Obrázky stránek
PDF
ePub

He is a member of the Young Men's Republican Club and the Springhaven Golf Club, both of Media, and the latter of which he helped to organize; of the Brandywine Golf Club of Brandywine Summit; the Wilmington Country Club, and is an honorary member of the Media Fire Company. Fraternally, his memberships are in the Masonic Order, Concord Lodge No. 625; the Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Senior and Junior Orders, United American Mechanics; the Improved Order of Red Men and the Patrons of Husbandry.

Mr. Baldwin was married in 1873, to Miss Sarah Worrall Temple, a daughter of Thomas B. and Elizabeth (Worrall) Temple, of Middletown, Delaware county. There is a tradition in the Temple family that William Temple, its founder in America, was smuggled into the country by his step-mother after his father's death in order that the lady's son might inherit the English estates. To Mr. and Mrs. Baldwin there have been born ten children, five of whom survive.

Mr. Baldwin has been uniformly successful, both in his commercial and political careers, and has filled the various positions to which he has been called with a thorough-going earnestness of purpose that could not fail to bring about

a results the most satisfactory. He is one of the best known citizens of his county, and in all the seven times in which he has been before the people for their suffrage, he has not known defeat, but in every case has been triumphantly endorsed and elected. Mr. Baldwin is still in the prime of his usefulness and there is every reason why he should continue to serve his fellows and develop his own career for many years to come.

The McLaughlins of this sketch descend from an old MCLAUGHLIN family of Ireland. The first of this branch to come to

the United States was Edward (2), son of Edward (1) McLaughlin, the latter a lifelong resident of county Donegal, Ireland. He was a farmer :ang. a: inember of the Roman Catholic church, raising his family in that faith.' He married Rose McCaffery, who also was born, lived and died in county Doitegal, children: Rose, married John Cusacks, both deceased, of Chester, Peimsylvania, Edgard (2), of whom further; Sarah, married Daniel Butler, a contractor:cf. Chester, both deceased.

Edwarë.129; 0:1y son of Edward (1) and Rose McCaffery, was born in county Donegal, Ireland, iri 1824, died at Leiperville, Delaware county, Pennsylvania, in 1899. He grew to manhood and married in Ireland, soon afterward coming to the United States, settling in Chester, Pennsylvania. He later moved to Ridley township, living on the John L. Crosly property until his removal to Leiperville, where he died, a member of the Roman Catholic church, and a Democrat. He married Cecelia Boyle, born in county Donegal, in 1836, died in Leiperville, Pennsylvania, June 3, 1908; children: Rose, married Edward Jobson, now manager of Dunlap's grocery store, and resides in Chester; Bridget, died young; Edward F., of whom further ; Ann, now residing in Leiperville, unmarried; John, now living in Morton, Delaware county; Joseph, resides in Ridley Park; Daniel, died young; Michael died in Leiperville, in 1909.

Edward F., eldest son of Edward (2) and Cecelia (Boyle) McLaughlin, was born in Chester, Pennsylvania, January 16, 1867. He attended school until he was ten years of age in Chester and in Nether Providence township. He then worked in the mills in Carey's Banks, continuing until 1894. He then ran a bottling business in Leiperville for one year. He then conducted a wholesale and retail business until December 1, 1901, when he purchased the old Leiperville Hotel, that had been run as a licensed house since 1830. The Leiperville Hotel was established in 1830, and was the outgrowth of the boarding house kept to accommodate the men employed in getting out stone from Ridley creek quarries to build the “Breakwater.” Judge George G. Leiper and most of the quarry owners of the neighborhood petitioned for the house, which they described as being near the intersection of the old Queen's highway with the Springfield road, alleging the license was necessary to furnish accommodations to the men employed by them in conveying stones to the Breakwater. which at that time was the largest industry in the county. The court granted the petition and authorized Thomas Ewing to keep a public house at the location mentioned. Ewing called his house “The Leiperville Tavern,” and remained its proprietor until 1833, when Robert Murray became the landlord and named the house “The Canal Boat.” In 1835, Daniel J. Campbell leased the house and restored the old name. The house has had many landlords and in 1847 was the scene of the institution of Leiperville Lodge No. 263, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, which occupied a room in the garret of the wing. The last landlord prior to Mr. McLaughlin was Dr. Wernz, who succeeded Landlord Coward.

Mr. McLaughlin is a Republican in politics, and for several years has been county committeeman from Leiperville. He is a member of the Roman Catholic church, belonging to the parish of St. Rose de Lima at Eddystonie. His fraternal order is the Benevolent Protective Order of Elks, affiliated with Chester Lodge No. 488. He married, August 19, 1891, in the Church of the Immaculate Heart at Chester, Elizabeth Gertrude Bunce, daughter of Patrick Bunce, born in Ireland, in 1815, died at Chester, in January, 1893. He came to the Cnited States about the age of forty years, arriving in New York City, but soon settling in Chester, where he was employed at the Roach shipyards. Не married Margaret Manning, born in Limerick, Ireland, married in St. Michael's Church in Chester, and died in that city in 1884. Patrick was a son of Francis Bunce, a shoe manufacturer of Kilrush, Ireland, where he and his wife, a Miss McKane, both died. Children of Edward F. and Elizabeth Gertrude McLaughlin : Edward, born February 25, 1904; George, March 10, 1905, both born in Leiperville.

The family of Pusey is of ancient English origin, having been PUSEY settled in the Hundred of Ganfield in Berkshire, England, for

about nine centuries. During this long period the name has undergone inevitable changes of orthography, being entered in the Book of Domesday, completed in 1086 as “Pesie or Pesei" in "Gannesfelde hundred.”

The manor and village of Pusey, in Ganfield, Berkshire, lies south of the London road, twelve miles from Oxford and about five miles east of Farringdon. Here the family have resided from the time of the Danish King Canute, fifty years before the Norman Conquest. The tradition is that about the year 1086, during the contest between the Danes under Canute and the Saxons under Edmund Ironside, the hostile forces lay encamped but a few miles apart. William Pusey, an officer uncler Canute, entered the Saxon camp in disguise and there discovered a plan for a midnight surprise and massacre of the Danes. He at once fled to his own camp, gave the alarm and saved the Danish army from destruction. King Canute rewarded the daring officer with the manor lying contiguous to the camp, giving him as evidence of the transfer, the horn of an ox bearing the inscription : "King Knowde geue Wyllyam Pewte thys horne to holde by thy lond.” . Camden and other antiquarian authorities refer to this circumstance. The conveyance of realty by the delivery of a horn or other article of personal property is known to have been an ancient custom, especially under the Danish King, while the tenure of lands by what is known as cornuage or the service of a horn is stated by Ingulphus and other old writers to have been not unusual in the early days of England.

The estate thus granted by the Danish King to William Pusey has remained in the uninterrupted possession of the family, their descendants and direct representatives, down to the present day, by family deeds and records in the British Museum, the different lords of the manor down to Charles Pusey in 1710, after whom the male line became extinct. Charles Pusey, the owner in 1710, recovered both the horn and the manor in chancery before Lord Chiancellor Jefferies, when according to Dr. Hicks "the horn itself being produced in court and with universal' admiration received, admitted and proved to be the identical horn by which, as by a charter Canute had conveyed the manor of Pusey, seven hundred years before. Reference to this case is made in, i Vernan's Reports 273 de Term; S. Mich, 1684: wherein the demurrer of the defendant is stated to have been overruled and the plaintiff awarded his claim."

The family became extinct in the male line in 1710 by the death of the above mentioned Charles Pusey, who bequeathed the manor to his nephew, John Allen, Esquire, directing he should take the name of Pusey, and that in case of his dying without issue, it could be entailed on the male issue of his own sisters and his nieces, the Allens successively, who upon inheriting the estate were to assume the name of Pusey. By intermarriage the manor came into the Bouveries descendants of Lawrence des Bouveries of the Low Countries, driven to England by religious persecution in the time of Queen Elizabeth. The present Sidney Edward Bouverie Pusey succeeded in 1855. The Pusey coat-of-arms: Gules three bars argent. Crest: A cat passant.

The old horn, by the delivery of which the estate was originally granted, remained in possession of the family until recent years, when it was deposited in the British Museum. It is believed to have been the drinking horn of King Canute. It is described of dark brown or tortoise shell color, two feet and onehalf inch in length, one foot in circumference at the large end and two and a quarter inches at the small end. Rings of silver gilt encircle it at either end and a broader ring or band surrounds it near the middle. To this middle band are fastened two legs with feet resembling those of a hound, by which the horn is supported on a stand. At the small end is a screw stopper of silver gilt in imitation of a hound's head. By taking this out and passing a strap through the two rings which are suitably placed for the purpose it might be made to serve as a hunting horn. That it may have been used both as a drinking and a hunting horn at different periods, is not improbable, but as the alleged discovery of the horn took place long before the discovery of gunpowder or the use of firearms, it could not have been at first used as a powder horn, while the tradition that it was originally the drinking horn of King Canute and subsequently bestowed to evidence the reward of military service, received plausibility in view of the two special uses to which horns are known to have been devoted at that early day, namely: drinking purposes and the conveyance of landed property, which is further supported by the presumption that a peculiar value was attached to the familiar drinking appliance of a rude convivial people.

The presentation of this horn by Canute to the original William Pusey is said to have been made with much ceremony, on the beach at Southampton and a plastic representation of the scene hangs in the hall of the present Pusey mansion. Other treasures and interesting relics are also there collected, including family portraits, antique lace and articles once belonging to royalty. Considerable legendary interest moreover attaches to the old place revived from the curious customs and characters of former residents, one of whom, Alice Pat

[ocr errors]

ernoster, held lands in Pusey in the reign of Edward I., by the service of saying paternoster five times a day for the souls of the King's ancestors. Another of the same surname on succeeding to an estate in the same parish, instead of paying a sum of money as a relief said the Lord's Prayer thrice before Barons of the Exchequer, as his brother had done before him.

The Pusey Mansion is a plain stone structure, with two front bows, presenting an attractive and substantial appearance. The present owners and occupants give courteous reception and attention to members of archaeological societies and other considerate visitors attracted by the historical interest of the place.

Caleb Pusey, the first of the name who came to America, was born in Berkshire, England, in 1651. He grew up among the Baptists, but in early manhood joined the Society of Friends, moved to London, where he became actively associated with William Penn in his cherished project for the colonization of Pennsylvania, having arranged with Penn for the erection of a grist and saw mill in the new province, the materials for which were to be prepared in England. Caleb Pusey sailed for this country in 1682, probably in one of the earliest of the twenty-three vessels which arrived that year in the Delaware. He selected a site for the proposed mill on Chester creek, one mile from its entrance into the Delaware, where the materials which arrived on a later ship were fitted and set up by Richard Townsend. Caleb Pusey was one of the proprietors and acted as the miller and resident agent of a joint stock company of owners. Some of these owners withdrew and the mill finally was owned solely by William Penn, Samuel Carpenter and Caleb Pusey. With the exception of a rude mill, which the Swedes had used for a brief period on the Schuylkill, this was the first grist mill in use in Pennsylvania. It stood on land now part of the Crozier estate at Upland. It fell into ruins years ago, but its weather vane, bearing the date 1699 and the initials of the three owners, was fortunately rescued and now is preserved in the museum of the Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Thirteenth and Locust streets, Philadelphia. Caleb Pusey's residence, built about 1683, near the mill, is kept in repair by the present owners and is thought to be the oldest dwelling in the state.

Caleb Pusey was a man of high rectitude of purpose and great force of character. He was a leading elder of Friends' Meeting; was sheriff of the county and head of the “Peace Makers," a species of volunteer court. He was the author of various essays and pamphlets in defence and explanation of the convictions of the early Quakers: served as member of the Provincial Council; the Governor's Council and the Assembly. He was always a trusted friend and associate of William Penn in important matters touching the settlement and prosperity of the province. He left a mass of valuable papers, comprising his own writings and the collections he had carefully made pertaining to public affairs, papers largely used in preparation of “Proud's History of Pennsylvania." After forty-four years of active life in America, passed in Philadelphia and Chester, he moved to Marlborough, Chester county, Pennsylvania, where he died, greatly honored and beloved, December 25, 1726, leaving no male issue, and but two daughters.

Two brothers, William and Caleb (2) Pusey, nephews of Caleb Pusey, followed him to Pennsylvania about the year 1700. William Pusey married Elizabeth Bowater and settled in London Grove, Chester county, where he erected a mill and a substantial stone dwelling house, yet standing. Caleb (2) Pusey, settled in Marlborough; both left numerous descendants and so far as known all Puseys of American birth trace to one or other of these brothers.

From William Pusey descends Fred Taylor Pusey, of Lima, Pennsylvania, son of Joshua Pusey, and grandson of Jacob Pusey, born in Auburn, Delaware, in 1791, died 1870.

Joshua Pusey, son of Jacob Pusey, was born in Auburn, Delaware, in 1842, died in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in 1906. He was an attorney and counsellor at law, specializing in patent causes, a veteran of the civil war, having served in the famous “Bucktail” regiment, from Pennsylvania, and receiving a severe wound at the battle of Fredericksburg. Although not a member of the Society of Friends, he was in sympathy with that sect and attended their meetings. In politics he was a Republican.

Joshua Pusey married Rebecca Kenderdine, born in Germantown, Philadelphia, died in 1876, daughter of Joseph Rakeshaw and Sarah (Wright) Kenderdine, of Montgomery county, Pennsylvania. Joseph Rakeshaw Kenderdine was born near Horsham, Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, about 1811, a contractor and builder, head of the firm of Kenderdine & Justice, later Joseph R. Kenderdine & Sons, builder's hardware store at Seventh and Spring Garden streets, Philadelphia. He was a Whig in politics, later a Republican. Children of Mr. and Mrs. Kenderdine: Isaac; Warner Justice; Frank; Elizabeth, died unmarried ; Rebecca, married Joshua Pusey; Laura, unmarried. Children of Joshua and Rebecca Pusey, now living: Fred Taylor, of whom further; Grace Edna, married Philip Marot, of Swarthmore, Pennsylvania.

Fred Taylor Pusey, son of Joshua Pusey, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, June 3, 1872. He was educated in the public schools of Avondale, Chester county, Pennsylvania, and Friends' Schools in Philadelphia, finishing at Friends' Central High School, whence he was graduated in June, 1889. In his boyhood he worked on the farm, and after leaving school worked two years in a Philadelphia hosiery mill. He then began the study of law, work. ing in the meantime as collector for an industrial life insurance company. He was admitted to the bar of Philadelphia county in 1894 and later to the Superior and Supreme Courts of Pennsylvania and to the Federal Courts of the district. On December 5, 1898, he was admitted to the bar of Delaware county and has since continued in active practice at both bars. He has established wide reputation as a lawyer and commands a generous patronage. He has been for several years solicitor of the borough of Lansdowne and served his district as member of the House of Representatives during the legislative sessions of 1903 and 1905 and the special session of 1906. In political faith he is a Republican. Mr. Pusey is now serving as a member of the Board of Trustees of the State Institution for Feeble Minded at Spring City, Pennsylvania, by appointment of the Governor. Since 1892 Mr. Pusey has served in the National Guard of Pennsylvania as private, corporal, sergeant, sergeantmajor, lieutenant, captain and regimental adjutant of the First Regiment of Infantry. In 1907 he was appointed aide-ele-camp on the staff of Governor Stuart with the rank of lieutenant-colonel, November (1913) serving on the staff of Governor Tener as colonel and adjutant-general. During the SpanishAmerican war he served as adjutant of the First Regiment, Pennsylvania Infantry, United States Volunteers. Mr. Pusey is a member of the State and County Bar associations; the Law Academy of Philadelphia, president in 1898-99; the Union League of Philadelphia ; Lansdowne Republican Club, president many years; the Historical Society of Pennsylvania and the Veteran Corps of the First Regiment of the National Guard of Pennsylvania. In religious connection he is a member of the Society of Friends.

Mr. Pusey married, December 3, 1895, at Brooklyn, New York, Nellie Ogilvie, born in that city August 25, 1873, daughter of John S. Ogilvie. founder of the publishing firm of J. S. Ogilvie Publishing Company of New

« PředchozíPokračovat »