« PředchozíPokračovat »
In 1879 the valuation was: Real estate ....
$ 203,774 Personalty ..
53,833 Total ..
$257,607 The population in 1870 was 1,332; in 1875 it was 1,281; in 1880 there were inhabitants to the number of 1,131.
ville, Pennsylvania, August 13, 1846. Moved with his parents to [owa, in 1864, commenced the study of piedicine under the direction of Dr. Wm. Crowder, of Springfield, Keokuk county, an old school practioner, graduating at the State University, in the spring of 1875, and came to Atica, where he has established a large practice, and has built up for himself an enviable reputation. On the twentieth day of May, 1876, he married Miss Loice Wightman, a lady of culture, and refined domestic habits. She is a native of Illinois, born in McLean county, July 3d, 1852. They have three children: Estella M., Harry C. and Charley.
BUZARD, SAMUEL-Physician and surgeon, Attica. Born in West Virginia, October first, 1842. At the breaking out of the Rebellion he left bis native State, returning in 1866-remaining three years, engaged in teaching school; then went to Philadelphia University, where he commenced the study of medicine, and graduated in the spring of 1871. Came to Iowa in the same year; located at Eldorado, Monroe county, and commenced the practice of his profession, and in 1875 to Attica, where he has since been engaged, practicing with considerable success. He married Miss Sarah F. Morrison, September twenty-second, 1870. She is a native of the same State as her husband, and a lady of refinement, the daughter of Thomus Morrison, Esq. By this union they have five children: Iberi Ann, Islenaich, Orena Iona, Oletia Venza and Ovaca R.
33, a native of Ohio, and born in Monroe county, or the twenty-fourth day of May, 1817. He was taken by his parents when quite young to Indiana, where he resided until five years old, then einigrated to Montgomery county, remaining until 1844; emigrated to Iowa, and located in Ma
rion county, entering his land from .the government. The hardships and vations he endured were many. He married Miss Eliza Stover, Febri twenty-third, 1837. She was a native of Highland county, Ohio; died a 1860, leaving four children. His second marriage occurred in 1861, 2 Mary A. McElerth, a native of Indiana, born in Shelby counts. The family consists of seven children: Rufus A., Quintillian, John H., Jams E., Ollie May, Wesley L. and Franklin 0. MAD
ADDY, THOMAS, Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 16, P. O. Attia
Born in Shelby county, Indiana, August 7, 1838. At the age : sixteen years moved with his parents to Marion county, Iowa, settling a the present farm, which contains 280 acres. Mr. Maddy is an industria enterprising citizen, highly respected and stands high in the estimatio o his neighbors for bonesty and fair dealing. He married Miss Harris Rogers on the 23d day of May, 1861. She is a native of Indiana and Te born in Jefferson county. They have six children: F. A., W. G., Samte F., Augustus L., Annie R. and Clare A. MADDY, JAMES-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 7, P. O. Attie —
, Among the prominent farmers of Marion county, who have been close identified with the interest of this township, may be mentioned Mr. Madds He was born in Rush county, Indiana, on the twenty-fourth day of Oet ber, 1824, and when quite young moved with his parents to Shelby County then to Marion county, Iowa, in the spring of 1856, and was raised a fur
He owns 300 acres of land, well improved, with substantial building He is a mild and unassuming man; kind and generous as a neighbor, and hospitable to all. He married Miss Margaret J. McIlrath, January twent; ninth, 1846. She is a native of Pennsylvania, and by this union they have five children: John T., Charles W., James N. and G. L. Lost four.
MARK, M. M.--Farmer, Sec. 11, P. 0. Attica. Was born in Favette county, Ohio, in 1814, and in 1839 removed to Harrison county, Missouri and after a residence of six years returned to Ohio and lived there og year, and in 1846 came to this county and now owns a farm of seventy-sit
He is one of the first settlers of the county and experienced all the hardships of a frontier life, and the young and rising generation have bet a faint idea of what they are indebted to such sturdy pioneers as Mr. Mart He married Miss Letitia Feagins in 1836. She was born in Ohio. They have three children living: Henry H., E. H. and J. F. Have lost serer
MARK, JOHN-Merchant, Attica. Was born in Fayette county, Ohio. November 28, 1822, and was raised and educated there. His early life a that of a fariner boy. Vast and extensive unoccupied lands of Iowa offered new inducements to men of true courage and he turned his back on home In 1844 he made a prospecting tour through the West and was so favors bly impressed with the country and its superior advantages that he made his hone in Marion county in 1854, and engaged in agricultural pursuits following this successfully for a term of years. In 1874 he embarked in the mercantile business, which he has since followed, and has built an enviable reputation for honesty and fame which duly and justly merits the confidence and esteem in which he is held by his patrons. He married Miss Dorothy Coons on the 20th day of December, 1849. She is a native of New York, born in Columbia county, in 1828. By this union they had ten children: E. L., Margaret A., Aford H., Mary E., William, Minnie D. and Johu V. Lost three.
EIFERT, J. B.-Farmer and stock-dealer, Sec. 16, P. O. Attica.
Among the most prominent and successful stock-dealers of Indiana ownship may be mentioned Mr. Neifert. He was born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, on the 17th day of July, 1829, and was raised on a farm. Came to Marion county in the spring of 1857. His estate consists of 400
His buildings are first-class, indicating taste and good judgment. He is the architect of his own fortune, starting in life in ħumble circum3tances. Stock-raising is his specialty, and he is numbered among the largest feeders and shippers in the county. On the 22d day of January, 1852, he married Miss Sarah Aldenderfer, a native of Berks county, born in 1833. The fainily consists of eight children: Lydia, Sarah, Mary, John A., Ida, Chally and Annie L. Lost one. S HERWOOD, DANIEL-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 22, P. O. Attica.
Among the residents of Marion county who came here at an early day, and who have contributed a full share toward its growth and development, is the subject of this sketch. He was born in Guilford county, North Carolina, December 9, 1810, and when one year old was taken by his parents to Washington county, Indiana, where he was raised on a farin and received his education in the common schools. In 1847 he emigrated to Iowa and settled in Marion county, on the farm he now occupies, containing 3824 acres. He has held various township offices and he has represented the county in the General Asseinbly of the State Legislature. Few men have passed through life with less of ostentation or more satisfactory results. He has gained wealth and honor by pursuing a straightforward, true, honest and upright coiirse, and he has been eminently successful in all he has undertaken. He has been twice inarried; first, to Miss Annie Smith, in 1836, a native of Indiana. His second marriage occurred May 26, 1839, to Mrs. Julia M. Hazen, whose maiden name was Phelps. She was born in New York in 1808, and came with her parents to Indiana in 1860. This family consists of five children: Ann E., Francis H., William P., Nancy M. (now Mrs. Van Dyke) and Miranda (now Mrs. Harned, of Indianola). Lost three. One son, Jesse, enlisted in the late war and was killed at Helena, July 4, 1863. Mrs. Sherwood was previously married to Francis Hazen, who died of cholera in 1833. She has by this marriage one daughter living (now Mrs. Rutherford).
The Township Described-Coal-Organization and Early History–Hamilton-Marysville
LIBERTY township occupies the southeast corner of Marion county, aud corresponds with township 74, range 18. It is bounded on the north by Clay, on the west by Indiana township, on the south by Monroe county, and on the east by Mabaska.
The surface of the township is somewhat diversified, being composed partly of what was once beautiful, level and gently undulating prairie, but which is now under a good state of cultivation; but the greater part was originally covered with a fine growth of timber, and is more broken. Much of this has also been cleared away and the land brought under cultivation, and there are, in fact, but few acres in the township but may be cultivated successfully. The principal water-courses are North and Sonth Ceds They flow from the southwest, entering the township near the soothes corner, and leaving it near the northeast corner.
These streains drain a large scope of country, each having a length di least thirty miles before entering the township. They were formerly nz used for milling purposes, but at present there is not a single dam to inz rupt the onward flow of the water. The banks of these streams are lite with a heavy growth of timber, which at places extends entirely across o bottoins, which vary in width from only a few feet to a mile, and often the timber extends to the uplands, this being the case especially between 3 two Cedars, as also in the entire western and southern portions of the tow ship. The timber on the bottom lands is mostly elm, bur-oak, red-oak 22. basswood; on the aplands, white-oak, red-oak and hickory.
It is the general opinion of persons who have given the matter the attention that until the recent raids on the timber for railroad ties growth has equalled what has been used; that the ravages of the who man’s ax have been no more detrimental to its growth than were those the Indians, fires, etc.
The greater portion of the soil cannot be surpassed for its fertili: especially in the bottom lands, and that which was formerly prairie. The crops usually cultivated are corn, wheat, rye and oats.
The grase do well; timothy and clover producing abundant crops. Corn ordinar) produces from fifty to sixty bushels per acre.
The opinion originally prevailed among the settlers that it would be poor fruit country, but experience proves on the contrary that it is we adapted for that purpose. Apples, plums, apricots and cherries yields
. abundant crop.
The chief occupation of the inhabitants is farming, and the principe exports are hogs, cattle and flour.
The greatest natural advantage possessed by the township consists in the wealth underlying its surface in the shape of coal. Coal beds underlie the surface of the whole township, and range in thickness from three to twelne feet. The coal is of the bituminous variety, and is pronounced as good * any in the State. There have been opened in the township from thirty? titty different banks, many of which, however, have been only partially 253 occasionally worked. What the township needs is better railroad cormunication as under present circumstances coal at the mines is worth boi about five cents per bushel.
ORGANIZATION AND EARLY HISTORY.
This township was the first one organized, or declared a township, by the board of county commissioners, the date of this transaction being April 15. 1846. During the fall of that year the first election was held at the house of Rhoderick Peck, on the northeast quarter of section nine. But there is no preserved record of this election, and any particulars relating to it are not remembered. The earliest one on record took place on the first day of April, 1850, at the residence of Martin Neel, about a mile east of where Marysville now is. At this election thirty-one votes were cast, and the ollowing named persons elected: Andrew McGrader and Isaac Willsey, onstables; Daniel Sampson, Isaac Willsey and Wm. H. Brobst, trustees; oseph Brobst, clerk, and Horace Lyman, treasurer.
The names of most of those who caine and settled in the township at an arlier date, are Horace Lyman, Stanford Doud, Martin Neel, David Hay. naker, Silas Brown, Benj. Spilman, David Gushwa, Lewis Jones, Jacob Iendricks and Andrew McGrnder, in 1843; Thurston Day and Wm. imms, in 1844; James Ronsseau and Isaac Willsey, in 1845; and Wm. Bridges and H. H. Mitchell, in 1846.
Martin Neel was a native of Kentucky. At precisely what date he setled in Liberty is not known, but it is supposed by the oldest inhabitante o have been previons to the extinction of the Indian title. He made his laim and place of residence on Cedar bottom, not far from the present site f Marysville.
During his early residence bere Mr. Neel suffered inany of the privations ncident to pioneer life. At one time it was found necessary for him to go o Burlington for a short time, to work for money to purchase such articles s were sorely needed, leaving his wife and two children in their isolated, vilderness home, without any known neighbors within a distance of many niles, except Indians.
In 1845 Benjamin Spillman, living in the southwestern part of the townhip, contrived and erected a temporary hand-unill for grinding corn. It consisted of a couple of native stones dressed to a suitable size and smoothless, placed one upon the other in the ordinary way, and so fastened that he open one could be turned by a crank, with one hand, while with the »ther the operator could feed it, throwing in a few grains at each revoluion. It had the capacity of grinding tive or six bushels of corn per day, ind was patronized by quite a number of customers, each of whom was his wn miller. Sometimes several would be waiting, each for his turn, even when that consisted of only a few messes.
When Haymakers and others began to supply the demand for breadstuff, such temporary inake-shifts as the one just described, were laid away as fuperannuated machinery, as water-mills were thrown into disuse by the inCroduction of steam-power.
The first post.office established in this township was called Elm Grove, a place still known by that name. The precise date of its establishment we have not been able to ascertain, but it must have been some time in 1845 ɔr 1846. James Rousseau was postmaster.
The first school was taught by David Haymaker, in the winter of 1846-7, in a clain pen owned by Lyman M. Haymaker, near their mill.
The first organized school district was what is now No. 7. A hewed log house was built for school purposes, and a young man named Turk first occupied it as a teacher.
As in all parts of the county claim difficulties were not uncommon, we will record one instance. A man nained Baker came into the neighborhood of where Hamilton now is, and entered soine land legally claimed by Jacob Hendicks. As it happened, there was a quantity of rails on the land just entered, belonging to Hendricks. One night these rails were all moved and piled on the opposite side of the line. At this time Baker was absent, but his return was looked for with much interest by Jacob and his friends; and when lie came they paid their respects en masse, and induced hiin to deed the land to Jacob without any needless delay.