The Pathfinder: The Inland Sea

Přední strana obálky
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 11. 1. 2013 - Počet stran: 400
This collector-quality edition includes the complete text of James Fenimore Cooper's classic tale of romance and adventure along the colonial Canadian frontier in a freshly edited and newly typeset edition. With a large 7.44"x9.69" page size, this Summit Classic edition is printed on hefty bright white paper with a fully laminated cover featuring an original full color design. Page headers and proper placement of footnotes exemplify the attention to detail given this volume. "The Pathfinder" was published in 1840, the fourth published of Cooper's "Leatherstocking Tales" saga. Chronologically, it is set after "The Last of the Mohicans" and before "The Pioneers" and thus third in the series. Sent on a secret mission to a British fortress hidden among the Thousand Islands of Canadian Lake Ontario, Cooper's indomitable frontier hero, Natty Bumppo, sometimes called Hawkeye or Deerslayer, is known in this tale as the Pathfinder, guiding his companions on the perilous journey to Lake Ontario, "inland sea" of the novel's subtitle. Against the background of Cooper's vivid descriptions of the frontier and the wilderness, the Pathfinder and his loyal friend Chingachgook protect the lovely Mabel Dunham, lead the party through a series of forest skirmishes, flights and escapes, and ferret out a traitor. Along the way the Pathfinder and his party ride out a storm on the lake, battle Iroquois on the Oswego River, and navigate a birch-bark canoe over a waterfall. As in many of Cooper's historical novels, a subplot of the book is a romance, this time involving the Pathfinder, Mabel and a handsome young lake captain, Jasper Western. With the publication of "The Spy" in 1821, James Fenimore Cooper became an international figure and the first authentic American novelist, free of the forms and conventions of the British fiction of the day. With "The Leatherstocking Tales" he became the first great interpreter of the American experience, chronicling the adventures of the indomitable Natty Bumppo, known variously as "Hawkeye," "Deerslayer," "Pathfinder," "Leatherstocking" and other names, from the colonial Indian wars through the early expansion into the vast western plains. Published between 1823 and 1841, beginning with "The Pioneers" and ending with "The Deerslayer," the tales are set against historical events ranging from 1740 to 1804, with Cooper taking some literary license with the actual chronology of events, probably to avoid having Bumppo ranging the Great Plains at over 90 years of age. This edition of "The Pathfinder" is the fourth volume in a new series of the complete Leatherstocking Tales released by Summit Classic Press.

Další vydání - Zobrazit všechny

O autorovi (2013)

James Fenimore Cooper, acclaimed as one of the first American novelists, was born in Burlington, N.J., on September 15, 1789. When he was one year old, his family moved to Cooperstown, N.Y., which was founded by his father. Cooper attended various grammar schools in Burlington, Cooperstown, and Albany, and entered Yale University in 1803 at the age of 13. In 1806, Cooper was expelled from Yale for pushing a rag with gunpowder under a classmate's door, causing it to explode. He then spent some time as a merchant seaman and served as a midshipman in the U.S. Navy from 1808-1811. In 1811, Cooper married Susan De Lancey, and lived the life of a country gentleman until one day in 1820. Cooper and his wife were reading a book together. When Cooper told Susan that he could write a better book than the one they were reading, she challenged him to do so. Thus began his career as an author, with Precaution (first published anonymously). Cooper is known for writing more than 50 works under his own name, Jane Morgan, and Anonymous. His works included fiction, nonfiction, history, and travel sketches. He gained insight for his travel works while the Cooper family lived in Europe from 1826 to 1833. Cooper is best known for the novel The Last of The Mohicans, which has been made into several motion picture adaptations, the most recent starring Daniel Day-Lewis as Hawkeye. The Last of the Mohicans is part of The Leatherstocking Tales, which includes the other novels, The Pioneers, The Deerslayer, and The Pathfinder. Hawkeye, whose given name is Nathaniel Bumpo, is a recurring character in the series which accurately chronicles early American pioneering life and events during the French and Indian War. In 1851, Cooper developed a liver condition, dying on September 14th of that year, just one day before his 62nd birthday.

Bibliografické údaje