Obrázky stránek
[blocks in formation]

Subscribed and sworn to before me, this sixth day of April, A. D. 1846. "JOHN T. PEARCE,

"Justice of the peace"

"At an election held at the house of Alexander May, in Round Grove recinct, in the county of Marion, and Territory of Iowa, on the first Monay, the sixth day of April, A. D. 1846, the following named persons eceived the number of votes annexed to their respective names, for the ffice of Delegate to the Convention to form a Constitution for the State of owa; to-wit,

"For Delegate, James L. Warren has received twelve votes. For Delegate John Conery has received eleven votes.

"We, the undersigned judges and clerks, do certify the above to be correct.



[merged small][ocr errors]

The first election after the organization of Indiana township of which there is any preserved record, was held at the house of Benj. F. Williams, in Barkersville (now Attica), April 5, 1852. Fifty-three votes were cast, and the following officers elected: Harvey Manners and W. T. Smith, justices; Nathaniel Coclerce, Samuel M. Coolly and Jacob Bonebreak, trustees; Non Bonebreak, clerk, and Allen Lowe and John Champlin, constables.

Indiana was so named in consequence of a large majority of the first settlers being from that State. The following is a list of their names and date of settlement: Alexander May, Noah Whitlatch, Wm. Carlisle, George Henry, Allen Lowe, Samuel Coolly, Wm. Shanks, Samuel Nicholson and John Riddle in 1843; Jeremiah Gullion, Benj. Sherwood, David Sweem and Jas. Cade, in 1844; Isaac Kelsey and Lewis Pierce in 1845, and John Bonebreak in 1846.

Alexander May originally settled in the township, and with several others mentioned in the above list, formed what was known as May's Settleinent. He was born in Henry county, Kentucky, January 5, 1801, emigrated to Orange county, Indiana, in 1816, to Fountain county, same State, in 1827, from thence to Montgomery county, same State, in 1831, and from thence to this county, arriving here June 22, 1843.

David Sweem was born in Ohio, in 1819, moved to Indiana and from thence to this county and township in the autumn of 1844.

Mr. S. was first an exhorter, and during his residence here an itinerant preacher in the M. E. Church. He also took a somewhat active part in politics, by which he became well known in the county. His residence was near Attica, where he died January 15, 1868.

The first gospel preaching was done by Rev. Jas. L. Warren, in the summer of 1843, at the residence of Noah Whitlatch. On this occasion the Doctor, having sent an appointment to preach there at 11 o'clock A. M. on a

certain sabbath, walked the distance between his residence, in Lake Prairi and the place appointed, but arrived too late. The people had collected waited a long time, and then dispersed. After they were all gone the Dx tor made his appearance, weary and heated with his long journey After having come so far he was not disposed to return without accomplist ing his mission, so he announced that he would preach at night if the peo ple could be notified of it. Thereupon runners were sent abroad to notif them, and he was enabled to hold forth to a goodly number of heares The first persons married were Samuel Nicholson and Eleanor May daughter of Alexander May, at the residence of the latter, June 1, 1844. The first post-office in this township was kept at Alexander May's, but s what date we have been unable to learn. Benj. Sherwood, post master. mails from Knoxville weekly.

The first school was taught by Fletcher Cain, in a little cabin near when Attica now is, in 1845. Number of scholars, sixteen. Harvey Mannes taught near the same place in 1847-8. John B. Hays taught two mile south of Attica the same year. Hessey May also taught a school at he own house at an early date.


On the twenty-sixth of July, 1849, James Barker and Nathaniel Coclerce caused to be surveyed on the northwest quarter of section 11, a town that was called Barkersville, in houor of one of the proprietors. Surveyor, James Rousseau. James Barker erected the first house on the survey, s one-story brick, that is now occupied by Wm. Thomas. Barker also sold the first goods, and was, at the same time, first postmaster. Mail once week. It was first carried fron Knoxville, in a pocket handkerchief, by M. M. Marks. B. F. Williams afterward bought Barker's store, and als took charge of the post-office. Present postmaster, T. S. Cathcart; mail: daily. The first hotel was kept by a German named Michael Himme haver; fare, ten cents per meal. The house still stands, near the Attics


The first school in town was taught by Hessey. May, and the Rev. Mr. Neur organized the first M. E. society there.

Not long after Barkersville had been in existence, its, principal proprietor, James Barker, for whom the town had been named, became so infamous in a criminal attachment for another inan's wife, that the name was regarded as a disgrace to the town, and by common consent it was changed to


It now contains the following business enterprises: Three general stores; the first by D. P. Cathcart, the second by J. H. Mears, the third by B. N. S Etcher. Two drug stores; first by Bell & McVay, second by Samuel Buzard. Boots and shoes made and repaired by J. H. Brennan. Harness shop by J. H. McVay. Two blacksmith shops, James Heffner and Levi Shane; wagon shop by I. B. Sharron. Grist and saw-mill by C. C. Sharron. Two potteries; one by Joseph Jennings, the other by Ira Kendrick. Sorghummill by R. S. Haines. Hotel by S. C. Bell. Post-office by D. P. Cathcart. Two physician: S. C. Bell and Samuel Buzard. Two ministers; Rev. C. H. Montgaay and Rev. Scott. A school taught by Miss Mary Weigand.

[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]

The population in 1870 was 1,332; in 1875 it was 1,281; in 1880 there were inhabitants to the number of 1,131.


BELL, S. C.-Physician and surgeon, Attica.

Was born in Clarks

ville, Pennsylvania, August 13, 1846. Moved with his parents to [owa, in 1864, commenced the study of medicine under the direction of Dr. Wm. Crowder, of Springfield, Keokuk county, an old school practioner, graduating at the State University, in the spring of 1875, and came to Atica, where he has established a large practice, and has built up for himself in enviable reputation. On the twentieth day of May, 1875, he married Miss Loice Wightman, a lady of culture, and refined domestic habits. She is a native of Illinois, born in McLean county, July 3d, 1852. They have three children: Estella M., Harry C. and Charley.

BUZARD, SAMUEL-Physician and surgeon, Attica. Born in West Virginia, October first, 1842. At the breaking out of the Rebellion he left his native State, returning in 1866-remaining three years, engaged in teaching school; then went to Philadelphia University, where he commenced the study of medicine, and graduated in the spring of 1871. Came to Iowa in the same year; located at Eldorado, Monroe county, and commenced the practice of his profession, and in 1875 to Attica, where he has since been engaged, practicing with considerable success. He married Miss Sarah F. Morrison, September twenty-second, 1870. She is a native of the same State as her husband, and a lady of refinement, the daughter of Thomas Morrison, Esq. By this union they have five children: Iberi Ann, Islenaich, Orena Iona, Oletia Venza and Ovaca R.

NELSON Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 33, P. O. Attica. Is a native of Ohio, and born in Monroe county, on the twenty-fourth day of May, 1817. He was taken by his parents when quite young to Indiana, where he resided until five years old, then emigrated to Montgomery county, remaining until 1844; emigrated to Iowa, and located in Ma

rion county, entering his land from the government. The hardships and pr vations he endured were many. He married Miss Eliza Stover, Febru twenty-third, 1837. She was a native of Highland county, Ohio; died à 1860, leaving four children. His second marriage occurred in 1861, 2 Mary A. McElerth, a native of Indiana, born in Shelby county. family consists of seven children: Rufus A., Quintillian, John H., Jama E., Ollie May, Wesley L. and Franklin O.


ADDY, THOMAS- Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 16, P. O. Attia Born in Shelby county, Indiana, August 7, 1838. At the age: sixteen years moved with his parents to Marion county, Iowa, settling a the present farm, which contains 280 acres. Mr. Maddy is an industrious enterprising citizen, highly respected and stands high in the estimation his neighbors for honesty and fair dealing. He married Miss Harrie Rogers on the 23d day of May, 1861. She is a native of Indiana and w born in Jefferson county. They have six children: F. A., W. G., Samme F., Augustus L., Annie R. and Clare A.

MADDY, JAMES-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 7, P. O. Attie Among the prominent farmers of Marion county, who have been close identified with the interest of this township, may be mentioned Mr. Maddy He was born in Rush county, Indiana, on the twenty-fourth day of Octber, 1824, and when quite young moved with his parents to Shelby county then to Marion county, Iowa, in the spring of 1856, and was raised a far mer. He owns 300 acres of land, well improved, with substantial building He is a mild and unassuming man; kind and generous as a neighbor, and hospitable to all. He married Miss Margaret J. McIlrath, January twenty ninth, 1846. She is a native of Pennsylvania, and by this union they have five children: John T., Charles W., James N. and G. L. Lost four.

MARK, M. M.-Farmer, Sec. 11, P. O. Attica. Was born in Fayette county, Ohio, in 1814, and in 1839 removed to Harrison county, Missour and after a residence of six years returned to Ohio and lived there one year, and in 1846 came to this county and now owns a farm of seventy-sit acres. He is one of the first settlers of the county and experienced all the hardships of a frontier life, and the young and rising generation have bat a faint idea of what they are indebted to such sturdy pioneers as Mr. Mark He married Miss Letitia Feagins in 1836. She was born in Ohio. They have three children living: Henry H., E. H. and J. F. Have lost sever. MARK, JOHN-Merchant, Attica. Was born in Fayette county, Ohio. November 28, 1822, and was raised and educated there. His early life was that of a farmer boy. Vast and extensive unoccupied lands of Iowa offered new inducements to men of true courage and he turned his back on home In 1844 he made a prospecting tour through the West and was so favors bly impressed with the country and its superior advantages that he made his home in Marion county in 1854, and engaged in agricultural pursuits following this successfully for a term of years. In 1874 he embarked in the mercantile business, which he has since followed, and has built an enviable reputation for honesty and fame which duly and justly merits the confidence and esteem in which he is held by his patrons. He married Miss Dorothy Coons on the 20th day of December, 1849. She is a native of New York, born in Columbia county, in 1828. By this union they had ten children: E. L., Margaret A., Aford H., Mary E., William, Minnie D. and John V. Lost three.


EIFERT, J. B.-Farmer and stock-dealer, Sec. 16, P. O. Attica. Among the most prominent and successful stock-dealers of Indiana ownship may be mentioned Mr. Neifert. He was born in Berks county, Pennsylvania, on the 17th day of July, 1829, and was raised on a farm. Came to Marion county in the spring of 1857. His estate consists of 400 acres. His buildings are first-class, indicating taste and good judgment. He is the architect of his own fortune, starting in life in humble circumstances. Stock-raising is his specialty, and he is numbered among the largest feeders and shippers in the county. On the 22d day of January, 1852, he married Miss Sarah Aldenderfer, a native of Berks county, born in 1833. The family consists of eight children: Lydia, Sarah, Mary, John A., Ida, Chally and Annie L. Lost one.

SHERWOOD, DANIEL-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 22, P. O. Attica.

Among the residents of Marion county came here at an early day, and who have contributed a full share toward its growth and development, is the subject of this sketch. He was born in Guilford county, North Carolina, December 9, 1810, and when one year old was taken by his parents to Washington county, Indiana, where he was raised on a farm and received his education in the common schools. In 1847 he emigrated to Iowa and settled in Marion county, on the farm he now occupies, containing 382 acres. He has held various township offices and he has represented the county in the General Assembly of the State Legislature. Few men have passed through life with less of ostentation or more satisfactory results. He has gained wealth and honor by pursuing a straightforward, true, honest and upright course, and he has been eminently successful in all he has undertaken. He has been twice married; first, to Miss Annie Smith, in 1836, a native of Indiana. His second marriage occurred May 26, 1839, to Mrs. Julia M. Hazen, whose maiden name was Phelps. She was born in New York in 1808, and came with her parents to Indiana in 1860. This family consists of five children: Ann E., Francis H., William P., Nancy M. (now Mrs. Van Dyke) and Miranda (now Mrs. Harned, of Indianola). Lost three. One son, Jesse, enlisted in the late war and was killed at Helena, July 4, 1863. Mrs. Sherwood was previously married to Francis Hazen, who died of cholera in 1833. She has by this marriage one daughter living (now Mrs. Rutherford).



The Township Described-Coal-Organization and Early History-Hamilton-MarysvilleBussey-Biographical.

LIBERTY township occupies the southeast corner of Marion county, aud corresponds with township 74, range 18. It is bounded on the north by Clay, on the west by Indiana township, on the south by Monroe county, and on the east by Mahaska.

The surface of the township is somewhat diversified, being composed partly of what was once beautiful, level and gently undulating prairie, but which is now under a good state of cultivation; but the greater part was originally covered with a fine growth of timber, and is more broken. Much of this has also been cleared away and the land brought under cultivation, and there are, in fact, but few acres in the township but may be cultivated

« PředchozíPokračovat »