« PředchozíPokračovat »
. J. (born February 22, 1861), Wm. McC. (born June 22, 1862), Josephine . (born March 1, 1866), Chas. D. (born May 31, 1872), Samuel E. (born May 17, 1876). Have lost two: Oliver P. and Mary E.
TITTSWORTH, D.-Farmer and stock-raiser. Is a native of Fayette
county, Ohio, and was born September 16, 1837. Spent his boyhood ays in his native county until the age of sixteen. Came to Marion ounty, Iowa, in the fall of 1855, and purchased the farm on which he now ives which contains 355 acres. He has the finest mansion in his township which adds much to the appearance of a home. He has recently purchased ome of the finest stock bred in Kentucky. He was married to Miss Elizbeth Lenty, a native of Ross county, Ohio, November 14, 1862. She was orn August 16, 1843. They have five children: Franklin, John L., Arhie. Mary, Annie and Amos.
STORTES, ANDREW-Retired farmer, Sec. 32, P. O. Pleasantville. One of the oldest men and a pioneer settler of Marion county. Was born n Washington county, Pennsylvania, near Bedford Springs, September 16, 802, and when three years of age was taken to Wood county, Virginia. At the age of fifteen he was apprenticed to a woolen manufacturer and worked at the business seven years. He then removed to Steubenville, Ohio, where he worked at his trade one year, and then for several years folowing he worked in various cities and then engaged in farming in Wood county, Ohio. In 1837 he came to Iowa and settled in Burlington and made his home in and near this place for seven years and in 1844 came to Marion county and settled near Red Rock. The first year he lived here he went to Burlington to mill three times; the same year he had ten acres of corn, and while on one of his 'milling expeditions his wife gathered the corn. In 1848 he went to Oregon, and in 1849 to California where he was for a short time in the mines, and the same year returned to his home in Marion county via Panama. In 1853 he made a second move to California and lived there until 1856, and then returned to Marion county and purchased 600 acres of land and engaged in farming until 1870, then removed to Labette county, Kansas, and returned to this county in 1871, stopping six months in Henry county, Missouri. He now lives within one mile of where he first settled after coming to the county. He married Miss Margaret Rice of Washington county, Pennsylvania, April 14, 1826. She was born March 10, 1803. Having no children of their own they have raised five orphan children, four of whom are now living: Martha Butcher, Nancy Rice, John Stortes and Benton Stortes.
TETER, S. E.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 12, P. O. Knoxville. Was
born in Ross county, Ohio, May 1st, 1817. His father was an agriculturist in that State. In early life his vocation was that of a farmer, which he closely adhered to until he attained the age of twenty, receiving such benefits of the common schools of the county as his limited circumstances would permit. At the age of twenty he apprenticed himself to learn the gunsmith trade in Ross county, which he pursued with a considerable degree of success until 1845, when he started for Iowa. While the steamboat which contained his goods was ploughing up the Mississippi en-route to the Hawkeye State, the vessel and all his effects sank. Mr. T. was then a penniless man, having lost his all which amounted to $3,500. But he had started out to make a new home, and if his capital of cash was a loss he had a bank on, which to draw, willing head and hopeful heart, which has been the key to his success. Being among the first settlers, he had all the diffi
culties of a pioneer life to contend with which are incident to the ear settlement of a new country. Game was in abundance in the early days Marion county, and Mr. Teter had an opportunity to gratify a long songs for desire. He was the first justice of the peace in the township in whi he resides, and had the honor of having the now ex-Governor Stone plea his maiden case before him. His estate consists of 400 acres on which situated a brick mansion that will compare favorably with any in the tow ship. On the second day of May, 1843, Miss Eliza J. Lenty, a native of Res county, Ohio, became his wife. By this union they have eight childre five of whom are living: Walker, James L., Wilson, Samuel and Hannah J. Lost three. Mr. Teter is a Master mason of Oriential Lodge Numbe sixty-one.
Organization and Early History-Villages-Biographical.
THE first election in this township was held in 1848; there were abo forty votes cast. Warren D. Everett and Mr. Lowry were the first justice of the peace, and Andrew Hopkins was chosen clerk.
On the fourth of July, 1848, township 76, range 19, was declared a township to be known as Polk, thus dating the beginning of its municipal history on the seventy-second aniversary of our national independence The place of holding elections was appointed to be at the house of Warre D. Everett. The formation of this township took that part of Red Rocki township 76, range 19, lying north of the Des Moines River.
The formation of this township was in opposition to a remonstrance d Josiah Bullington and others; so, on the third of October, of the same yes in response to a petition of Jeremiah Shepperd and others, the whole tow ship was attached to Knoxville. But it appears that the court short afterward, in defining the boundaries of the township, recognized the leg existence of Polk by describing it as all of township 76, range 19, except the two southern tiers of sections, and all of township 76, range 20. B on the eighth of January, 1850, township 76, range 20 was struck off, thes limiting the townsphip to the four tiers of sections, which is as it now exists.
Polk is bounded on the north by Summit, on the east by Lake Prairie and Clay, on the south by Knoxville, and on the west by Union. The Des Moines and Whitebreast rivers run through the township; which, being mostly within the margins of these streams is well timbered and uneven The names of those who settled within the limits of Polk township were the Stevensons, the Billaps, George Wilson, M. S. Morris, the first justice of the peace within the present limits of the township before its organiza tion; Richard R. Watts, Alexander Caton, Mordecai Yearns and Andrew Stortes. These all settled on the north side of the river in 1843, except Watts, who settled near where Coalport now is. John Babcock, Warren D., Frank and John Everett, Andrew, George and William Karr and Robert Ethrington settled in the township at later dates, from 1845 to 1847. But few of these still live in the county.
The first school was taught by an Englishman, in a small log house built for that purpose, near the creek, at the head of White Breast Prairie, in
348 or 1849. John Everett next taught in the same house. This little g school-house also served the purpose of a church occasionally, where Tarren D. Everett, Baptist, and John Demoss, United Brethren, preached ait. The flood of 1851, a never-to-be-forgotten event, as we have already een, swept the house away; and not far from where it stood, but above igh water mark, now stands a well-finished frame building large enough or any ordinary use in a country district.
. W. D. Everett, James Karr and Mike Morris erected the first saw-mill 1850, being a temporary affair, driven by horse-power. It stood near ne south bank of the river.
Richard R. Watts was a native of Ohio, where he was born in 1815, oved to Indiana in 1820; to Illinois in 1830; to Jefferson county, Iowa, in 842, and from thence to Marion county in the spring of 1843, and settled ear the present site of Coalport. During his early residence here he and is family suffered some of the privations common to the times. During ne winter they were dependent upon the services of a coffee-mill for their aily bread, and with it they ground ten bushels of buckwheat that season. John Babcock was also a native of Ohio. When he settled here his amily consisted of a wife and seven children, mostly girls. He was a Morhon in faith, and his wife was a member of that church. At one time uring a period of about six weeks, his family was reduced to the verge of tarvation, subsisting almost entirely on nettles boiled for greens. On rare ccasions they obtained a piece of corn-bread from Mike Morris. This ind of diet produced a change in their complexions from a natural to a lark, greenish hue, suggestive of poor health.
There were two villages laid out in this township, but they were never mproved to any extent. The first is Rousseau, on the south bank of the iver, in section 9. It was located by Wm. Kent, and surveyed by James Rousseau, April 25, 1850, and named for him. Here a pretended effort was once made to erect a dam and lock in the great visionary enterprise of mproving the navigation of the Des Moines River.
Coalport is located on section 14, at the point of a large bend in the river, on the south side. It was laid out by Wm. Welch, May 11, 1857, and so named on account of the vast quantity and superior quality of coal in its vicinity.
There was a post-office located at Rousseau, August 12, 1873, with J. A. Walker, postmaster. There is also a good grist-mill, store of general merchandise and ferry across the Des Moines River. Mr. Walker, besides being postmaster, manages the store and operates the ferry.
There is a Baptist Church at Coal Ridge, Sec. 23. This small church was built in 1873 at a cost of $600. The following preachers have served the church: Rev. E. H. Scarff, William Elliott, T. J. Arnold, O. Sperry, L. Fosdick. The most of their supply came from Pella. No services at pres
The population in 1875, was 879: in 1880, 735.
AMSBERRY, M. J. Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 15, P. O. Knoxville.
Was born on the fifteenth of February, 1837, in Mason county, West
Virginia and was there raised and received an education in the commen schools of that county. He spent his boyhood days with his father on the farm and in his father's tanyard. He came to this county in the spring d 1857. He owns 142 acres of land. He has held various township office He married Miss Adeline Greenlee, in 1863. She is a native of Virgini and was born in 1836. By this union they have six children: Warren T. Elbert S., Edna H., Jessie M., Roy and Rolla (twins). Himself and wit are members of the Baptist Church of Coal Ridge.
ERG, CORNELIUS VAN DEN-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 11, P. Q. Pella. Was born November 13, 1824, in South Holland. Was ther raised on a farın and received an education in the schools of that country At the age of twenty-two he came to this country, in 1847 with the not Holland colony. His parents were also members of the same colony. They settled in Lake Prairie township, and he is one of Marion county's successt farmers. He owns 400 acres of land, about 200 of which are under good cultivation; 100 hundred acres in pasture lands, and the rest in timber land, and has his farm well stocked. He married Miss Cornelia Vanhamert o the fifth of October, 1856. She is also a native of Holland, and was bea in the province of Gelderland. By this union they have three children: Celia (now Mrs Vermers), Cornelius and Peter. Lost three. In coming to this country he crossed the ocean in the sail vessel De Maastrown, com manded by Capt. Scott. Landed at Baltimore, and came from there to this county. Being one of the first settlers here he has endured many hardships and it is but just that he should now enjoy the benefits of his competency. BRUCE, JACOB-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 18, P. O. Knoxville Was born April 3, 1821, in Hardy county, Virginia, and resided there until thirteen years of age, then emigrated to Ross county, Ohi with his parents, where he resided until 1848. He spent his youthful year on a farm and acquired an education in the common schools. At the are of eighteen years he learned the distilling business, but he has not worked at it it much during his life. From Ohio he emigrated to Fulton county, Illinois, where he spent one year, came to Iowa in 1849 and settled in this county on a claim. In 1858 he sold his claim and bought the land on which he now resides. He owns 320 acres of fine farm land, rolling ground, which he has good and comfortable buildings. He married Miss Mary J. Crozier in November, 1843, a native of Ohio, born August 26, 1823. By this union they have ten children living: H. S., George, Eliza, Jureldine Rosetta, Mary L., Nancy D., Sarah M. and James McLellan (twins), and Ma tha M. Lost one, Minerva J. They also have a nephew living with them, Harvey Columbus, son of Minerva J. In 1860 Mr. Bruce took a trip to Colorado and engaged in farming and dairying. In 1866 he returned and settled on his old home. Mr. Bruce had but seventy-five cents in his pocke when he landed here. He worked for thirty-seven and one-half cents a day, and his wife would yoke up the oxen and go to the timber and haul wood. She also helped to cut brush and clear out the farm. They are now very comfortably located, and are among the best respected citizens of the county.
ROZIER, ROBERT-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 17, P. O. Rous seau. Was born February 28, 1828, in Ross county, Ohio. Was raised there on a farm and received an education in the common schools of that place. He emigrated to Fulton county, Illinois, where he lived one year, then came to this county in the fall of 1849, and settled where he
ow lives. He first built a cabin on his claim and lived there until 1852. He then took his family and started across the plains in one of those noted rairie schooners, with an ox team. He spent four years among the mines f California, then came back by way of the Isthmus and settled on his old laim, and he has made this his home since, although he has been four imes to Colorado since then. He now owns a fine farm of 800 acres. He as been a member of the county board of supervisors two terms and ustice of the peace several terins. He married Miss Nancy Ward in 1848. She was born in Ohio in 1829. By this union they have six children: Thornton, Josephine, John, James, Newton and Edwin. Lost, two. `LLIOTT, WILLIAM M.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 8, P. O. Rousseau. Among the pioneers of this county, and one of the most prominent, s the subject of our sketch. He is a native of Barren county, Kentucky, and was born on the 15th day of March, 1825.. He spent his boyhood days on a farm. At the age of nineteen he commenced to learn the milling business. Continued therein three years and then took up agriculture. He came to this county in the fall of 1854, and settled in Whitebreast, in this ownship. In 1865 he drove a herd of cattle across the country to Pike's Peak and sold them to the miners for gold-dust. In October, 1880, he noved on the farm where he now resides. He owns 481 acres of well imɔroved land, on which he has good and comfortable buildings. He commenced life with limited means and has been the architect of his >wn fortune. In his manner he is kind and genial and has won the respect of a large number of friends. Although he has never been an aspirant for office, he has held many of the township offices, always filling them faithfully. He married Miss Mary Underwood in August, 1849, a native of Kentucky. She was born July 21, 1832. By this union they have eight children: Dawson, Nancy (now Mrs. N. A. Crozier), Moses, Lucinda M., Mary M., Sarah A., Estella and William. Lost one.
ELLIOTT, D. B.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 18, P. O. Knoxville. Dawson Elliott, or Doss, as he is commonly called, is the eldest son of W. M. and Mary Elliott, and was born September 13, 1850, in Barren county, Kentucky, and was taken from there to this county by his parents when three years of age. He married Miss M. A. West, December 30, 1871. She is a native of Ohio and was born on the 25th of November, 1855. By this union they have four children: Edna May, Bertie G., Millie M. and William J. He owns a fine farm of 192 acres, well improved.
› EVERETT, JOHN S.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 22, P. O. Knoxville. Prominent among the early pioneers in this county was the subject of our sketch. He is a native of Cayuga county, New York, and was born April 6, 1816. When two years of age he removed with his parents to Point Pleasant, Mason county, Virginia. Was there reared on a farm and educated. When he attained his majority he returned to New York and worked on a farm in summer and attended school in the winter, and thereby obtained a good English education. In 1840 he moved to his old home in Virginia, and engaged in teaching for two years. About that time he took a partner in life in the person of Miss Elizabeth E. McCown, a native of Virginia. She was born October 15, 1823. This event occurred in 1843. He then took up agricultural pursuits and followed that profession until he came to this county in June, 1847. He has a fine farm of 120 acres, and also forty acres of timber land. Their family consists of seven children living: Sophia (now Mrs. Greenlee), A. J., Joanna (now Mrs. Carpenter),