Obrázky stránek

ness Mr. Rogers has passed his life. He owned several fine farms at one time or another in his native state; and like the most of men has experienced reverses as well as the favoring smiles of fortune. He became a resident of this county in 1878, and purchased his present farm of 190 acres. The land is valuable in itself but is becoming more so under his judicious management. He was married in the year 1850 to Miss Levina Bellinger, a native of New York. They are the parents of three chiidren: Gulice A., wife of H. P. Ladd; Mary E., wife of William Crawford; and Myron E., now at home. Mr. Rogers is representative of several insurance companies of this state.

SHINN, FRANK, attorney at law and real estate agent, Emerson P. O.; son of a Methodist Episcopal clergyman, was born in Adams county, Ohio, October 28, 1843. When nine years of age he moved to Kentucky with his father's family, where he remained four years. In 1856, he came to Iowa, and to Marshalltown, where he resided one and a half years. He then moved to Pottawattamie county, and remained until 1862, when he came to Mills county, and has since resided here continuously. His education was received in the common schools, and all before the age of thirteen years. His subsequent success as a student and lawyer has been due to his untiring application during leisure hours. He began his practice before the justices' courts, and in 1877, was admitted to practice in all the courts of the state. As a lawyer he is a success, and is building for himself a lucrative practice and enviable reputation. He was married January 25, 1867, to Miss Almira Schenck. They have four children: Linnie A., James A., Kate and lola. In his younger days an accident deprived him of the full use of his limbs, and he has been a cripple since 1857. His legal library is both fine and valuable. He owns a farm of 135 acres, a house and lot; and deserves the success he has attained.

SHEFFER, RILAN K., grocer, carpenter and cabinet-maker, Emerson P. O.; was born in Tioga county, Pennsylvania, July 7, 1850, and is the son of a carpenter. He was educated solely in the common schools. He was early put to work at the trade followed by his father and continued in the same until 1869. In that year he came to Iowa, locating at Osceola, Clarke county, and followed the same occupation. In 1870, he moved to Garden Grove, followed his trade two years, and then entered the furniture business which he continued until 1875. He then came to Emerson where he has since resided. He was married May 5, 1873, to Miss Clara J., daughter of Thomas Chamberlain, of Garden Grove. They have two children, Thomas and Ila. Mr. Sheffer is the architect of his own fortunes, owns a fine residence and business building. He is a master mason, and stands very high in the esteem of his fellow townsmen.

SHELDON, ANCIL L., proprietor of Emerson House, P. O. Emerson; was born in Lafayette county, New York, January 21, 1826, where he resided until 1832 when he moved to Huron county, Ohio. In 1844 he went to Ripley county, Indiana, remaining until 1869. He then became a resident of this state and county, locating in White Cloud township. His father was a clergyman in the M. E. Church. Hn learned the printer's trade in 1843 and 1844, and from 1844 to 1847 worked as a Knight of St. Crispin. From 1817 to 1869 he had cleared and worked three farms, realizing some $7,000 profit in the meantime. With this entered the business of a general merchant in Emerson, but soon sold out and built the Emerson House. He was married in October, 1819, to Miss Mary J. Richardson, who died in 1862. By this wife he had three children, one living: Alla C. He was again married in April, 1864 to Miss Mary R. Sutton, who died in October, 1875, leaving one child, Maud O., living, and one deceased. He was married again April 5, 1877, to Miss Georgie A. Edwards. He has been a member of the M. E. Church since 1844, and much of the time a member of some one or other of the official boards. He owns a farm of some eighty-eight acres, near Emerson, besides his hotel business.

STURGEON, JAMES, farmer and stock-raiser, section 23, P. O. Emerson; born July 29, 1847, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. In 1849 he moved with his parents to Canada, where he grew to manhood, working on the farm in the summer season and attending the common schools during the winter. He came to Mills county, Iowa, in 1870. Was married August 1, 1877, to Marcia Lincoln, a native of Ohio. They are the parents of one child, Frederick James. Soon after his marriage he located on the farm where he now resides. His farm consists of one hundred and twenty acres on which is a good dwelling-house and a fine orchard. He has always taken an active interest in the schools and all township improvements, and now holds the office of township clerk.

STURGEON, JOHN F., farmer and stock-raiser, section 22, P. O. Emerson; born in 1845. In 1849 he went with his parents to Canada, and in 1865 returned to Philadelphia, and from thence went to the oil regions, where he remained until April, 1865, when he enlisted in the Ninety-eighth Pennsylvania infantry. He was at Richmond a few days after the surrender, and was with Gen. Sheridan on his march to Danville. Was mustered out July 11, 1865, returning to Oil City, and from there went to Canada. In 1866 he came to Iowa and stopped in Des Moines county. He then traveled through Missouri, Kansas and Nebraska, and returned to lowa and located in Mills county in 1868. Was married in June, 1872, to Elizabeth Forest, a native of Iowa, born in 1854, They are the parents of three children, two of whom are now living: Maggie, May and Clarence. He owns a well improved farm of 390 acres, well adapted to stock-raising, in which he is largely engaged.

[ocr errors]

TUBBS, JUDGE L. W., farmer, stock dealer and real estate dealer, P. O. Emerson. This gentleman is a son of Nathaniel Tubbs, an ex-member of congress from Albany district in the state of New York, and was born in Binghamton, New York, January 4, 1826. He was but eleven years of age when his father left the Empire State to find a residence in the Western Reserve, Ohio. The greater portion of his youth was spent on a farm, during which time those features of his character which in after years

enabled him to surmount obstacles and win success, found a birth and were carefully nutured. His education was received in the city schools of Sandusky, Ohio. At the early age of thirteen years he was apprenticed to learn the Miller's trade, and six years later went to Michigan where he followed his trade until 1849. In that year, it will be remembered that not only the United States, but the world was excited over ths discovery of gold in California. Thither went many thousands of men, and among them went Judge Tubbs, as the captain of a company of miners.

Arrived in California the native energy of the man promptly placed him among the front ranks of prominent men. He entered political life, and in 1850 was elected as a member of the first state legislature. In the summer of 1850 he was employed by the governor of the state to locate a road from the head waters of the Sacramento to the Willamette valley in Oregon, which kept him occupied until the spring of 1851. The winter of 1851 and 1852 was spent in the Sandwich Islands. On his return to the United States he went to Michigan and engaged in the milling business. In the spring of 1856 he came to Iowa and located at Malvern, or rather the place where that enterprising city now stands. In 1858 he was elected Judge of Probate for Mills county, and held this office until it was abolished. He enjoys the distinction of having been one of the first two men ever elected on the republican ticket in this county. In May, of 1861, he organized the first cavalry company ever organized in the state, and of which he was duly elected captain. The company was organized for state protection, and its members were known as the “ Mills County Minute Men.” One feature of this company deserves mention, it has never been mustered out to this day. In 1869 Judge Tubbs sold his Malvern farm and located at Emerson. He was married October 1, 1853, in Kalamazoo, Michigan, to Sybil J., daughter of William Wheeler, born October 13, 1836. He is the father of eight children, six of whom are now living: William L., Mary D., Hattie M., Volna V., Bertha E. and Ray B. He is a member of the Blue Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and its first master. He became a member of the lodge in Michigan, in 1853. Judge Tubbs is a very large land holder, owning 3,200 acres in Mills county, besides considerable town property, and 1,280 acres in Texas. He has been in the county for many years, and been closely identified with its material advancement. To him as much as any other one man is it indebted for prosperity. He is honorable and upright in his business enterprises, generous in his benefactions, kind in manner, and admired and respected by all.

TUBBS, WILLIAM L., farmer and stock-raiser, section 25, P. O. Emerson; born April 17, 1855, in Flowerfield, Michigan. Came with his parents to Mills county, in 1856, arriving April 14. He has resided in this county continuously since that time. He received his early education in the common schools, and finished at Tabor College. After returning from college he was employed in the mercantile house of Messrs. Paddock, at Malvern, about two years. Was married September 20, 1876, to Allie N. Tomblin, of Illinois. They are the parents of two children: Harry S. and Mabel, deceased. After his marriage he was engaged in mercantile pursuits at Emerson, for two years. He then settled on the farm where he now resides. His farm consists of one hundred and eighty-five acres, all under cultivation, upon which is one of the finest dwelling houses in the township. Is an honored member and officer in the masonic lodge of Emerson. Mr. T. is the son of Hon. L. W. Tubbs, who is one of the earliest, and has always been one of the most prominent citizens of Mills county

WEARIN, A. J., farmer and stock-raiser, P. O. Hastings; was born November 7, 1850, in the state of Indiana. In 1855 he came to Mills county with his parents, Josiah and Olive Wearin, the first of whom was born in Virginia, May 2, 1824, and the second in New York, March 21, 1828. His parents were married September 7, 1848. The education of Mr. Wearin was obtaiued in the common schools and at Tabor College. He lives on the farm with his mother, and conducts the same in a most able manner.

WEARIN, ANDREW, P. O. Hastings, farmer and stock-raiser; was born December 6, 1831, in Harrison county, Virginia. In 1832 he went to Athens county, Ohio, with his parents, and in 1838 to Hocking county. In 1852 he moved to Indiana and in 1855 came to this county, and entered 480 acres of land. April 19, 1857, he was married to Miss E. Cook, born March 21, 1857, in the state of New York. In 1860 he began to live on the land he had entered, but 1864 returned to Indiana, but came back in the same year. He is the father of six children, five of whom are living: Martha J., Edward O., Cora A., Bertha E. and James H.

[ocr errors]



Page 367. Footnote; for reste, read Teste.

369. First line; for Lay, read Say.
381. Line seventeen; for Folles, read Tolles.
384. Line fourteen; for 1821, read 1851.
402. Line three; for bv, read by.
404. Line thirteen; for The instruments, read This instrument.
435. Line thirteen; for Hendric-Jones, read Hendrie-Jones.
438. Bottom line; for appeared, read appears.
460. Line thirty-three; for in, read of.
464. Line ten; for detault, read default.
464. Line thirty-seven; for company, read county.
465. Line eight; for in its, read as its.
468. Line forty; for 1866, read 1856.
480. Line twenty-seven; for Hall, read Hale.
481. Line thirty-three; for nor, read now.
489. Line thirty-three; for Lentucky, read Kentucky.
493. Line four; for tent, read test.
494. Line four; for office, read officer.

Line six; for Sumner, read Summers.
513. Line sixteen; for rich, read sick.
524. Line eleven; for extended, read exerted.
570. Line three; for 1866, read 1876.

[ocr errors]
« PředchozíPokračovat »