« PředchozíPokračovat »
of Iowa, gradnating in the spring of 1865, then went to Kansas, locating at Auburn, where he coinmenced the practice of his profession, continuing for two years, then returned to Iowa, locating at Red Rock, Marion county, where he has succeeded in establishing a good practice. Has been twice married. Has three children: Fred L., Clinton V., Grace I. THOMASON, RICHARD- Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 10, P. O.
Monroe. Was born in Highland county, Ohio, February 28, 1826, and was raised there. In 1855, he emigrated to Iowa, and now owns 540 acres of land. His educational advantages were very limited, but he has made the best use of his advantages and acquired by observation and experience good business qualifications. He came to this county in very limited circumstances and cominenced digging coal, and after providing for his family had saved enough to purchase his first forty acres of land. He married Miss Sarah Ronsh, Angust 1, 1847. She was also born in Highland county, Ohio. They have a family of nine children: Lewis, William, John, Eliza J., Henry, Catharine, Benjamin F., Jaines F., and Lucy E. They lost one.
ILSON, GAVIN-Farmer, Sec. 4, P. O. Monroe. He was born
in Lanark, Scotland, June 29, 1831. When seventeen years of age came to the United States, landing in the city of New York, stopping for a period of four months, then went to La Salle, Illinois, and engaged in mining coal. From here went to Wisconsin, thence to Monroe, Iowa, id
1860, and for a time operated a coal mine. Then moved on to his present . farm. He owns 160 acres of land well improved, with good substantial
buildings. He married Miss Jane Nemins March 6, 1853, a native of Scot. land. The family consists of ten children: Margaret, Ann, Jenette, James H., J., Willie G., Dolla, John C., David C., Gevanie.
WILLIAMS, JOHN— Fariner and stock-raiser, Sec. 29, P. O. Red Rock. ? Among those who made their bome in Marion county at an early day, is
the subject of this sketch. He was born in Morgan county, Indiana, Feb. i ruary 13, 1821. He owns a good farm of 243 acres and has made a specialty : of raising fine horses and Jiogs, and his colts are among the finest in the county, and as a good agriculturist he is a success. He is fond of hunting and fishing, but not to the neglect of his farming interests. He married Miss Lucinda Mullins March 17, 1853. She is a native of Tennessee, and was born December 25, 1831. They have two children: Henry C. and James M. YOU OUKUM, ISAAC-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 3, P. O. Monroe.
Among the old settlers and pioneers of Marion county who have en. dured many hardships and privations, may be mentioned Mr. Yokum. He was born in Sangamon county, Illinois, January 1, 1822, and was raised on a farm. He removed to Marion county, Iowa, in the spring of 1849, and settled on the open prairie and commenced making his farin. He married Miss Catharine Wiseman, December 14, 1842. She is a native of Indiana. Born in 1822. They have ten children: Martha E., Francis H., Julia E., Mary J., Russell C., Louisa, Harriet C., William F., Isaac N., Linda E. and George T. Mr. Yokum coinmenced life very poor, but by energy and industry has accumulated a reasonable competence. He owne 64+ acres of land, well improved, and has one of the best orchards in the township.
YOUNG, MARION-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 5, P. O. Monroe. Born in Ohio, October 13, 1837, where he was raised and educated. In 1867 came to Marion county, Iowa, and settled on a farm. He is one of those keen, observing men. As an agriculturist he has been quite successful. He owns 130 acres of land, well improved. Fine stock is bia specialty. On the 7th day of September, 1859, he married Miss Mary M. Gossett, a lady of retined tastes. By this marriage they have ten children: Americns, Louie A., Ellsworth, Joseph L., Ida E. B., Virda J., Nona V. Estella, Edna and Mary B.
YOWELL, J. V.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 27, P. O. Red Rock Was born in Culpepper county, Virginia, March 7, 1839, and moved with his parents to Ohio in the fall of 1852, and was raised on a farm. In 1835 he came to Marion county, ļowa, where he has since lived. He owns 200 acres of land, well improved, with good buildings. He married Miss Eliza. beth Core, October 26, 1862. She is a native of Ross county, Ohio, and is the danghter of Isaac Core, Esq. They have eight children: Lou. E., Renben E., Carrie M., Minnie L., Jasper I. and Walter. Lost four.
Organization and Name -Burying-grounds— Town of Bennington-Perryville_Statistics Biographical
ORGANIZATION AND NAME.
At a session of the connty commissioner's court, January 6, 1847, it was ordered tlfat township 77, range 21, be called Perry. This naine was in honor of Commodore Perry, of the Lake Erie victory notoriety. suggested by some of the citizens that it should be called Cincinnati, but this name was not adhered to after the township was organized.
As above detined it included all of the present township of Perry and all that of Swan, except two sections and four half sections belonging to town. ship 76, range 21, since added to Swan. The place of holding elections was at the house of Willian Markley.
At this election about fourteen votes were cast, and Dan. Kiger and Hezekiah Gay were elected justices; Jaines M. Brous and Joshua Linsey, constables; Asa Hughes and Joshua Linsey, trustees; and James M. Bronis clerk. The first precinct election was held at the house of Asa Hughes, April 7, 1846, 13 votes cast.
This and the next election were held north of the river, and the two fol. lowing south of it; but the flood of 1851 caused a dissatisfaction among the people, owing to the inconvenience of crossing the river, and so, at the July session of the commissioner's court, 1852, it was ordered that that por. tion of township 77, range 21, north of the Des Moines River, constiinte the township of Perry. Elections to be held at the town of Bennington. At this election Harrison Freel was elected justice, but we have no record of any other officers,
Perry is the north west corner township of the county, and is bounded on the north by Jasper county, on the cast by Red Rock, on the south br Swan, with the Des Moines River as its boundary line, and on the west bj Warren and Polk counties.
The township is mostly timbered, and, with the exceptions of the bottom
lands on the river, somewhat hilly. Coal is abundant along the north bank of the Des Moines River, and on the small streams. It is the smallest, both in area and population, in the county, having an area of 7,500 acres, and population of 434. The Des Moines River forms the entire southern boundary, and Walnut Creek flows in a southeasterly direction through the eastern part of the township.
The value of the real estate is estiinated at $13,753, and the personalty at $13,086. 6. There are 195 cattle, 207 sheep, 183 horses and 551 swine. There are
four saw-mills, four burying-grounds, four school-houses and four road
Justices—Wm. J. Hughes and Wm. Gregory.
Constable-Wm. Cambridge. Perry township being a rough, timbered region, wild game was quite plentiful at an early date, and even within the past few years wild cats and lynxes have existed there. We may relate a little wild cat adventure, of which J. M. Brons was the hero. It occurred in the spring of 1846, when Mr. B. was employed in making rails some distance from his house. Observing a large elın stund, about twenty feet high, with a hole in it near the ground, he incautiously put his head in it to see what discoveries he could make. And the discovery he did make caused him withdraw his countenance as speedily as possible; for, within a very short distance of it was a great mother wild cat and her three kittens. Mr. B. had no gun, so be closed the hole securely, went for help, and soon the old cat was ousted from her den, killed by doys, and the kittens captured. After being retained a short time they were not deemed a sate breed to adopt as a part of the domestic circle, and were dispatched.
The first preacher of-the gospel that labored in this township was a Rev. Mr. Kline, of the M. E. Church. He was succeeded by the Rev. Mr. Rainer of the same denomination.
The first person that taught school was Patience Drouillard, at her own house, in 1850. She had from fifteen to twenty scholars. The next school was taught by James M. Brous, near his present residence. He had an attendance of from twenty to thirty scholars.
The largest burying ground in Perry township is located in section 1, near the house of Paul Winschel, and is known as the “Cowman” Burying ground. It was first used about thirty years ago, and now contains as many as seventy-five graves.
Another place for burial is found in section 15, containing about twentyfive graves. It is called the “Hughes” burial ground.
A third in section 11 called the “Donaloo" ground and contains about fourteen graves.
A fourth containing six graves in section 2, and belonging to the “Wagner” family.
TOWN OF BENNINGTON.
This old town was laid out in August, 1848, by E. H. Baker, but has never contained over three or funr honses, and now not even a post-office
. It was platted from the east half of section 9.
A ferry owned and operated by Thompson Price crosses the Des Moine river at Bennington.
Hezekiah Gay was a bachelor, and is well remembered for his eccedtricities. For some time after his settlement in the township, he lived by himself in a rude shanty near the present site of Bennington, and was much occupied with speculative ideas of manufacturing inachinery to be operated by the water-power of the Des Moines river. Full of his plans of constructing an immense woolen factory, he was often seen with a minature trough filled with water, taking the level of the river, to ascertain what height be should build his dam to have sufficient power. But there was other power needed than water, and this Hezekiah had not, either in porse or in credit; 80 the water-power was never brought into service. He then became interested in a shingle machine; and this involved him to an extent tha: subjected the property to an execution. About this time Hezekiah was seen on his way to " Tool's Point" (now Monroe), to procure a rope, as be stated to a neighbor, to serve as a belt for his machine. This was the last that was ever heard of Gay and his factory.
Immediately west of the town of Bennington, and about an eighth of a mile distant from it, is another town, named Perryville, which was laid out st an early day. Althongh it is possible the present residents of this locality have never heard of Perryville, the plat may be found in the proper book in the county recorder's office in Knoxville. It is as large, on paper, as almost any other town in the county. Whether the rapid growth of Benningtos was the cause of Perryville's early death we know not, but we do know that it died in infancy and its boulevards and beautiful residence sites are now devoted to the raising of corn, pumpkins, and other farm flowers, and that the over-sanguinc individuals, who invested in corner lots, wished they bad not been so foolish.
Real estate valued at..
Total valuation .....
Population in 1870, 465; in 1875, 491; in 1880, 454.
The subject of this sketch is one of the pioneers of Marion county, and since his residence here no man has been more closely identified with the interests of Perry township. He was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, April 5th, 1817, and lived there until twelve years of age, and then removed to Highland county, Ohio, and lived there until 1875, and then came to Iowa and settled in Mahaska county, where he remained until 1846, and then came to Marion county and settled in Perry township. He owns
farm of 180 acres, and in addition to his agricultural pursnits and various offices he has held, he has had quite an extensive law practice, and has a good reputation as a wise counselor. He has held all the township offices, and at present is a justice of the peace. He married Miss Mary Karr, of Ross county, Ohio, March 21, 1839. They have five children, Malinda, Charles G., Albert H., Elmira, James N., and they have lost three.
BROUS, B. F.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 8, P. O. Swan. Was horn September 25, 1824, in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. When he was only five years of age his parents moved to Highland county, Ohio, where he was raised and educated. In the fall of 1846 he moved to Marion county, Iowa, and lived there until 1848, when he moved to Jasper county, and in 1852 he returned to Marion county, where he now resides. Mr. Brous be. ing raised in a timbered country, and thinking that was the only place to make a farm he settled in the timber, and by severe toil he now has a farm of 184 acres, 80 of which are in cultivation. He also has one of the best houses in the township, being two-story and finished in the best of style. He was a member of the board of supervisors nine years, township clerk about five years, assessor six years, justice of the peace twenty-two years, township trustee six years. He was married to Miss Jane Johnston, of Miami county, Ohio, May 4, 1848. She was born Deccember 26, 1828. They have seven children, Ida T., Martha A., Mary R., Rhama J., Sylvester R., Rose A., and Almeda B. COW. NOLLINS, WILLIAM.-Physician and surgeon, Sec. 5, P. O. Swan.
Was born January 25, 1833, in Brown county, New York, and is the son of Joseph Collins. The same year he was taken by his parents to Portage county, Ohio, where the family remained two years, and thence to Tuscarawas county, in the same State, and lived there six years. In 1841 they moved to Huntington county, Indiana, and in 1853 came to Jasper county, Iowa. September 28th, 1861, he enlisted in the Fourteenth Iowa infantry, company E, and participated in several battles. November 11th, 1864, he was mustered out with impaired health from exposure while in camp.
He was raised a farmer and followed it more or less until 1875, when he decided to practice medicine and commenced preparing himself