« PředchozíPokračovat »
Tuck Chong Wo, gen. mdsc.
Lee On & Co., gen.
mdse. On Tai & Co., gen. nuse, Panama Railroad News Agency, news.
Arosemena, Ida, restaurant, sodas, etc.
Fook Sing, gen. mdse.
Fan, bakery and gen, mdse.
Ever since the occupancy of the Canal Zone, the United States Government has maintained more or less of a military force on its Isthmian territory, consisting of U. S. Marines. In 1903, there were 1400 men and officers of the Marine Corps on duty in the Zone. These under the command of Brigadier General Elliott, from whom the present camp gets its name. Since 1904, there has been one battalion continuously on duty, with the exception of the middle of 1906 when the force
increased to two battalions. Only on two occasions, have the services of the Marines been called into requisition: once in November, 1901, when an attempt made against the adıninistration of President Amador, and again in 1906 during the Panama elections. Even on these two occasions the Marines took 110 active part, but were en
U.S.Marines drilling at Camp Elliott, Canal Zone, Panama. Isthanian-American & PRR News Agency & Advertising Burvan. A. Bienkowski
camped in close proximity to the city of Panama . to be ready in case events took a serious turn.
The force on duty at the present time consists of one battalion of two companies, under the command of Major J. H. Russell. Each company has 125 men, war strength, while one company has three officers, and the other two. Besides the Commandant, the following officers were on duty in February 1908:
Second Lieut., C. B. Matthison, Adjutant:
is located on an elevated site close to the Panama Railroad, and but a short distance from the Canal Zone town of Bas Obispo.
COST OF CANAL.--Secretary Taft before the Congressional committee in January, 1908, opinion that the ultimate cost of the canal to the United States government, including the original purchase price, would approximate $300,000,000, and that it would take six more years to complete. This has been the Secretary's estimate all along, for on December 6, 1904, speaking before the public in Cathedral Plaza, Panama, he said:
"My government does not covet one cent of Panama's money, or one acre of her l nd, but in the face of a probable outlay of $300,000,000, it is absolutely essential that a thorough and close understanding be maintained between the two governments.
WIDENING CANAL LOCKS.--On page 307 of the Guitle and Pilot reference is made to the proposed widening, of the canal locks. The decision to extend the width to 110 feet was formally approved by the President on January 15, 1908. The additional cost involved is estimated at $5,000,000.
RECORDS BROKEN.-All records of rock and earth excavation were broken during the months of December, 1907, and January, 1908. This refers to both French and American canal times. The record for December was 2,200,539 cubic yards, and for January, 2,712,568 cubic yards.
DRY DOCK, CRISTOBAL.-In mentioning dock facilities on Page 157 of the Pilot and Guide, reference to the splendid new dry dock was inadvertently omitted. This dock will admit vessels not exceeding 298 feet in length, 50 feet in width, and of a 15 foot draft.
RAILROAD CHARGE TO COMMISSION.-On Page 154 of the Pilot and Guide, mention is made that the employes transportation charge of the Panama Railroad against the Commission is reported to be $5,000 monthly. This amount should read $13,000 monthly.
ISTHMIAN ENGINEERS' ASSOCIATION.Under the head of Secret Societies on Page 467 the “Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers” is included. This should read "Isthmian Locomotive Engineers' Association." The president is L. B. Swearingen, Cristobal; vice-president, E. R. Thompson, Las Cascadas; secretary and treasurer, J. G. Craig, Las Cascadas.
HOME OF GOV. MELENDEZ.-In the Tourists' Department on Page 439, the home of Gov. Porfirio Melendez, of Colon, is stated asat Mindi. This should be Bohio.
DIPLOMATIC CORPS.-On Page 380, in a sketch of Consul General Shanklin, it is stated that he graduated from the law department of Washington University, St. Louis, in 1899. The date should have read 1889.
"STAR & HERALD” BUILDING, WHERE THE PAPER WAS FIRST PUBLISHED.
in 1849 by John Powers, and published as the “Panama Herald" In the same year Lewis A. Middleton founded and edited the "Panama Star”. In 1853, John Powers sold out his interest in the Herald to J. R. Middlelon and A. B. Boyd, who united the two papers under the name of the “Star & Herald”. From 1872 until 1883, the Spanish editor of the paper was J. Luciano Duque. The latter died in 1884. In 1893, Mr. J. Gabriel Duque, the present director of The Star & Herald Company, became interested on the paper. From the start the paper has been published in two langun. ges-English and Spanish-while during the French canal times, a French section was added, making it a cosmopolitan journal in very truth. The “Star & Herald” is widely known, and has one of the best equipped plants in this part of Latin-America. The Star & Herald Company is incorporated in the State of West Virginia, U. S. A. The above illustration shows the building in which the paper has been published since 1853.