Obrázky stránek
PDF
ePub

successfully. The principal water-courses are North and South Cedr They flow from the southwest, entering the township near the southwe corner, and leaving it near the northeast corner.

These streams drain a large scope of country, each having a length of least thirty miles before entering the township. They were formerly m used for milling purposes, but at present there is not a single dam to in rupt the onward flow of the water. The banks of these streams are liza with a heavy growth of timber, which at places extends entirely across bottoms, which vary in width from only a few feet to a mile, and often t timber extends to the uplands, this being the case especially between two Cedars, as also in the entire western and southern portions of the tow ship. The timber on the bottom lands is mostly elm, bur-oak, red-oak basswood; on the uplands, white-oak, red-oak and hickory.

It is the general opinion of persons who have given the matter the attention that until the recent raids on the timber for railroad ties à growth has equalled what has been used: that the ravages of the wh man's ax have been no more detrimental to its growth than were those the Indians, fires, etc.

The greater portion of the soil cannot be surpassed for its fertili especially in the bottom lands, and that which was formerly prairie.

The crops usually cultivated are corn, wheat, rye and oats. The gras do well; timothy and clover producing abundant crops. Corn ordinar produces from fifty to sixty bushels per acre.

The opinion originally prevailed among the settlers that it would be poor fruit country, but experience proves on the contrary that it is we adapted for that purpose. Apples, plums, apricots and cherries yields abundant crop.

The chief occupation of the inhabitants is farming, and the principa exports are hogs, cattle and flour.

COAL.

The greatest natural advantage possessed by the township consists in the wealth underlying its surface in the shape of coal. Coal beds underlie the surface of the whole township, and range in thickness from three to twel feet. The coal is of the bituminous variety, and is pronounced as good any in the State. There have been opened in the township from thirty fifty different banks, many of which, however, have been only partially an occasionally worked. What the township needs is better railroad com munication as under present circumstances coal at the mines is worth bai about five cents per bushel.

ORGANIZATION AND EARLY HISTORY.

This township was the first one organized, or declared a township, by the board of county commissioners, the date of this transaction being April 15. 1846. During the fall of that year the first election was held at the house of Rhoderick Peck, on the northeast quarter of section nine. But there is no preserved record of this election, and any particulars relating to it are not remembered. The earliest one on record took place on the first day of April, 1850, at the residence of Martin Neel, about a mile east of where Marysville now is. At this election thirty-one votes were cast, and the

llowing named persons elected: Andrew McGruder and Isaac Willsey, nstables; Daniel Sampson, Isaac Willsey and Wm. H. Brobst, trustees; >seph Brobst, clerk, and Horace Lyman, treasurer.

The names of most of those who came and settled in the township at an rlier date, are Horace Lyman, Stanford Doud, Martin Neel, David Hayaker, Silas Brown, Benj. Spilman, David Gushwa, Lewis Jones, Jacob endricks and Andrew McGruder, in 1843; Thurston Day and Wm. mms, in 1844; James Rousseau and Isaac Willsey, in 1845; and Wm. ridges and H. H. Mitchell, in 1846.

Martin Neel was a native of Kentucky. At precisely what date he seted in Liberty is not known, but it is supposed by the oldest inhabitante have been previous to the extinction of the Indian title. He made his aim and place of residence on Cedar bottom, not far from the present site f Marysville.

During his early residence here Mr. Neel suffered many of the privations cident to pioneer life. At one time it was found necessary for him to go > Burlington for a short time, to work for money to purchase such articles 3 were sorely needed, leaving his wife and two children in their isolated, ilderness home, without any known neighbors within a distance of many iles, except Indians.

It

In 1845 Benjamin Spillman, living in the southwestern part of the townhip, contrived and erected a temporary hand-inill for grinding corn. onsisted of a couple of native stones dressed to a suitable size and smoothess, placed one upon the other in the ordinary way, and so fastened that The open one could be turned by a crank, with one hand, while with the ther the operator could feed it, throwing in a few grains at each revoluion. It had the capacity of grinding five or six bushels of corn per day, nd was patronized by quite a number of customers, each of whom was his wn miller. Sometimes several would be waiting, each for his turn, even vhen that consisted of only a few messes.

When Haymakers and others began to supply the demand for breadstuff, uch temporary make-shifts as the one just described, were laid away as uperannuated machinery, as water-mills were thrown into disuse by the inroduction of steam-power.

The first post-office established in this township was called Elm Grove, a place still known by that name. The precise date of its establishment we have not been able to ascertain, but it must have been some time in 1845 or 1846. James Rousseau was postmaster.

The first school was taught by David Haymaker, in the winter of 1846-7, in a claim pen owned by Lyman M. Haymaker, near their mill.

The first organized school district was what is now No. 7. A hewed log house was built for school purposes, and a young man named Turk first oc cupied it as a teacher.

As in all parts of the county claim difficulties were not uncommon, we will record one instance. A man named Baker came into the neighborhood of where Hamilton now is, and entered some land legally claimed by Jacob Hendicks. As it happened, there was a quantity of rails on the land just entered, belonging to Hendricks. One night these rails were all moved and piled on the opposite side of the line. At this time Baker was absent, but his return was looked for with much interest by Jacob and his friends; and when he came they paid their respects en masse, and induced him to deed the land to Jacob without any needless delay.

HAMILTON.

The village of Hamilton, occupying the southwest quarter of the north west quarter of section 35, was laid out by Stanford Dond, surveyor, assista by Jacob Hendricks and another individual whose name is not remer bered, as chain-carriers, June 1 and 2, 1849. Proprietors, Jacob Hendrick Isaac Willsey, Andrew McGruder, John Stilwell, H. H. Mitchell and Mr tin Neel. After the town was platted into six blocks the proprietors dra cuts for the choice of lots.

The first house was built during the following winter, by Nathan Linn. It was a double log cabin, and the foundation was laid three above the ground on the compact snow that bore up the entire structur till the first thaw softened the underpinning and gradually let it down t earth.

The first post-office was kept by Isaac Willsey.

The first goods were sold by Linn & Smith, consisting of grocers -which term included whisky.

The first hotel was kept by Henry Edwards.

Hamilton has a population of about 200.

It contains three stores of general merchandise, two hardware stores, oce hotel, depot and post-office. There is also a church and a lodge of Odd Fe lows. This lodge, No. 78, was organized August 3, 1855. The following were the first members: H. Glenn, Dr. French, H. B. Ely, B. F. Spillma and H. Baseter. Dr. French was the first N. G. There are now forty-fir members.

MARYSVILLE.

Marysville is situated on the north bank of Cedar Creek.

It was laid out in February, 1857, on land then owned by Josiah and Joseph Brobs The first house was built by Jonathan Wilder. It was a frame building and still stands. The second was by Jacob Stambach, and is now known a the old tavern stand. Andrew Kerr sold the first goods. Peter Klein w the first postmaster, and the post-office was then called Ely. His successor was J. B. Ely.

For some years Marysville remained in a partially dormant condition. but since the discovery of vast quantities of coal lands in its neighborhood the place has had an upward tendency in the way of enterprise, and is now rapidly building up. The most prominent building in the place is a large woolen factory, by Welch & Co., erected in 1872. There is also a week? newspaper published here cailed the Marysville Miner, and to its descrip tions of the country, advertisements, and stirring appeals, much of the pros perity of the town may be attìbuted.

The Miner was first issued February seventh, 1871 by a company, with J. W. Ragsdale as editor, from a press brought from Albia, Monroe county. In his salutatory the editor said: "As to politics, we are personally Republican, but this paper shall be independent, outspoken, and ever ready to condemn that which we deem to be wrong, even though it be in high places As to making fair promises, we will not. We can only say to our readers that we will try to do our duty, and that we expect them to do the same." With the next issue of the paper D. C. Ely took editorial charge of it. In his bow to the public he says: "As stated in the salutatory, this paper shall be neutral in politics, and devoted to the best interests of this section.

by giving information in regard to our natural advantages over our sister towns."

The present publisher and proprietor of the Miner, is C. T. McConnell, under whose able and energetic management the paper continues to maintain its former reputation for enterprise and sprightliness.

Marysville has been incorporated under the general laws of the State, and has a full corps of municipal officers. The present officers are as follows:

Mayor--Jacob Metz.
Recorder-Henry Metz.

Assessor-A. A. Hickox.
Treasurer-John Metz.

Trustees-H. A. Owens, D. Netherow, T. C. Hetherington, J. Yenser and M. Waller.

Marshall-W. A. Buchanan.

The M. E. Church of Marysville, was organized in 1867. Dr. Beal and wife, M. M. Gortner and wife, R. S. Robinson and wife were the first members. In 1874 a frame church building was erected, at a cost of $2,175.00; it was dedicated September sixth 1874, by Bishop Gilbert Haven. The present membership is twenty-three.

Marysville Lodge, I. O. O. F., No. 307, was organized February eighth, 1875. The charter members were: John Metz, "N. G."; W. C Pike, "V. G."; J. E. Groom, "secretary"; Nelson Hetherington, "treasurer"; J. D. Anderson, “I. G." Regular meetings every Saturday evening. They have a present membership of forty.

The Masonic Lodge of Marysville, named Gavel Lodge, No. 229, was organized under the dispensation of the Grand Lodge of Iowa, February 13, 1868, with the following officers: W. E. Wright, W. M.; O. B. Lyman, S. | W.; H. S. Knight, J. W.; Jacob Metz, secretary; J. B. Ely, S. D.; D. C. Ely, J. D.; R. K. Kline, T. Their present membership is 34; charter members eight; number demitted, twenty-four; died, two. Regular monthly ineetings are held Thursday evening on or before full moon in each month.

The population of Marysville is about two hundred; and besides the newspaper, churches, lodges and post-office, has three stores of general merchandise, one hotel, two furniture stores, one drug store, one livery stable, one hardware store where agricultural implements are sold, and two steam-mills.

BUSSEY.

Bussey was laid out in July, 1875. It is located on the line of the A. K. & D. R. R., and was named after Mr. Bussey of mill-fame. It has a population of about one hundred, and contains four stores of general merchandise, one drug store, lumber yard, warehouse, depot and post-office.

BIOGRAPHICAL.

BROBST, J. R. -Attorney at law, notary public and real estate agent, Marysville. Was born in Marion county, the date of his birth being February 3, 1850. He enjoyed the advantages of the schools of Knoxville, and commenced the study of law. After the usual course he commenced practicing came to Marysville and located. He is a young man of good business abil. ity and fine talents, and stands high among men of his profession. The

citizens of Marysville and community consider his services indispensable. His marriage was at Marshalltown, November 1, 1876, to Miss Bell Thor of that city, Rev. J. Hurd performing the ceremony. Their family cosists of one child, Eva M.

BUSSEY, J.-Lumber and grain-dealer. Came to this township in the fall of 1867, and bought the tract of land on which Bussey was afterwa built, and from whom it received its name. He was born in Greene count Pennsylvania, August 8, 1820, where he was raised and lived until 186 when he came to Iowa and settled on the place he now occupies. He ** married to Miss Isabelle Jimeson. They have eight children, all of whet are living, except one. Their names are: John J., Mary A., Louisa, Me shall, Alfred C., Edward L., James A. and Isabelle A. He has over 50 acres of land in different parts of the township, and also a large number cattle, hogs and horses.

LEMONS, G. W.-Furniture-dealer and undertaker, Marysville. W1⁄2 born July 2, 1835, in Licking county, Ohio, where he was raised, e ucated, and lived until eighteen years of age. In the year 1853 he came Marion county, Iowa. After farming for a few years he commenced is present business. He was married to Miss Fannie Bailey May 29, 1863, Marion county, Iowa, by Rev. J. Hill. They have five children: Alber Etta, Victoria, Jessie and Caroline.

COLE, D. L.-Physician and surgeon, Bussey. This prominent M. D was born August 12, 1848, in Ashland county, Ohio. Came with bi parents to Mahaska county, Iowa, where he received his primary education, after which he took a couse in the college at Pella. He then took a therough course at the Keokuk Medical College. Came to Bussey in 1876. He was married to Miss Bell Bussey, June 13, 1880, at Bussey, at the res dence of the bride's father by the Rev. J. H. Hurd.

DAY

AVIS, J. B. Farmer, Sec. 7, P. O. Marysville. Was born April 14 1819, in Kentucky and made that place his home until 183 when he removed to Illinois. There he resided until 1845, an then came to this county, locating where he now lives. He is the owner 250 acres of good land, well cultivated Was married in Brown county Illinois, September 21, 1843, to Miss Nancy Bridges, by James Harper Esq. Their family consists of ten children: Miranda G., Augustus A. William L., Orland B., John F., James B., Thompson B., Julia S., Narey A. and Charles T.

DOUD S.--Farmer, Sec. 35, P. O. Bussey. Was born in Licking county. Ohio, April 7, 1820, where he lived until twenty-five years of age: then came to Marion county in 1846. He married Miss Martha A. Darval, whe died September 7, 1855. He was married the second time to Mrs. Eliz Burton, July 31, 1861. He has six children: Francis B., Andrew F., Mar cus D., William W., Clement B. and Viola L.

ALLIS, J. W.-Miller, Bussey. Was born November 28, 1828, in

was raised

to Mahaska county, Iowa, in the fall of 1865, and resided there eight years. In 1873 came to Marion county and commenced the milling business. His inill was built expressly for custom work. It has two run of stones, with a capacity of grinding about 100 bushels per day. He married Miss Amelia Claybaugh, in March, 1864. They have four children: Morris, Eugene, Benjamin and Isaac.

FOSHIER, C. B.-Machinist, builder and contractor, Marysville. Was

« PředchozíPokračovat »