidently shooting himself. He left nine children: Mark L., C. M., S. H., Augustas J., Estella U. F., Lemm H., Mary A., Addie M., and Emma D. As an agriculturalist and stock-raiser he had few equals, and was an honest, upright citizen, highly respected by all who knew him.
RIDENOUR, S.-Teacher and tanner, Sec. 2, P. O. Monroe. Was born in Franklin county, Ohio, August 28, 1823, and was raised in Licking county, Ohio, on a farm. He received a liberal education in the schools of his native State. In 1864 he came to Iowa and settled in Marion county, where he has since been engaged in farming and teaching. Few men in the county have had more years of experience as an educator and with more satisfactory success. He has held various township offices, and as a mem ber of the board of county supervisors he made an efficient and faithful public servant. Was county superintendent of schools. He married Miss Louisa Shull, March 28, 1850. She was born in Franklin county, Ohio, and is the daughter of Solomon Shull, Esq. They have a family of six chil dren: Mary H., Marshal, Howard, Charles H., Martha J., and Ella M. They lost three.
HRADER, J. A.-Physician and surgeon. Was born in Washington county, Ohio, May 27, 1842. His youth was spent on a farm. He cominenced the study of medicine at Logan, Ohio, under the direction of Dr. H. J. Schruder. He took his course of lectures at the State University
of Iowa, graduating in the spring of 1865, then went to Kansas, locating at Auburn, where he coinmenced the practice of his profession, continuing for two years, then returned to Iowa, locating at Red Rock, Marion county, where he has succeeded in establishing a good practice. Has been twice married. Has three children: Fred L., Clinton V., Grace I.
HOMASON, RICHARD-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 10, P. O. Monroe. Was born in Highland county, Ohio, February 28, 1826, and was raised there. In 1855, he emigrated to Iowa, and now owns 540 acres of land. His educational advantages were very limited, but he has made the best use of his advantages and acquired by observation and experience good business qualifications. He came to this county in very limited circumstances and commenced digging coal, and after providing for his family had saved enough to purchase his first forty acres of land. He married Miss Sarah Roush, August 1, 1847. She was also born in High. land county, Ohio. They have a family of nine children: Lewis, William, John, Eliza J., Henry, Catharine, Benjamin F., Jaines F., and Lucy E. They lost one.
ILSON, GAVIN-Farmer, Sec. 4, P. O. Monroe. He was born in Lanark, Scotland, June 29, 1831. When seventeen years of age came to the United States, landing in the city of New York, stopping for a period of four months, then went to La Salle, Illinois, and engaged in mining coal. From here went to Wisconsin, thence to Monroe, Iowa, in 1860, and for a time operated a coal mine. Then moved on to his present farm. He owns 160 acres of land well improved, with good substantial buildings. He married Miss Jane Nemins March 6, 1853, a native of Scotland. The family consists of ten children: Margaret, Ann, Jenette, James H., J., Willie G., Dolla, John C., David C., Gevanie.
WILLIAMS, JOHN-Fartner and stock-raiser, Sec. 29, P. O. Red Rock. Among those who made their home in Marion county at an early day, is the subject of this sketch. He was born in Morgan county, Indiana, Feb. ruary 13, 1821. He owns a good farm of 243 acres and has made a specialty of raising fine horses and hogs, and his colts are among the finest in the county, and as a good agriculturist he is a success. He is fond of hunting and fishing, but not to the neglect of his farming interests. He married Miss Lucinda Mullins March 17, 1853. She is a native of Tennessee, and was born December 25, 1831. They have two children: Henry C. and James M.
́OUKUM, ISAAC-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 3, P. O. Monroe. Among the old settlers and pioneers of Marion county who have endured many hardships and privations, may be mentioned Mr. Yokum. He was born in Sangamon county, Illinois, January 1, 1822, and was raised on a farm. He removed to Marion county, Iowa, in the spring of 1849, and settled on the open prairie and commenced making his farm. He married Miss Catharine Wiseman, December 14, 1842. She is a native of Indiana. Born in 1822. They have ten children: Martha E., Francis H., Julia E., Mary J., Russell C., Louisa, Harriet C., William F., Isaac N., Linda E. and George T. Mr. Yokum commenced life very poor, but by energy and industry has accumulated a reasonable competence. He owns 644 acres of land, well improved, and has one of the best orchards in the township.
YOUNG, MARION-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 5, P. O. Monroe. Born in Ohio, October 13, 1837, where he was raised and educated.
In 1867 came to Marion county, Iowa, and settled on a farm. He is one of those keen, observing men. As an agriculturist he has been quite successful. He owns 130 acres of land, well improved. Fine stock is his specialty. On the 7th day of September, 1859, he married Miss Mary M. Gossett, a lady of refined tastes. By this marriage they have ten children: Americus, Louie A., Ellsworth, Joseph L., Ida E. B., Virda J., Nona V. Estella, Edna and Mary B.
YOWELL, J. V.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 27, P. O. Red Rock Was born in Culpepper county, Virginia, March 7, 1839, and moved with his parents to Ohio in the fall of 1852, and was raised on a farm. In 1855 he came to Marion county, Iowa, where he has since lived. He owns 200 acres of land, well improved, with good buildings. He married Miss Elizabeth Core, October 26, 1862. She is a native of Ross county, Ohio, and is the daughter of Isaac Core, Esq. They have eight children: Lou. E, Reuben E., Carrie M., Minnie L., Jasper I. and Walter. Lost four.
Organization and Name-Burying-grounds-Town of Bennington-Perryville StatisticsBiographical.
ORGANIZATION AND NAME.
AT a session of the county commissioner's court, January 6, 1847, it was ordered that township 77, range 21, be called Perry. This name was in honor of Commodore Perry, of the Lake Erie victory notoriety. It was suggested by some of the citizens that it should be called Cincinnati, but this name was not adhered to after the township was organized.
As above defined it included all of the present township of Perry and all that of Swan, except two sections and four half sections belonging to township 76, range 21, since added to Swan. The place of holding elections was at the house of William Markley.
At this election about fourteen votes were cast, and Dan. Kiger and Hezekiah Gay were elected justices; James M. Brous and Joshua Linsey, constables; Asa Hughes and Joshua Linsey, trustees; and James M. Brons, clerk. The first precinct election was held at the house of Asa Hughes, April 7, 1846, 13 votes cast.
This and the next election were held north of the river, and the two following south of it; but the flood of 1851 caused a dissatisfaction among the people, owing to the inconvenience of crossing the river, and so, at the July session of the commissioner's court, 1852, it was ordered that that portion of township 77, range 21, north of the Des Moines River, constitute the township of Perry. Elections to be held at the town of Bennington. At this election Harrison Freel was elected justice, but we have no record of any other officers.
Perry is the northwest corner township of the county, and is bounded on the north by Jasper county, on the east by Red Rock, on the south by Swan, with the Des Moines River as its boundary line, and on the west by Warren and Polk counties.
The township is mostly timbered, and, with the exceptions of the bottom
lands on the river, somewhat hilly. Coal is abundant along the north bank of the Des Moines River, and on the small streams. It is the smallest, both in area and population, in the county, having an area of 7,500 acres, and population of 434. The Des Moines River forms the entire southern boundary, and Walnut Creek flows in a southeasterly direction through the eastern part of the township.
The value of the real estate is estimated at $43,753, and the personalty at $13,086.
There are 195 cattle, 207 sheep, 183 horses and 551 swine. There are four saw-mills, four burying-grounds, four school-houses and four road districts.
The present officers of the township are as follows:
Justices-Wm. J. Hughes and Wm. Gregory.
Trustees-E. N. Norris, James Crabb and Wm. Cambridge.
Perry township being a rough, timbered region, wild game was quite plentiful at an early date, and even within the past few years wild cats and lynxes have existed there. We may relate a little wild cat adventure, of which J. M. Brous was the hero. It occurred in the spring of 1846, when Mr. B. was employed in making rails some distance from his house. Observing a large elm stump, about twenty feet high, with a hole in it near the ground, he incautiously put his head in it to see what discoveries he could make. And the discovery he did make caused him withdraw his countenance as speedily as possible; for, within a very short distance of it was a great mother wild cat and her three kittens. Mr. B. had no gun, so
he closed the hole securely, went for help, and soon the old cat was ousted from her den, killed by dogs, and the kittens captured. After being retained a short time they were not deemed a safe breed to adopt as a part of the domestic circle, and were dispatched.
The first preacher of the gospel that labored in this township was a Rev. Mr. Kline, of the M. E. Church. He was succeeded by the Rev. Mr. Rainer of the same denomination.
The first person that taught school was Patience Drouillard, at her own house, in 1850. She had from fifteen to twenty scholars. The next school was taught by James M. Brous, near his present residence. He had an at
tendance of from twenty to thirty scholars.
The largest burying ground in Perry township is located in section 1, near the house of Paul Winschel, and is known as the "Cowman" Burying ground. It was first used about thirty years ago, and now contains as many as seventy-five graves.
Another place for burial is found in section 15, containing about twentyfive graves. It is called the "Hughes" burial ground.
A third in section 11 called the " Donahoo" ground and contains about fourteen graves.
A fourth containing six graves in section 2, and belonging to the "Wagner" family.