Obrázky stránek
PDF
ePub

and other points. Came to Marion county in the autumn of 1854, locating in Dallas township, where he resided one year. In 1855 he removed to Union county, where for fifteen years he was engaged in contracting and general architectural work. He was married December 24, 1653, i Miss H. M. Pierce, of Chancellorville, Ohio, Shre died August 1: 1866. Mr. Arnold was again married October 14, 1867, to Margare Veight. He has by these unions eleven children: Edward, David, Non Grace, Minerva, Laura, Frank, Mary, Floretta, William, Charlie. For to past ten years he has been engaged in agricultural pursuits and stock-raising His farm is among the tinest in Union county, the buildings and appurtena ces indicating taste, and the management of careful and well-disciplices judgment. He is extensively engaged in silver mining in Arizona, where be spends a portion of time, being a share-holder of the Oro Blanco and to other mines that will compare favorably with any in the Territory. Is s Master Mason. David Arnold, Sr., after an active career of twenty-six year in the county passed away in June, 1880. Mrs. Alfie Arnold still reside in Dallas township.

ARNOLD, S. S.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 28, P. 0. Chariton. M: Arnold was born April 25, 1830, at New Conger, Ohio, where he was principally raised on a farm and where he received his education. He learbe: the milling business at an early age with his father. In 1854 he remore? to Knox county, Ohio, where he followed the milling business for for years. He came to this county in 1858 and engaged in agricultural pursnit for a short time. Leaving his family here he went to Colorado and engaged in mining in which he continued about two and a half years. Hearing of the repeated defeats of the Federal army be hastened to the front and enlisted in company G, Fortieth Iowa, in August, 1862, as a private, and passed through the various grades of promotion and was commissione captain of company K. He took part in the battles of Vicksburg, Jenkins Ferry and other engagements in which his regiment participated. He was mustered out at the close of the war at Fort Gibson, Indian Territory, and returned to this county and engaged in farining and stock-raising with god success. His landed estate consists of 465 acres and his stock is of hiy grades and thorough-breds. He has a large mining interest in Arizona o a substantial and remunerative character. He married Miss E. M. Gill :)

. 1854. She was born in Norwich, Ohio. They have four children: Alice.

: . Rosa, Minnie and Harry. OMGARDNER, II.-Farmer, Sec. 4, P. O. Dallas. Was born in 181&

in Gerinany where he was raised on a farm. ter's trade when eighteen years old and followed it until he came here 1850. He crossed the ocean in the sail vessel Ambassador, landing at Ver Orleans. He came to this county and settled in 1850 where he has sine lived. He owns a farm of 175 acres. He married Miss Dorth Frobasin in Germany in 1833. She was born in 1807. By this union they have three children: Dora, Henry and Sophia. Lost one, Fred. Himself and wife are inembers of the Lutheran Church of this place. AMPBELL, BROMWELL-Farmer, Sec. 11, P. O. Dallas. Was born

January 2, 1833, in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, where he lived until six years of age. He then removed to Coshocton county, Ohio, with his parents where he was principally raised on a farm. He emigrated to Fairfield, Jefferson county, Iowa, in 1852, thence to this county in the spring of 1853, where he has since resided, following agricultural pursuits, except

а

two years residence in Indianola, for the purpose of educating his children. He has held the office of township clerk one term and school director for fifteen vears. He married Miss Minerva A. Garner, June 15, 1856. She was born in 1836 in Indiana. They have threee children: Alwilda, Luella and James Lincoln. Himself, wife and two daughters are inembers of the M. E. Church of Dallas. Mr. Campbell entered the land he now lives on in the Fairfield land-office in 1852. He has a fine farın of 160 acres, a fine orchard and a maple grove of three acres. 'STES, LOVE M.-P. 0. Dallas. Was born in Racine county, Wiscon

sin, October 2, 1850, and when ten years of age removed with his parents to Mercer county, Missouri, where after a residence of one year, came to Marion county, Iowa, and settled near Newbern and thence to Caloma, where the subject of our sketch lived until sixteen years of age and then commenced lite on his own account. He commenced working at twentyfive dollars per month and the following year received thirty-five dollars, being engaged in buying stock. He received a good common school educa. tion which he supplemented by attendance at the college in Indianola and fitted himself for teaching, in which occupation he has been more or less employed since. Few yonng men of his age have acquired a more general business experience; profiting by this and general observation he occupies a prominent place in the community in which he resides. TINARTY, J. W.-Physician, Dallas. Was born January 16, 1848,

in Mason county, West Virginia, and was taken by his parents to Marion county, lowa, when only two years old, and was raised here until fifteen years old. In November, 1863, he entered the government service and was in the commissary department of the Third division, Fifteenth army corps, and was at the battles of Chattanooga, Atlanta, Savannah and Columbia, and was with General Sherman on his march to the sea, and was mustered out, July 13, 1865. He returned home and commenced the study of medicine, and attended his first course of lectures in the fall of 1871 and the spring of 1872. About that time he moved to Dallas and commenced the practice of medicine. He graduated February 13, 1877, and received his diploma. He now has a good practice. He married Miss Mary E. Auld in December, 1872. By this union they have three children: Arthur C., James C. and Walter R. Mr. Finarty came to Pella at an early day, some time before the noted Holland colony, and attended school in the old log school house in that place. Dr. F. is a member of Minburn Lodge, No. 152, located at Lacona, Iowa.

Mr. Hunerdosse HUNERDOSSE, FRED; W: Merchant, Newbern.

was born August 25, 1846. in Greenwich, England, near the observatory, where he was raised until nine years of age, then crossed the ocean with his parents in the sail vessel Cornelius Grinnell, and landed at New York. They visited Chicago, Springfield and Alton, Illinois; thence to Nauvoo, where they wintered, and took wagons in the spring and came to this county, where he has since resided, following agricultural purbuits with his father until twenty-one years of age, and after teaching school three years he then commenced the mercantile business at Newbern and has succeeded in building up a good trade. Mr. Hunerdosse is a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church of this place, in which he holds the office of ruling elder. He is also superintendent of the sabbathschool, has held the office of justice of the peace; is a member of the township committee and is assistant postmaster at this place.

HORTSMANN, HENRY-Fariner, Sec. 5, P. O. Caloina. Was born it the province of Hanover, December 17, 1818, where he resided until twentyeight years of age. In July, 1847, he came to this country by way of Quebec and Buffalo. Stopped in Indiana two years and thence to Cincinnati. Came to this county in the fall of 1849 and entered his land. The next fall he moved out here with his family, built a house and broke some land. Since that time he has continued to improve his farm, which now consists of 550 acres. He has held the office of township trustee, and also road supervisor sereral

He married Miss Hannah Bote in Cincinnati, in March, 1850. She was born in the province of Brunswick, Germany, in Septeinber, 1529. Himself and wife are members of the Lutheran Church, of this place, in which he holds the office of trustee. He also holds the office of school trustee in this district. UMPER, WILLIAM–Farmer and blacksmith, Sec. 1, P. O. Dallas.

Was born May 21, 1833, in Richland county, Ohio, where he was raised until seventeen years of age on a farm. He then removed to Missouri with his parents, where he learned the blacksmith trade, and returned to Indiana and then came to Knoxville, where he worked two years; thence to Newbern, in this county, and worked there six years; then enlisted in the Eighteenth Iowa infantry, company G, July 12th, 1862, and was with his regiment in all the engagements in which it participated, among them the battle of Springtield, Missouri, 1863, and Saline River. He was mistered out August 6, 1864, at Davenport, returned to his home at Newberu and then went to Chariton, Lucas county, where he followed his trade for eleven years, then moved to where he now resides. He is a good workman and has a full share of public patronage in his line. He married Miss Rebecca Carrol in 1852. She was born in Ohio in 1831. He holds the office of justice of the peace.

Was born March 16, 1817, in Hanover, Germany, where he was raised on a farm. Came to this county in 1854 and purchased the claim on which he now resides. He owns two farms, one of 170 acres and one of 280 acres. He married Miss Dora Ellis, in Germany. By this union they have seven children: Caroline, Sophia, Henry, Ernest, William, Ettie and Dora. Mrs. Langebartels died in 1878, and since that time his daughter has been keeping house for him. He is a member of the Lutheran Church of this place, in which he holds the office of treasurer. DOUSH, VALENTINE-Farmer, Sec. 28, P. O. Newbern.

March 13, 1813, under the government of Prince William, of Hesse Castle, Germany, where he was raised until seventeen years of age. He emigrated to the United States, landing in this country July 26, 1832, at Baltimore. He came over in the sail vessel Indiana, and was nine weeks on the voyage. He stopped two years in the State of Maryland; thence to Wheeling, Virginia; thence to Cincinnati, Ohio. From there to Franklin county, Indiana. He came to this county in the fall of 1852, and settled where he has since remained, following agricultural pursuits. He has a tine farın of 200 acres, well improved. He has been twice married. His first wife was Miss Susan Note. They were married in 1830. She was born near Lancaster, Pennsylvania. By this union they had four children: Van, Daniel, Lafayette and Sarah. Mrs. P. died in 1850. He married for his second wife Mrs. A. Scott, who was born in Franklin county, Indiana. By this union they have five children: Valentine, Joseph, John,

[ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors]

Benjamin and Abigail. Himself and wife are members of the United Brethren Church. He has held the offices of township trustee and school director several terms. He also has a fine farm of 240 acres in Warren county, on which three of his children are living. He had two sons in the late war. Van enlisted in company K, Eighteenth Iowa, and served through the war, and Daniel enlisted in Captain O. L. Palmer's company.

Dallas. Was born

in Lewis county, Virginia, and was taken by his parents when four years old to Hamilton county, Indiana, where he remained until twenty-five years old, being raised on a farm. He learned the blacksmith trade at the age of twenty-three. He removed to Howard county, Indiana, about 1850, remained there until 1865, following his trade. He joined the Seventyfifth Indiana infantry, company C, August 20, 1862, and took part in the battles of Hoover's Gap, Chickamauga, Chattanooga, Buzzard's Roost, Smithfield, and all the engagements his regiment was in during the time he was with them. He was mustered out June 17, 1865. Returned home and moved to Fremont, Mahaska county, this State; thence to Kirkville, Wapello county; thence to Marion county and to Dallas, where he still remains, following his trade. He married Miss Charlotte Eads, January 2, 1849. By this union they have thirteen children: W. A., Juliette F., J. T., Chas. H., O. E., Mary F., Nancy A., Letta P., H. L., Ellsworth, A. W., J. W., Hattie A. He is a member of the Baptist Church, and is also a member of the I. O. O. F.

WELL

ELLS, JOSEPH A.-Farmer, Sec. 14, P. O. Dallas. Was born December 26, 1827, in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, where he was principally raised on a farm. He learned the carpenter trade at the age of twenty-one and followed it for six years. He married Miss Mary Ann Heywood, December 16, 1847. She was born February 26, 1826, in Maryland. Their family consists of four children: Deborah J., Elizabeth A., William and Josephine. Lost two. Himself, wife and daughter are members of the Mt. Zion Evangelical Church, of this place, in which he holds the office of assistant class-leader. His son, William, is a member of the Presbyterian Church of Columbia, this county. Mr. Wells held the office of justice of the peace for six years. He has a fine farm of eighty acres well improved.

CHAPTER XII.

WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP.

Geography of the Township-Early History-New Town - Gosport — Columbia - Other Matters-Biographical.

WASHINGTON is a southern township, and may be described as the southeast quarter of the southwest quarter of the county, and is technically known as township 74, range 20. It is bounded on the north by Knoxville, on the east by Indiana, on the south by Lucas county, and on the west by Dallas township.

About two-thirds of the township is prairie, though English Creek, that runs nearly through the center, from a little west of south to as much east of north, is widely margined by timber of a very good quality. English has numerous tributaries, and coal abounds along these streams in paying quantities, but the best veins yet worked are in section 34, owned by Clark & Williams, and average about three and a half feet in thickness.

EARLY HISTORY.

On the sixth of January, 1847, it was ordered by the county commis sioners, that township 74, range 20 and township 74, range 21, be declare: a township to be known as Washington township. This included the pres ent townships of Washigton and Dallas, and so remained till about October 3, 1848, when Dallas and Franklin were defined as one township and Washington as it now is.

The earliest election of which there is any preserved rccord, was held a the fifth of April, 1852, at which the following officers were chosen:

Allen Pearson and Joseph Grove, justices; James Fletcher and Benr Dresser, constables; Hezekiah Willey, Andrew Reed and Joseph B. Say der, trustees; and Allen Pearson, clerk.

Previons to this Joseph Pershall and James M. Brady were justices; Joseph Scott, John Riddle and Hezekiah Willey, trustees; and Allen Pearse was clerk.

The following were some of the early settlers of the township:

Josiah illey, John Asher, William Clear, William Hunt, à family by the name of Moon, Joseph Pearshall, Williain Agan, John Agan, John Stotz Andrew Reed.

The improvement and settlement of the township was not very rapid til 1853, when the lands were rapidly taken up by settlers and speculators

. Rev. Hiram Moon organized a Christian Church in 1849; this was the first religious organization formed in the township.

Rev. Mr. Johnson organized the first Methodist Church in 1852. The first ineetings were held at the house of Henry Molesworth, a short dis tance east of the present site of Columbia; the class at first consistedd eight persons.

The first school was tanght by Miss Mary Crowley, afterward by Mas Bebout. This was in 1853, and the school was taught in a cabin built br T. L. Strong, near the line between Marion and Lucas counties.

Upon the first division of the the township into school districts, sed tions from one to twelve inclusive constituted the First district; sections from thirteen to twenty-four inclusive, constituted the Second district; seetions from twenty-five to thirty-six inclusive, formed the Third district; the township being subdivided into but three districts.

NEW TOWN.

On the eight day of July, 1853, John Stipp and John Hessenflow einployed F. M. Frnsh to survey and plat a town, on land owned by them: the plat included a portion of the southwest quarter of section 15, and the northwest quarter of section 22. The town was called New Town.

The first house in New Town was built by Daniel Sampson, who opened the first store and kept the post-office the first year of the existence of the place. The mails were at first supplied by volunteer carriers, and the office maintained by volunteer contributions. In due time it was discovered that there was another post office in the State, bearing the same name, and it was then changed to

GOSPORT.

Gosport is still a small village, but its location is a pretty one, being on an upland flat, within the limits of the timber that margins English Creek,

« PředchozíPokračovat »