« PředchozíPokračovat »
Benjamin and Abigail. Himself and wife are members of the United Brethren Church. He has held the offices of township trustee and school director several terms. He also has a fine farm of 240 acres in Warren county, on which three of his children are living. He had two sous in the late war. Van enlisted in company K, Eighteenth Iowa, and served through the war, and Daniel enlisted in Captain O. L. Paliner's company.
AINES, ISAAC--Blacksmith, Dallas. Was born January 22, 1826, in Lewis county, Virginia, and was taken by his parents when four years old to Hamilton county, Indiana, where he remained until twenty-five years old, being raised on a farm. He learned the blacksmith trade at the age of twenty-three. He removed to Howard county, Indiana, about 1850, remained there until 1865, following his trade. He joined the Seventyfifth Indiana infantry, company C, August 20, 1862, and took part in the battles of Hoover's Gap, Chickamauga, Chattanooga, Buzzard's Roost, Smithfield, and all the engagements his regiment was in during the time he was with them. He was mustered out June 17, 1865. Returned home and moved to Fremont, Mahaska county, this State; thence to Kirkville, Wapello county; thence to Marion county and to Dallas, where he still remains, following his trade. He married Miss Charlotte Eads, January 2, 1849. By this union they have thirteen children: W. A., Juliette F., J. T., Chas. H., O. E., Mary F., Nancy A., Letta P., H. L., Ellsworth, A. W., J. W., Hattie A. He is a member of the Baptist Church, and is also a member of the I. O. O. F.
WELLS, 28, 1927,
ELLS, JOSEPH A.-Farmer, Sec. 14, P. O. Dallas. Was born December 26, 1827, in Fayette county, Pennsylvania, where he was principally raised on a farm. He learned the carpenter trade at the age of twenty-one and followed it for six years. He married Miss Mary Ann Heywood, December 16, 1847. She was born February 26, 1826, in Maryland. Their family consists of four children: Deborah J., Elizabeth A., William and Josephine. Lost two. Himself, wife and daughter are members of the Mt. Zion Evangelical Church, of this place, in which he holds the office of assistant class-leader. His son, William, is a member of the Presbyterian Church of Columbia, this county. Mr. Wells held the office of justice of the peace for six years. He has a fine farm of eighty acres well improved.
Geography of the Township-Early History-New Town - Gosport — Columbia - Other Matters-Biographical.
WASHINGTON is a southern township, and may be described as the southeast quarter of the southwest quarter of the county, and is technically known as township 74, range 20. It is bounded on the north by Knoxville, on the east by Indiana, on the south by Lucas county, and on the west by Dallas township.
About two-thirds of the township is prairie, though English Creek, that runs nearly through the center, from a little west of south to as much east of north, is widely margined by timber of a very good quality. English has numerous tributaries, and coal abounds along these streams in paying quantities, but the best veins yet worked are in section 34, owned by Clark & Williams, and average about three and a half feet in thickness.
On the sixth of January, 1847, it was ordered by the county commis sioners, that township 74, range 20 and township 74, range 21, be declared a township to be known as Washington township. This included the pres ent townships of Washigton and Dallas, and so remained till about October 3, 1848, when Dallas and Franklin were defined as one township and Washington as it now is.
The earliest election of which there is any preserved rccord, was held the fifth of April, 1852, at which the following officers were chosen:
Allen Pearson and Joseph Grove, justices; James Fletcher and Henry Dresser, constables; Hezekiah Willey, Andrew Reed and Joseph B. Say der, trustees; and Allen Pearson, clerk.
Previons to this Joseph Pershall and James M. Brady were justices; Joseph Scott, John Riddle and Hezekiah Willey, trustees; and Allen Pearse was clerk.
The following were some of the early settlers of the township:
Josiah Willey, John Asher, William Clear, William Hunt, a family b the name of Moon, Joseph Pearshall, William Agan, John Agan, John Stotz Andrew Reed.
The improvement and settlement of the township was not very rapid til 1853, when the lands were rapidly taken up by settlers and speculators. Rev. Hiram Moon organized a Christian Church in 1849; this was the first religious organization formed in the township.
Rev. Mr. Johnson organized the first Methodist Church in 1852. The first meetings were held at the house of Henry Molesworth, a short dis tance east of the present site of Columbia; the class at first consisted of eight persons.
The first school was taught by Miss Mary Crowley, afterward by Mrs Bebout. This was in 1853, and the school was taught in a cabin built by T. L. Strong, near the line between Marion and Lucas counties.
Upon the first division of the the township into school districts, see tions from one to twelve inclusive constituted the First district; sections from thirteen to twenty-four inclusive, constituted the Second district; sections from twenty-five to thirty-six inclusive, formed the Third district; the township being subdivided into but three districts.
On the eight day of July, 1853, John Stipp and John Hessenflow employed F. M. Frush to survey and plat a town, on land owned by them; the plat included a portion of the southwest quarter of section 15, and the northwest quarter of section 22. The town was called New Town.
The first house in New Town was built by Daniel Sampson, who opened the first store and kept the post-office the first year of the existence of the place. The mails were at first supplied by volunteer carriers, and the office maintained by volunteer contributions. In due time it was discovered that there was another post-office in the State, bearing the same name, and it was then changed to
Gosport is still a small village, but its location is a pretty one, being on an upland flat, within the limits of the timber that margins English Creek,
and contiguous to a fine farming country on the north, east and south. It contains one store, a large frame building originally erected and used as a hotel, but now unoccupied, and a number of small dwellings and shops.
On the twenty-third day of March, 1857, being about three years and a little more than eight months later than the time Gosport was surveyed, Hugh S. Smith employed William Kent to survey and plat a town on the southwest quarter of the southwest quarter of section 27, and on the northwest quarter of the northwest quarter of section 34, land then owned by Mr. Smith, he having purchased it of Benjamin Litton, and called it Columbia.
Jaines D. Steel built the first house, a round log dwelling, now not standing; John McEldoring sold the first goods, Andrew Reed kept the first post-office, and Clark and Williams kept the first hotel, and are still proprietors of the same building together with a large flouring mill.
The name Columbia, was that of the post-office, which was previously kept by Brumfield Long, at his place, about two miles west of where the village was located. Columbia post-office was established November 15, € 1854, and the cominission came to Mr. Long shortly after. He kept it till about the 1st of January, 1857, when it was moved to the village.
Quite a strife arose between the people of Gosport and Columbia, on the occasion of the location of the latter. Believing that the building of another town so near their own would be detrimental to its prospects, the people of Gosport resolved to nip the new aspirant in the bud. To this end they attended the sales of lots, intending to buy all they could of them, and let them lay vacant. But this trick was understood by the Columbians, and the lots were bid off at too high figures to warrant safe investments by the other party, and they abandoned the scheme.
The town is located in the midst of a large prairie, and surrounded by a good farming district.
The population in 1875 was 1,246. In 1880 there were inhabitants to the number of 1,231.
NDERSON, W. G.-Blacksmith and mason, Gosport. Was born November 12, 1849, in Knoxville township, and has been raised to manhood, educated and learned his trade in Marion county. He has been closely identified with the growth and prosperity of the county, and is nuubered among its substantial citizens. As a blacksmith his business will compare favorably with any in the township. He also caters to the wants of the traveling public at Gosport in the way of hotel-keeping. He mar ried Miss M. E. McKinney, on the 12th day of November, 1876, at Gosport She is a native of Indiana, and was born July 14, 1849. By this union they have two children: L. M. and Jessie. In 1874 himself and wife went to California. After spending four years in the Golden State he returned to Iowa.
EBOUT, B. F.-Farmer, Sec. 15, P. O. Gosport. Was born Decem ber 26, 1820, in Washington county, Pennsylvania, and was taken from there while young by his parents to Wayne county, Ohio, where he was raised, until nine years of age, on a farm. Then removed to Crawford county, Ohio, with his parents, and resided there on a farm until seventeen years of age, and where he received his education. He emigrated to Crittenden county, Kentucky, resided there fifteen years, following agricultural pursuits and carpentering. He learned the carpenter trade of his father when quite young, and has followed it a good portion of his lifetime. He emigrated to Iowa and settled in Tama county, in 1852, residing there three years, and came to this county in the spring of 1855, where he has since resided, principally engaged in the mercantile business at Gosport. In 1855 he formed a partnership with Dr. Conrey, and continued there about two years. He has held the office of justice of the peace three times, and several district offices, always filling them faithfully. He married Miss Mary L. Crowley in 1856, in Lucas county. She is a native of Jefferson county, Ohio, and was born April 15, 1834. By this union they have six children: Annie E., Sarah E., John W., Peter T., Millie M. and Roy. He is a member of the Baptist Church, and his wife is a member of the Christian Church. He has a farm of fifty acres in a good state of cultivation.
BELLAMY, S. M.-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 4, P. O. Gosport. Was born in Switzerland county, Indiana, April 25, 1845, and is the son of James and Elizabeth Bellamy. The family emigrated to Marion county, when S. M. was in his tenth year. He was here raised to inanhood, educated, and continually resided. In 1864 he married Miss Raphel Mears, a native of Ohio, daughter of Jackson and Margaret (nee Dennison). They have a family of eight children: E. Otis, Eva R., Freddie N., Ora E., Bessie M., Lela B., Frank E. and Verner S. His estate consists of 182 acres;" stock-raising is his specialty, and in this line he deals extensively, and is numbered with the stalwart and thorough-going farmers and citizens. Politically, Mr. Bellamy says he is on the Lord's side, having been a lifelong Republican.
BELLAMY, G. F.-Of the firm of Bellamy & Van Dyke, dealers in general merchandise, Gosport. Among the rising young men of Marion county is the subject of this sketch. He was born in Marion county, Iowa, on the 29th day of October, 1854. His parents were early settlers of the county,
and his early life was divided between attending school and assisting in the duties of the farm. He commenced his mercantile experience in the spring of 1880, and the firm carry a good stock and are doing a satisfactory trade. Being a young man of energy and of sterling integrity, we predict for Mr. B. a successful future. He was married July 4, 1876, to Miss Annie Bebout, also a native of this county. They have two children: Arlae and Clyde.
AWSON, J. R.-Blacksmith, Columbia. Is a native of Fayette county, Pennsylvania, and was born in June, 1838. Was taken from there at an early age to Guernsey county, Ohio, where he was raised on a farm. In 1849 he emigrated to Van Buren county, Iowa, where he resided until the spring of 1854, following farining and navigation. He came to this county in 1854 with his parents, opened a blacksmith shop in 1867, and has since followed that trade. His son Isaac is now interested with him and they are doing a good business. Mr. D. enlisted in company H, Fortieth Iowa infantry, August 8, 1862, and participated in the Siege of Vicksburg, Jenkins' Ferry, capture of Little Rock, Arkansas, and all the engagements in which his regiment was engaged. He was mustered out August 1, 1865, at Fort Gibson, Indian Territory. Mr. D. has been married twice; first, January 5, 1861, to Miss Nancy Anderson. She was born in Van Buren county, Iowa. By this union they had six children: Isaac E., Sarah A., James W., John L., Katie A. and Celia. Mrs. Dawson died May 9, 1873, and was buried at Columbia. He was inarried the second time to Miss Catharine Burt, December 11, 1875. She was born in October, 1844, in Guernsey county, Ohio. By this union they have three children: Eli F., Telitha J. and Blanche May; two are dead. Mr. Dawson is a member of Tyler Lodge, No. 185, located at Columbia.
BORDE, EDWARD DE-Dealer in general merchandise, Columbia. Was born November 10, 1826, in Germany. Was there raised and educated. At the age of fifteen years he entered the Prussian army. After serving several years as a private, he received the office of first lieutenant. Held that position three years, then came to America. Locating in Marion county in June, 1851, he took up agricultural pursuits and followed that business some time. Hearing of the firing on Fort Sumter, he hastened to the front and enlisted in company A, Fifteenth Missouri volunteers. In the spring of 1861 enlisted as a private and soon rose, step by step, until he became captain of his company. Participated in the battles of Pea Ridge, Shiloh, Siege of Corinth, Murfreesborough, Chickamauga, Mission. Ridge and all the engagements his regiment was in during the time he was with them. His health failed and he was compelled to resign, which he did in 1864, returned to his home in this county, and as soon as his health perinitted he commenced business at Columbia. He married Miss Amelia Marquarett in 1865. She is also a native of Prussia. They have two children, Alice and Edwin.
OSTER, J. P.—-Farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 31, P. O. Belinda. Was born September 1, 1824, in Nicholas county, Kentucky, and was raised on a farm until eleven years of age, and attended the common schools of that place. In 1835 he emigrated to Monroe county, Indiana, with his parents. Remained there until the spring of 1856, when he moved to Iowa and settled in Lucas county, and remained there until 1862, engaging in agricultural pursuits. Then came to this county and located on the place where he now resides. His farm consists of 172 acres, one-half of which