« PředchozíPokračovat »
2. Four members shall constitute a quorum.
Reading of minutes.
New business. The rules of order shall be the same as those governing all deliberative bodies.
The officers of the board shall be president, secretary, treasurer and superintendent.
5. The standing committees of the board—-finance, supplies, teachers, text-books, etc.—shall be appointed annually at the March meeting.
The officers and members of the board at present are: John Reed, president; C. B. Boydston, secretary; E. Baker, treasurer; board: 0. B. Ayres, D. T. Coats, S. G. Cushing, E. R. Hayes and J. D. Gainble.
H. C. Hollingsworth is the present superintendent who has under his care and direction ten teachers.
It is generally considered that there is no education which surpasses in practical benefit the newspaper which visits the home, and dealing with home matters, home interests and local surroundings, appeals to the intellect and the pride of the family by making its readers acquainted with that which immediately surrounds them. The influence of the local newspaper is generally underrated. Its treatment of great qnestions may be weak, but its appeals in behalf of its county or city seldom fall unheeded, or are cast aside as useless. It is gratifying that we can enter upon the history of newspapers in this city, after a careful examination of them at every period in the history of the county since they were established, and see the good they have done, and find that they have been so strong and influential as they have. Few other towns have had a larger number of papers, and there has been no time in its history but its newspapers have com
red most favorably with the best which surrounded them in other counties of greater popularity and pretentions. They have been found always on the right side of the great questions which affect the morals of a community; temperance, Sunday-schools, schools, and the higher education, and with every movement looking to progress.
The first newspaper established in Knoxville was the Journal, established by Wm. M. Štone in 1855. It was established a short time after the organization of the Republican party and it and its immediate successors have been always regarded as the inost able and fearless exponents of Republicanism in the State. We are enabled to trace out the career of the Journal and its successors of different names until the Journal again appeared but are not able to give the names of all the proprietors and editors nor the dates when these changes in ownership took place. We give the facts so far as we have been able to get at them. The Journal which was established by Stone was published in 1857 by W. J. Bigelow, who in October of the same year took in as partner J. C. Baird.
Sometime prior to 1865, B. F. Williams purchased the paper which in the meantime was changed to the Republican.
During the year 1865, Williains took in a partner named H. W. Robinson. In August, 1866, Williams & Robinson sold the Republican to W.G. Cambridge, who in turn sold the paper to A. F. Sperry and Francis C. Barker, in March, 1867. Opon taking possession of the paper Sperry & Barker changed the name to The Voter.
In August, 1872, Sperry sold out his interest to Mr. Barker, who published the paper alone until June 4, 1876, when Mr. T. C. Masteller became associated with him. The firm name was Barker & Masteller, and with the first issue by the new proprietors the name was changed to Knoxville Journal, the original name of the paper.
In the issue dated June 11, 1874, appears the following editorial giving reasons for changing the name:
“Knoxville Journal will surprise all of our readers, of course; bnt to many—those who in the early days of the Republican party and the latter days of its illustrious Whig predecessor, the familiar name will be an agree able surprise, reminding them of the pioneer days of 1855, of 1856 and the rallying cry of • Freemen, Free soil and Fremont; of the birth of the party which has made free men of millions of slaves, which gave free soil to Kansas, and in its youthful struggle to elect Fremont; Made way for Liberty'—here the quotation must end, it did not die. But we have almost lost our text.
“The name is not new. During all the years you have been reading the Marion County Republican and the Iowa Voter, the same types—in part-have been doing you service which under the name of Knoxville Journal, exhorted the people of Marion county and the Hawkeye State to vote for John C. Fremont and Abraham Lincoln. During all these years you have really been reading the Knoxville Journal in disguise. The old name is really more euphoneous than either of its substitutes; it is more in keeping with the character of the paper; does not presume to occnpy a field too broad, as did the name just laid aside--it is much more modest. The Journal is proud of its hoine, and proud of the name of one of the most moral, peaceful and prosperous, and consequently happiest cities in Iowa; not ashamed of the name Knoxville as part of its own and indulges the hope that Knoxville may never be ashamed of the Journal.
“October 1, 1855, the Journal was established, and hence is now alınost nineteen years old. It will attain its majority in 1876, the centennial year of our national independence, although it has been a Voter seven years.
This management continued about two years, when Mr. Barker became and has since been publisher and proprietor.
The second newspaper enterprise in Knoxville was started by J. L. McCormack in September, 1865.
Although Mr. McCormack served two terms in the State Senate after that, he continued the publication of the Democrat until February, 1879, when he sold the paper and the commodious brick building which he had erected for an office, to D. Overton, Esq.
Upon purchasing the paper and material Mr. Overton leased it to Minos Miller and J. D. Gainble, who changed it from a Democrat to a Greenback paper.
In January, 1880, Messrs. Miller & Gamble retired and since then it has
been published by S. van der Meulen and F. Florey, the former being editor and the latter manager of the mechanical department of the office.
In February, 1880, the name of the paper was changed from that of the Democrat to that of the Express. Since assuming control of the paper Florey & van der Meulen have met with good success, they having doubled their circulation in a little over one year.
Mr. van der Meulen, the editor, is a native of Germany, he having been a citizen of the United States but a few years, and prior to assuming editorial charge of the paper had but little newspaper experience. He is a man, however, of good education, having graduated from the Eberfeldt Seminary, one of the best schools in Germany. After coming to this country he corresponded with several journals in Holland and Hanover and dur ing the last few months prior to the retirement of Miller & Gamble from the Democrat, was assistant editor.
Upon assuming editorial management of the paper Mr. van der Meulen. published the following salutatory:
"In taking charge of the Democrat we feel it due the friends and patrons of this paper to say a few words as explanation in regard to the editorial and business management of this paper, and also to let the public know the course we expect to pursue. Having leased the Democrat office from Mr. Drewry Overton, we shall employ our best talent, energy and pluck to make it a welcome visitor to every household in Marion county, a pride to the city of Knoxville and a credit to ourselves. We are well aware that we are entering a new field, one which requires talent not alone, but also experience in order to assure a large measure of success. Yet we believe ourselves to be able to amend what we lack by paying strict attention to business, and thus command the patronage and good-will, of not alone the old patrons, but of a good many more.
"We suppose it is hardly necessary to say that we will most heartily advocate the principles of the National Greenback party, upon the merits of the same, believing that only by the means of them this nation can once more be prosperons and happy.
"And now, with good-will to all, and malice to none, we roll up our sleeves, go to work, and try to merit the good-will and patronage of the public so freely given to this paper in the past.'
In less than one year after disposing of the Democrat, Mr. McCormack determined to re-embark in the newspaper business, and in January, 1879, started a paper called the Reporter. He has just completed a very convenient two-story brick building twenty by forty-six feet, on Third Street, north of public square. The first story is fitted up for editor's office and press-room; the second story is used for composing rooms.
Mr. McCormack has a genius for the editorial profession and is regarded as one of the best newspaper men in the State.
Upon establishing the Democrat in 1865, Mr. McCormack published the following salutatory:
"It has always been the custom, we believe, in bringing a newspaper before the people for their patronage and support, to set forth the object that caused its advent, if any particular object exists; and to lay down rules by which it, in its intercourse with its readers, will be controlled.
"Since the organization of parties, newspapers have generally advocated the principles and policy of one or the other political parties, and it is expected that an editor on assuming the chair should inform those who are
expected to be his readers to what party he ackoowlodges allegiance, and what organization will be supported in his columns.
“ We acknowledge the justness of these customs, and in as plain and brief a manner as is possible, will endeavor to meet their demands.
“ It has long been obvions to every one, that there was greatly needed in this county, a newspaper differing greatly from the one heretofore in exist ence in this city, both as a medium for the circulation of news, as well as in the position it occupied upon political questions.
“We have nndertaken, and will endeavor to supply the deficiency which bas heretofore existed.
• It is the intention to make this sheet a welcome visitor to the firesides of every household; to give instruction, afford pleasure and enjoyment in the perusal of its columns, and it possible to bring about a little better onderstanding in the minds of the people, as to the true duties of neighborly citizenship.
" To the farmer, we will weekly devote a reasonable portion of our space -selecting from the best authority within our reach such matter as will be interesting, instructive and profitable.
“To the merchant and consumer, we will pay attention in our selections endeavoring to keep him posted in the markets in our cities, and also will
pay strict attention to our home sales-giving weekly the prices of all articles of produce sold in our market.
“To the interest of the general reader we will not be neglectful. Every weck will be found upon our pages selections of literary worth. Poetry, historical incidents, clippirgs that please the mind; and to those that love to spend an idle moment in romance, our paper will be a welcome guest.
“As a newspaper, we intend that the Democrat shall rank among the first in the list of county papers. "In politics this paper will support the principles and stand by the or
. ganization of the Democratic party. It acknowledges allegiance to none other, and will pay fealty to the behests of its regular organization alone.
“ Believing that the safety of our republican institutions require a return to the principles of the party that established the Union, we shall labor for the overthrow of the party now in power; and insist upon a return to the condition of things that existed before traitors endeavored to destroy the goverment. Having always opposed treason, there will no pleas or excuses for those who have been guilty appear in these columns; but believing that section alone does not furnish the badge, we shall arraign those whom we believe to be guilty, no matter to what party or section they be
" As an advertising medium we expect froin the extent of onr circulation to make our pages sought after by business men of all kinds.
“Asking of all a candid consideration, we submit ourselves to you."
The first ineeting called for the purpuse of erecting a church was the Methodist Episcopals on October 25, 1852. The meeting was held at the honse of E. G. Stanfield. The following persons were present: Rev. A. W Johnson, John Butcher, Conrad Walters, Luke McKern, John R. Palmer, James Cunningham, Levi Clearwater and A. W. Collins.
Prior to that time, and probably as early as 1845, a Methodist minister by the name of Nenr, visited Knoxville and formed an organization of this denomination.
At the date first referred to; viz., October 25, 1852, the first definite measures were taken for the erection of a building. A. W. Collins was appointed secretary of the meeting, and preparations were made to secure from the county the donation of a building. A church building organization was formed, and trustees were elected, as it was necessary for the church to have trustees before the organization could receive or hold property.
Among the records of the county judge we find the following, dated Jan. uary 21, 1853:
“ On this day a petition of E. G. Stanfield and forty others, is presented, praying of the county judge to grant to the trustees of the Methodist Episcopal Church two lots lying in the city of Knoxville, in this county, said lots being the property of this county. After hearing said petition, and having examined the said matter, and being fully advised in the premises, it is ordered that said petition be granted; and it is further ordered by the county judge that the following named lots be donated to the Methodist Episcopal Church; provided the said church will build a church in the said town of Knoxville; to-wit., lots 6 and 7 in block 28, in the said town of Knoxville.
“County Judge.” The church building was accordingly erected on the lots before mentioned, and the house was dedicated to the worship of Almighty God on the 28th day of May, 1856, by the Rev. John Jay. This building was a small brick, which was sold to the United Presbyterians in 1858, and a large two story brick church was erected on a lot one block east and one block south of the public sqnare. This building is still used by the denom. ination as a place of worship.
The building is two stories high, 40x60 feet, and cost about $6,000. At the time this building was erected the organization had a membership of over 300.
Owing to the division and subdivisions of the membership by the formation of other organizations of the same denomination through the sur. rounding country, and the erection of numerous other church buildings in the county, the membership at present is not as great as it was in 1858. The members at present number 210.
In connection with the church there is a flourishing Sunday-school with an enrollment of about 175 pupils.
The church and Sunday-school contributed during the last conference year over $1,000 for the various benevolent purposes.
W. G. Wilson is the presiding elder, and J. W. Robinson is the pastor, he being now in his second year as pastor of the church. R. Baxter is superintendent of the Sunday school.
The next religions society which undertook the erection of a church building, though possibly not the second to be organized, was the Congregationalist.
Bearing date of July 21, 1853, about six months after the donation of the two lots to the M. E. Church, was issued by the county judge the fol. lowing order: