The Dragons of Expectation: Reality and Delusion in the Course of History

Přední strana obálky
The publication of The Dragons of Expectation in 2005 reaffirmed Robert Conquest's stature as a leading intellectual and one of the world's great humanists. In the tradition of Isaiah Berlin's The Crooked Timber of Humanity and George Orwell's Essays, this book brilliantly traces how seductive ideas have come to corrupt modern minds; to often disastrous effects. In what Publishers Weekly called "a frontal assault on the pieties of the left," Conquest masterfully examines how false nostrums have infected academia, politicians, and the public, showing how their reliance on "isms" and the destructive concepts of "People, Nation, and Masses" have resulted in a ruinous cycle of turbulence and war. Including fresh analyses of Russia's October Revolution, World War II, and the Cold War, The Dragons of Expectation is one of the most important contributions to modern thought in recent years.

Vyhledávání v knize

Co říkají ostatní - Napsat recenzi

THE DRAGONS OF EXPECTATION: Reality and Delusion in the Course of History

Recenze od uživatele  - Kirkus

Essays by distinguished historian and humanist Conquest (Hoover Institute/Stanford) blame faulty worldviews for a wide variety of missteps and miscalculations.Following up on Reflections on a Ravaged ... Přečíst celou recenzi

LibraryThing Review

Recenze od uživatele  - ElectricRay - LibraryThing

What a curious book. In it, veteran historian Robert Conquest endeavours, so far as I can determine, to put the world to rights; nothing more, nothing less. Disappointingly, it transpires that his ... Přečíst celou recenzi

Obsah

Lemming Lore
11
Harpooning Some WordWhales
23
Choose Your Enlightenment
37
After Utopia
45
Internationalism Supranationalism
57
Slouching towards Byzantium
71
Horrible Examples
85
Into the Planned Economy
101
A Collapse of Unreality
165
Harp Song of the Humanities
173
The Whys of Art
175
Bureaucracies and Barbarism
191
Awake to Affirmation
203
Epilogue
209
Appendix A No One Foresaw the Collapse of the Soviet System
213
Appendix B An Anglosphere in the Neosphere A Political Exercise
221

Inside the New Society
111
With and Against Hitler
125
Heated Imaginations
135
A Gaggle of Misleaders
145
Select Bibliography
233
Index
241
Autorská práva

Další vydání - Zobrazit všechny

Běžně se vyskytující výrazy a sousloví

O autorovi (2005)

Robert Conquest (1917—2015), author of Reflections on a Ravaged Century and The Great Terror, was a Fellow at Stanford's Hoover Institution.

Bibliografické údaje