« PředchozíPokračovat »
people then had to go for breadstuffs. Particularly during the winter of 1848 and 1849 did this little corn-cracker prove to be of inestimable value; for, as has already been shown, it was impossible to get any distance from home on account the great depth of snow. During this period, every family within reach of this mill, who had a peck of corn to convert into meal. came to it; and the faithful little make-shift was kept at work day and night, grinding a peck, or even a mess or two, for one and then another, as their turns would come, each customer taking his own turn at the crank.
In the family of Mr. Helms occurred the first marriage in the township. that of his son Jesse and Miss Sarena Wind, whose parents resided within the limits of Lucas county. The wedding took place in Dallas, December 25, 1847. And to this couple was born the first child in the township. Henry Helms, August 2, 1848.
The western portion of Dallas is mostly settled with Germans, a part of whom are Lutberans in doctrinal faith, and the others Catholic. Rev. J. F. Shearer, an American Lutheran minister first organized a society of those holding to that faith in 1854. About sixteen families were united, making a membership of forty-five. But, as Mr. Shearer could only speak English. his place was soon taken by Rev. Wilhelm Hounderdosse, from Germany. The Catholic Church was organized in 1854, by the union of nine persons of that faith, by whom a hewed log church was soon erected, 16x18 feet, with belfry. This organization was not effected by the aid of a priest, and it was not till after the erection of a house of worship, that Father John Krekel held services in that community. A frame building has been erected for a parsonage.
Wm. Demoss and
Johnson first formed societies of United Breth
reu and Methodists, in 1851-2.
Asa Davis taught the first school in a round log cabin built for the purpose, in 1852. Henry R. Klingman taught next.
Newbern was surveyed by F. M. Frush, by request of Ransom Davis, on the southeast quarter of the southeast quarter of section 31, September 9. 1851. One of the chain men was Joseph S. Howard, now Professor Howard, of McGee College, Missouri. The other is not remembered. It was so named by Mr. Davis, from a town of the same name in Indiana. Nine lots were sold at auction, at from four to eight dollars per lot. Mr. Davis built the first house within the plat, a hewed log that stood on the north side of the village. Jesse Moon sold the first goods, till he disposed of the business to Fletcher Kane. The first post-office was kept by Joseph Howard, father of Joseph S., mentioned above. He received his commission in tha spring of 1853, not having been previously consulted. His successor was Fletcher Kane.
The population of Newbern is about fifty. It contains one church, two stores of general merchandise, one blacksmith shop, one carpenter shop, steam mill, hotel, drug store, and an establishment which deals in hardware and agricultural implements. The church belongs to the United Presbyterians.
The town of Dallas was at first called Ohio, on account of the number of settlers from that State, in the neighborhood. But it was eventually found
advisable to change it to Dallas, in conformity to the popular habit of calling it so when Dallas post-office was about all there was of the town, and was there before it.
Dallas post-office was established in 1855, and was first kept by John Parrett, in a little log house still standing, but unoccupied. The first house was built by Hiram L. George, who also sold the first goods. The place now contains two stores, two blacksmith shops, a commodious M. E. Church building, and a good school-house. The stores enjoy the trade of a fine farming country lying south and east of the town.
Dallas has a population of about fifty. There are two hotels or boarding houses, and a Methodist Episcopal Church. The church was organized in the fall of 1853, at the house of Joel Campbell, with a membership of fourteen. Rev. John Jay was the pastor at the time the church was organA church edifice was erected in 1855. It is 22x45 feet, and cost $2,
is a post-office, located on the northwest quarter of section 17. There is also, at New Chicago, a store of general merchandise.
The Evangelical Church, or Whitebreast Mission, was organized in 1869, with a membership of ten. The church building is located on the northwest quarter of section 12. It is a frame structure, 28x42 feet. bership of the circuit is 200. Rev. J. A. Haut is at present pastor. St. Joseph's Church was founded in 1874 by Rev. John Bahman. The church building is located on the northwest corner of section 20. It is a brick building, 40x60 feet, and cost $9,000. Rev. S. F. Wieland is the present pastor.
Union Chapel is located on the southwest corner of the northeast quarter of section 25. It is a frame building, founded in 1875, and cost $1,600. It is used by all denominations.
The Evangelical Lutheran Church has a building 30x40 feet which was built in the summer of 1874. It is located on the northwest quarter of section 8, on the land owned by Mr. Horsman. It has a membership of about seventy-five. Rev. W. F. Strobel is the present pastor.
RNOLD, DAVID, SR.-(Deceased). Was born at Little Falls, New York, in 1792. Was there raised to manhood, educated and learned the mill-wright trade. After participating in the War of 1812, he engaged in general contracting and milling business at Zanesville, Ohio, where he resided until 1854, when he came to Marion county and engaged in agricultural pursuits in Dallas township. He was married at Little Falls in 1812, to Miss Alfie Lenard, of Albany, New York. By this union they had eight children: Lucy, Lavina, Mary, Samuel, David, Š. S., Edward, Phebe (deceased). DAVID, the second son, was born in Muskingum, county, Ohio, August 6, 1827, and was there raised to manhood, educated and learned the mill-wright trade. In 1851 he came to Iowa and engaged in mill-building and contracting, operating at Burlington, Oskaloosa, Ottumwa
and other points. Came to Marion county in the autumn of 1854, locating in Dallas township, where he resided one year. In 1855 he removed to Union county, where for fifteen years he was engaged in contracting and general architectural work. He was married December 24, 1653, Miss H. M. Pierce, of Chancellorville, Ohio, Shre died August 1 1866. Mr. Arnold was again married October 14, 1867, to Margare Veight. He has by these unions eleven children: Edward, David, Non Grace, Minerva, Laura, Frank, Mary, Floretta, William, Charlie. For the past ten years he has been engaged in agricultural pursuits and stock-raising His farm is among the finest in Union county, the buildings and appurtena ces indicating taste, and the management of careful and well-disciplines judgment. He is extensively engaged in silver mining in Arizona, where he spends a portion of time, being a share-holder of the Oro Blanco and twe other mines that will compare favorably with any in the Territory. Master Mason. David Arnold, Sr., after an active career of twenty-six year in the county passed away in June, 1880. Mrs. Alfie Arnold still reside in Dallas township.
ARNOLD, S. S.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 28, P. O. Chariton. M: Arnold was born April 25, 1830, at New Conger, Ohio, where he w principally raised on a farm and where he received his education. He learne the milling business at an early age with his father. In 1854 he remove to Knox county, Ohio, where he followed the milling business for fou years. He came to this county in 1858 and engaged in agricultural pursuits for a short time. Leaving his family here he went to Colorado and engaged in mining in which he continued about two and a half years. Hearing of the repeated defeats of the Federal army he hastened to the front and enlisted in company G, Fortieth Iowa, in August, 1862, as a private, and passed through the various grades of promotion and was commissioned captain of company K. He took part in the battles of Vicksburg, Jenkins Ferry and other engagements in which his regiment participated. He was mustered out at the close of the war at Fort Gibson, Indian Territory, at returned to this county and engaged in farming and stock-raising with good success. His landed estate consists of 465 acres and his stock is of hig grades and thorough-breds. He has a large mining interest in Arizona of a substantial and remunerative character. He married Miss E. M. Gill in 1854. She was born in Norwich, Ohio. They have four children: Alice. Rosa, Minnie and Harry.
OMGARDNER, II.-Farmer, Sec. 4, P. O. Dallas. Was born in 1813 in Germany where he was raised on a farm. He learned the carperter's trade when eighteen years old and followed it until he came here in 1850. He crossed the ocean in the sail vessel Ambassador, landing at Ne Orleans. He came to this county and settled in 1850 where he has since lived. He owns a farm of 175 acres. He married Miss Dorth Frobasin in Germany in 1833. She was born in 1807. By this union they have three children: Dora, Henry and Sophia. Lost one, Fred. Himself and wife are members of the Lutheran Church of this place.
AMPBELL, BROMWELL-Farmer, Sec. 11, P. O. Dallas. Was born January 2, 1833, in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, where he lived until six years of age. He then removed to Coshocton county, Ohio, with his parents where he was principally raised on a farm. He emigrated to Fairfield, Jefferson county, Iowa, in 1852, thence to this county in the spring of 1853, where he has since resided, following agricultural pursuits, except
two years residence in Indianola, for the purpose of educating his children. He has held the office of township clerk one term and school director for fifteen years. He married Miss Minerva A. Garner, June 15, 1856. She was born in 1836 in Indiana. They have threee children: Alwilda, Luella and James Lincoln. Himself, wife and two daughters are members of the M. E. Church of Dallas. Mr. Campbell entered the land he now lives on in the Fairfield land-office in 1852. He has a fine farm of 160 acres, a fine orchard and a maple grove of three acres.
'STES, LOVE M.-P. O. Dallas. Was born in Racine county, Wisconsin, October 2, 1850, and when ten years of age removed with his parents to Mercer county, Missouri, where after a residence of one year, came to Marion county, Iowa, and settled near Newbern and.thence to Caloma, where the subject of our sketch lived until sixteen years of age and then commenced life on his own account. He commenced working at twentyfive dollars per month and the following year received thirty-five dollars, being engaged in buying stock. He received a good common school education which he supplemented by attendance at the college in Indianola and fitted himself for teaching, in which occupation he has been more or less employed since. Few young men of his age have acquired a more general business experience; profiting by this and general observation he occupies a prominent place in the community in which he resides.
INARTY, J. W.-Physician, Dallas. Was born January 16, 1848, in Mason county, West Virginia, and was taken by his parents to Marion county, lowa, when only two years old, and was raised here until fifteen years old. In November, 1863, he entered the government service and was in the commissary department of the Third division, Fifteenth army corps, and was at the battles of Chattanooga, Atlanta, Savannah and Columbia, and was with General Sherman on his march to the sea, and was mustered out, July 13, 1865. He returned home and commenced the study of medicine, and attended his first course of lectures in the fall of 1871 and the spring of 1872. About that time he moved to Dallas and commenced the practice of medicine. He graduated February 13, 1877, and received his diploma. He now has a good practice. He married Miss Mary E. Auld in December, 1872. By this union they have three children: Arthur C., James C. and Walter R. Mr. Finarty came to Pella at an early day, some time before the noted Holland colony, and attended school in the old log school house in that place. Dr. F. is a member of Minburn Lodge, No. 152, located at Lacona, Iowa.
HUNERDOSSE, FRED. W.-Merchant, Newbern.
was born August 25, 1846. in Greenwich, England, near the observatory, where he was raised until nine years of age, then crossed the ocean with his parents in the sail vessel Cornelius Grinnell, and landed at New York. They visited Chicago, Springfield and Alton, Illinois; thence to Nauvoo, where they wintered, and took wagons in the spring and came to this county, where he has since resided, following agricultural pursuits with his father until twenty-one years of age, and after teaching school three years he then commenced the mercantile business at Newbern and has succeeded in building up a good trade. Mr. Hunerdosse is a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church of this place, in which he holds the office of ruling elder. He is also superintendent of the sabbathschool, has held the office of justice of the peace; is a member of the township committee and is assistant postmaster at this place.
HORTSMANN, HENRY-Farmer, Sec. 5, P. O. Caloma. Was born in the province of Hanover, December 17, 1818, where he resided until twentyeight years of age. In July, 1847, he came to this country by way of Quebec and Buffalo. Stopped in Indiana two years and thence to Cincinnati. Came to this county in the-fall of 1849 and entered his land. The next fall he moved out here with his family, built a house and broke some land. Since that time he has continued to improve his farm, which now consists of 550 acres. He has held the office of township trustee, and also road supervisor several terms. He married Miss Hannah Bote in Cincinnati, in March, 1850. She was born in the province of Brunswick, Germany, in September, 1829. Himself and wife are members of the Lutheran Church, of this place, in which he holds the office of trustee. He also holds the office of school trustee in this district.
JUMPER, WILLIAM-Farmer and blacksmith, Sec. 1, P. O. Dallas.
Was born May 21, 1833, in Richland county, Ohio, where he was raised until seventeen years of age on a farm. He then removed to Missouri with his parents, where he learned the blacksmith trade, and returned to Indiana and then came to Knoxville, where he worked two years; thence to Newbern, in this county, and worked there six years; then enlisted in the Eighteenth Iowa infantry, company G, July 12th, 1862, and was with his regiment in all the engagements in which it participated, among them the battle of Springfield, Missouri, 1863, and Saline River. He was mustered out August 6, 1864, at Davenport, returned to his home at Newbern and then went to Chariton, Lucas county, where he followed his trade for eleven years, then moved to where he now resides. He is a good workman and has a full share of public patronage in his line. He married Miss Rebecca Carrol in 1852. She was born in Ohio in 1831. He holds the office
of justice of the peace.
in Germany, where he raised as
a farm. Came to this county in 1854 and purchased the claim on which he now resides. He owns two farms, one of 170 acres and one of 280 acres. He married Miss Dora Ellis, in Germany. By this union they have seven children: Caroline, Sophia, Henry, Ernest, William, Ettie and Dora. Mrs. Langebartels died in 1878, and since that time his daughter has been keeping house for him. He is a member of the Lutheran Church of this place, in which he holds the office of treasurer.
DOUSH, VALENTINE-Farmer, Sec. 28, P. O. Newbern. Was born March 13, 1813, under the government of Prince William, of Hesse Castle, Germany, where he was raised until seventeen years of age. He emigrated to the United States, landing in this country July 26, 1832, at Baltimore. He came over in the sail vessel Indiana, and was nine weeks on the voyage. He stopped two years in the State of Maryland; thence to Wheeling, Virginia; thence to Cincinnati, Ohio. From there to Franklin county, Indiana. He came to this county in the fall of 1852, and settled where he has since remained, following agricultural pursuits. He has a fine farm of 200 acres, well improved. He has been twice married. His first wife was Miss Susan Note. They were married in 1830. She was born near Lancaster, Pennsylvania. By this union they had four children: Van, Daniel, Lafayette and Sarah. Mrs. P. died in 1850. He married for his second wife Mrs. A. Scott, who was born in Franklin county, Indiana. By this union they have five children: Valentine, Joseph, John,