« PředchozíPokračovat »
first, to Miss Harriet Field, January 23, 1844. She dying left five children: Alonzo A., Albertin C., Fredrick N., Ella and John N. His second marriage occurred December 19, 1870, to Mrs. Julia Dunn. R
IGGLE, A.–Farmer, Section 14, P. O. Star. Was boru in Carroll
county, Ohio, July 3, 1830. He was raised on a farm, and in 1854 came to lowa and settled in Cedar county, and in the spring of 1865 came to Marion county. Owns a farm of forty acres. He married Miss Julia A. Simmons March 5, 1852. She was also born in Carroll county, Ohio. They have four children: Eliza J.., Isabel, M. S. G. and Edwin S. Lost one son, Rufus.
RITCHIE, J. G.--Sec. 25, P. O. Dallas. Among the early pioneer set. tlers who have watched the growth of the township, from a few scattered houses to the present population, and have seen it take-its place as one of the foremost in the county, is the name that heads this sketch. born in Miami county, Ohio, August 30, 1832, and lived there until seventeen years of age. He caine with his parents to Marion county, Iowa, May 14, 1849. He owns a farm of 400 acres, well improved, and is one of the leading stock-raisers and dealers in Franklin township. As an agricul. turist he has few superiors. He married Miss Louisa E. Miller June 23, 1853. She is a native of Putnam county, Indiana, and was the daughter of John Miller, Esq. They have six children: Mary J., Cyntha E., Minnie M., James L., John W. and Maggie L.
ROSENBERG, DON—Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 31, P. O. Caloma. Was born in Otsego county, New York, December 4, 1832, and principally raised in his native county. In the spring of 1848 he moved to Maryland; from there to Wisconsin; thence to Minnesota. He enlisted in company C, Fourth Minnesota infantry, and served one year, and participated in the following battles: Luka, Corinth and other important engageinents. He was mustered out in 1862. He then settied in Illinois, residiog there three years; and then went to Kossuth county, Iowa, in the fall of 1865; thence to Marion county, in the fall of 1874. He married Miss Martha H. Ben. nett October 26, 1856. She was a daughter of Wilson Bennett. They have eleven children: William H., Emma L., Mary E., Ida H., Nellie, Alfa M., Alma, Charles F., Jacob A., Edwin S. and George.
NYDER, J.-Farmer, Sec. 29, P. O. Caloma. S
Was born in Richland county, Ohio, September 24, 1828. When twelve years of age he moved with his parents to Missouri, settling on what was then known as the Platt purchase, in the fall of 1840. From this place he came to Polk county, Iowa, where he lived two years, and then went to California, and lived there three years and returned to Polk county. After a residence in Ringgold and Warren counties he came to Marion county, in 1874. He married Miss May Fouk, October 2, 1856. Their family consists of six children.
SNIDER, JOHN-Fariner, Sec. 1, P. O. Knoxville. Was born in Fayette county, Ohio, August 21, 1826, and was raised there on a farın. He came to Marion county in 1853, and has since made his home here. He bas been twice married; first, to Miss Sarah a Chaney, of Highland county, Ohio, born June 26, 1826. His second marriage occurred May 18, 1859, in Marion county, and by this union had the following children: William E., Elizabeth E., Ida May, Mary L., Edith E., Cora and Catharine J.
SOUTH, J.D.-Sec. 32, P. O. Caloma. Born in the State of New York, on the 22d day of February, 1822, and was raised there. In 1850 he re
moved to Maryland, and in the spring of 1857 came to Marion counts, Iowa, settling in the timber. He erected a small log house 10x12 feet for his dwelling. Forty rods from this mansion was the school-house in which Mr. South acted in the capacity of teacher. The seats were made of slaba and the house was the typical school building of the early settlement of the country. Mr. S. continued to teach school for many years. He com menced lite in very meager circumstances, and by industry and economy be has acquired quite a coinpetency. On the 23d day of October, 1842, be married Miss Mary L. Sweatman. She died leaving two children, Welling
. ton and Byron. His second marriage occurred July 6, 1848, to a daughter of Mrs. Catharine Rosenburg. By this union they have eight children: Nina, May L., Antoinette P., Eugenie I., Charlie A., James S., Mortimer D. and Edward S. Lost one. VANI
ANHYNING, E.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 12, P. (). Koor
ville. Was born in Madison county, Ohio, September 22d, 1833 He emigrated with his parents to Lee county, Iowa, in the fall of 1843. From there he moved to Warren county in the spring of 1862, residing there two years, and in 1864 moved to Marion county, locating upon bis farm, containing 235 acres of land, well improved. On the 12th day of April, 1856, he married Miss Mary Bussing, daughter of Oliver Bussing, Esq. She was born in the State of New York, Febrnary 28, 1836. By this union they have ten children: Emma N., Willie J., Ella S., Joel D. Manda J., James O., Cora B., George N., Effa May and Myrtle. ELSHER, A. A.–Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 22, P. O. Star.
. Was born in the State of New York, November 20, 1827. At the age of eight years he removed with his parents to Ohio, where he resided until he attained his majority. His early life was that of a farmer boy, attending the common schools of the Buckeye State. In 1852 he went over land to Califarnia, returning to his native State in 1855. In 1861 he came to Marion county. On the 13th of January, 1857, Miss Mary A. Roland be came his wife. Their union has been blessed by two children: Ashley A. and Bertram R. Mr. Welsher's landed estate consists of 425 acres. His residence, which is one of the finest in the county, is pleasantly located and indicates comfort. He makes a specialty of stock-raising and has grades that will compare with any in the county. Mr. Welsher is in every sense of the word a self-made man, as he started in life in meager circumstances He is now serving his third term as member of the county board.
WILLSON, MRS. JEMIMA-Sec. 29, P. O. Caloma. Was born in the State of New York, May 20, 1809. At the age of twelve years she removed with her parents to Trumbull connty, Ohio in the fall of 1821, living there until she was married, then moved to Illinois, thence to Lee connty, Iowa. and from there to Marion county in 1857, then to Missouri, and returned to Marion county in the fall of 1860. She married Jesse Wilson in 1830. Op the twenty-third day of March, 1867, he died, leaving no children. He was 3 native of Vermont, born May 14, 1816. They have been quite unfortunate. having their house burned twice; once a total loss. She owns 240 acres of land well improved. She is quite advanced in years, but active in body and mind.
WINES, E. L.--Sec. 13, P. O. Star. Was born in Erie county, Ohio, January 3, 1828, and raised on a farm, then moved to Wisconsin, where his stay was very short. He moved to Lee county, Iowa, in the fall of 1850. Resided there four years, during which time he worked at the carpenter's trade. From this place he moved to Marion county, Iowa, in the spring of 1854, settling in Knoxville. Afterward moved on to the farm now occupied, containing ninety-five acres of well improved land. He is a inan who has been prominently identified with the interests of his township. Has been twice appointed postmaster of Star, which office he now holds. During the late war he enlisted in company G, Fortieth Iowa infantry, and served his country faithfully and well, and was mustered out August 7, 1865. He married Miss Mary Sweezey on the eighth day of April, 1851. She was a native of Ohio, and was born in Medina county. They have three children: Rollin E., Luella P. and Homer E.
Organization an Early History-Newbern-Dallas-New Chicago-Churches—Biographical.
Dallas is the southwest corner township of the county, and is technically described as township 74, range 21. It is bounded on the north by Franklin, on the east by Washington, on the south by Lucas county, and on the west by Warren ccunty.
Whitebreast runs through the northwest quarter, and a nameless branch of English takes its rise in the interior, and runs through the southeast quarter of the township. Timber is more abundant than in Franklin, but covers much less than half the surface. Coal abounds along these streams, aud numerous veins have been opened, averaging about three feet in thick
One owned by John F. Willis, near Dallas, is worked. But the richest coal fields are to be found in the west and southwest.
From the sixth of January, 1847, till the second of October, 1848, this township constituted a part of Washington, after which it was ordered that it and township 75, range 21 (Franklin.) be called Dallas; and so remained till some time during the year 1852 (at precisely what date we have been unable to ascertain), when it becaine a distinct township. The first election after this was held at the house of Thomas Kirton, April 5, 1852, at which the following officers were chosen: Joseph Bauer and William J. McClain, justices; Hiram Teakel and John Clark, constables; Peter Yrentz, Alloys Bauer and Thomas Kirton, trustees.
An election was held in November, 1848, at which time nine votes were cast by settlers in what is now Dallas and Franklin; but, as in so inany cases, the record was poorly kept, carelessly handled and finally lost.
The following are the names of persons who settled in this township at the earliest dates:
Nicholas Helms, with his four sons, and Win. Willis, in 1846; Thomas Kirton, Henry Wagoner, Joseph Bauer, Peter Yrentz and Hiram Teakel in 1858; Alloys Bauer in 1849; Henry Ghoring, Henry Horsman and Jacob Smith in 1850, and Jacob Fight in 1852.
Nicholas Helms was from Ohio, and he, with his sons, took claims in what is now the sonthwest part of the township. During his residence here he was a useful citizen to the extent of his means. By the erection of a temporary hand-mill, worked by a crank, he supplied many of the early settlers with meal when it was impossible to obtain it from the great distance
people then had to go for breadstuffs. Particularly during the winter of 1848 and 1849 did this little corn-cracker prove to be of inestimable value; for, as has already been shown, it was impossible to get any distance from home on acconnt the great depth of snow. During this period, every family within reach of this inill, who had a peck of corn to convert into meal. came to it; and the faithful little make-shift was kept at work day and night, grinding a peck, or even a mess or two, for one and then another, as their turns would come, each customer taking his own turn at the crank.
In the fainily of Mr. Helms occurred the first inarriage in the township. that of his son Jesse and Miss Sarena Wind, whose parents resided withic the limits of Lucas county. The wedding took place in Dallas, Deceun ber 25, 1847.
And to this couple was born the first child in the township, Henry Helms, August 2, 1848.
The western portion of Dallas is mostly settled with Germans, a part of whom are Lutberans in doctrinal faith, and the others Catholic. Rev.J.F. Shearer, an American Lutheran minister first organized a society of thos holding to that faith in 1854. About sixteen families were united, making a membership of forty-five. But, as Mr. Shearer could only speak English . his place was soon taken by Rev. Wilhelın Hounderdosse, from Germany.
The Catholic Church was organized in 1854, by the union of nine persons of that faith, by whom a hewed log church was soon erected, 16x18 feet. with belfry. This organization was not effected by the aid of a priest, and it was not till after the erection of a house of worship, that Father Jobu Krekel held services in that community. A frame building has been erected for a parsonage.
Wm. Demoss and —- Johnson first formed societies of United Bretbreu and Methodists, in 1851-2.
Asa Davis taught the first school in a round log cabin built for the purpose, in 1852. Henry R. Klinginan taught next.
Newbern was surveyed by F. M. Frush, by request of Ransom Davis, oa the southeast quarter of the southeast quarter of section 31, September 9 1851. One of the chainmen was Joseph S. Howard, now Professor How ard, of McGee College, Missouri. The other is not remembered. It was so nained by Mr. Davis, from a town of the same name in Indiana. Nine lots were sold at anction, at from four to eight dollars per lot. Mr. Davis built the first house within the plat, a hewed log that stood on the north side of the village. Jesse Moon sold the first goods, till he disposed of the business to Fletcher Kane. The first post-office was kept by Joseph Horard, father of Joseph S., mentioned above. He received his commission in tha spring of 1853, not having been previously consulted.
His successor was Fletcher Kane.
The population of Newbern is about fifty. It contains one church, two stores of general merchandise, one blacksmith shop, one carpenter shop, steam mill, hotel, drus store, and an establishment which deals in hardware and agricultural implements. The church belongs to the United Presbyterians.
The town of Dallas was at first called Obio, on account of the number of cattlers from that State, in the neighborhood. But it was eventually found advisable to change it to Dallas, in conformity to the popular habit of calling it so when Dallas post-office was about all there was of the town, and was there before it.
Dallas post-office was established in 1855, and was first kept by John Parrett, in a little log house still standing, but unoccupied. The first house was built by Hiram L. George, who also sold the first goods. The place dow contains two stores, two blacksmith shops, a commodions M. E. Church building, and a good school-house. The stores enjoy the trade of a fine farming country lying south and east of the town.
Dallas has a population of about fifty. There are two hotels or boarding houses, and a Methodist Episcopal Church. The church was organized in the fall of 1853, at the house of Joel Campbell, with a membership of fourteen. Rev. John Jay was the pastor at the time the church was organized. A church edifice was erected in 1855. It is 22x45 feet, and cost $2,200.
is a post-office, located on the northwest quarter of section 17. There is also, at New Chicago, a store of general merchandise.
The Evangelical Church, or Whitebreast Mission, was organized in 1869, with a membership of ten. The church building is located on the northwest quarter of section 12. It is a frame structure, 28x42 feet. The membership of the circuit is 200. Rev. J. A. Haut is at present pastor.
St. Joseph's Church was founded in 1874 by Rev. John Bahman. The church building is located on the north west corner of section 20. It is a brick building, 40x60 feet, and cost $9,000. Rev. S. F. Wieland is the present pastor.
Union Chapel is located on the southwest corner of the northeast quarter of section 25. It is a frame building, founded in 1875, and cost $1,600. It is used by all denominations.
The Evangelical Lutheran Church has a building 30x40 feet which was built in the summer of 1874. It is located on the northwest quarter of section 8, on the land owned by Mr. Horsman. It has a membership of about seventy-five. Rev. W. F. Strobel is the present pastor.
RNOLD, DAVID, Sr.—(Deceased). Was born at Little Falls, New
York, in 1792. Was there raised to manhood, educated and learned the mill-wright trade. After participating in the War of 1812, he engaged in general contracting and milling business at Zanesville, Ohio, where he resided until 1854, when he came to Marion county and engaged in agricultural pursuits in Dallas township. He was married at Little Falls in 1812, to Miss Alfie Lenard, of Albany, New York. By this union they had eight children: Lucy, Lavina, Mary, Samuel, David, Š. S., Edward, Phebe (deceased). DAVIĎ, the second son, was born in Muskingum, ceanty, Ohio, Angust 6, 1827, and was there raised to manhood, educated and learned the mill-wright trade. In 1851 he came to Iowa and engaged in mill-building and contracting, operating at Burlington, Oskaloosa, Ottumwa